2019.05.23PolyU develops Highly Flexible High-energy Textile Lithium Battery to cope with surging demand for Wearable Electronics

Professor ZHENG Zijian (left) and Dr CHANG Jian (right), together with researchers of PolyU’s Institute of Textiles and Clothing, achieve breakthrough in developing the Textile Lithium BatteryProfessor ZHENG Zijian (left) and Dr CHANG Jian (right), together with researchers of PolyU’s Institute of Textiles and Clothing, achieve breakthrough in developing the Textile Lithium BatteryThe novel Textile Lithium Battery is assembled by putting the metallic fabrics fabricated by PolyU’s patented technology and with cathode and anode active materials added, together with separator and electrolyte

Researchers at The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU) have developed a highly flexible, high-energy Textile Lithium Battery that offers more stable, durable and safe energy supply for wearable electronics with a myriad of applications, such as in healthcare monitoring, intelligent textiles, smartphones, Global Positioning System (GPS) tracking and Internet of Things (IoT).

PolyU's novel lightweight Textile Lithium Battery demonstrates high energy density of more than 450 Wh/L, and excellent flexibility — with a bending radius of less than 1mm, and foldability of over 1,000 cycles with marginal capacity degradation. In comparison, the existing bendable lithium batterycan only reach a bending radius of about 25 mm, and with much lower performance of less than 200 Wh/L. The Textile Lithium Battery, of less than 0.5 mm thick, also possesses fast charging/discharging capability, and long cycle life comparable with conventional lithium batteries.

[Please refer to the Annex for detailed comparison of performance between PolyU's Textile Lithium Battery and other batteries]

The innovation developed by the research team of PolyU's Institute of Textiles and Clothing (ITC) has snatched three prizes at the 47th International Exhibition of Inventions of Geneva held in April this year, namely a Gold Medal and two Special Merit Awards.

Professor ZHENG Zijian, who leads the ITC research team, said, "Wearable technology has been named as the next global big market opportunity after smartphones. Global market revenues for wearable devices are forecasted to grow by leaps and bounds, of over 20% annually, to reach US$100 billion by 2024. [1] As all wearable electronics will require wearable energy supply, our novel technology in fabricating Textile Lithium Battery offers promising solution to a wide array of next-generation applications, ranging from healthcare, infotainment, sports, aerospace, fashion, IoT to any sensing or tracking uses that may even exceed our imagination of today."    

Lithium battery is currently the dominant rechargeable battery in the market due to its relatively high energy density and long cycle life. As conventional bulky heavy lithium battery is hard for use in wearable devices, over the past decade, scientists have put in efforts in developing bendable lithium battery, often by using metal foils as current collectors. However, it is only until the emergence of PolyU's Textile Lithium Battery that the bottlenecks over energy density, flexibility, mechanical robustness and cycling stability being able to be addressed.

Applying PolyU's patented novel technology of Polymer-Assisted Metal Deposition (PAMD), highly conductive metal, copper (Cu) and nickel (Ni) are uniformly and conformally deposited onto pre-treated fabrics. Such fabricated metallic fabrics, featuring low sheet resistance [2] and large surface area [3], serve as current collectors in battery. After adding active materials to act as cathode and anode, the metallic fabrics, together with separator and electrolyte, are assembled into the Textile Lithium Battery.

Laboratory tests conducted by the ITC team have proven the extremely high mechanical stability, durability and safety of the Textile Lithium Battery under deformation. When the battery is repeatedly folded in half, twisted at different angles or freely crumpled, its voltage window remained unchanged. Bending test showed that the battery can be bent over 1,000 times with marginal capacity degradation. Safety tests conducted by continuous hammering, trimming with scissors and penetrating with nail proved the battery can stably provide power output for the electronic components with no risk of catching fire or burst.

[ Note:

The findings are published in Nature Communications, a world's leading multidisciplinary scientific journal:- Chang et al. Flexible and stable high-energy lithium-sulfur full batteries with only 100% oversized lithium. Nature Communications, 2018, 9(1): 4480. 

Video on PolyU's Textile Lithium Battery:- https://youtu.be/oGRW9SKmay8 ]

---- End -----


[1] IDTechEx. 'Wearable Technology 2018-2028: Markets, Players, Forecasts'. Retrieved 8 May 2019 from  https://www.idtechex.com/research/reports/wearable-technology-2018-2028-markets-players-forecasts-000606.asp?setlang=en

[2] Sheet resistance is an important property of conductive materials, quantifying the ability for transporting charges of the materials. The lower the sheet resistance, the faster is the transportation.

[3] In general, the larger the surface areas for loading anode and cathode materials, the greater stability, higher charge/discharge speed and better flexibility is the battery. Applying the PolyU patented PAMD technology to control the deposition time, the thickness and sheet resistance of the metallic yarns can be easily controlled. By weaving the metallic yarns into a 3D metal fabric, its surface areas for loading the active materials, in comparison of a 2D metal foil sheet of the same size, is much enhanced.

Press Contacts

Ms Denise Wong

Communications and Public Affairs Office

Email(852) 3400 2131
Emaildenise.wf.wong@polyu.edu.hk
Back

2019.05.23理大研發超柔軟高效能織物鋰電池配合可穿戴電子產品飊升需求

鄭子劍教授帶領理大紡織及服裝學系團隊,研發出超柔軟的高效能織物鋰電池鄭子劍教授(左)、常建博士(右)及理大紡織及服裝學系團隊致力研究織物鋰電池,終取得突破研究團隊採用理大的專利技術製成導電織物,於織物添加正、負電極的活性材料,再加入隔膜與電解液,組裝成創新的織物鋰電池

香港理工大學(理大)的研究團隊研發了一種超柔軟的高效能織物鋰電池,能為可穿戴電子產品提供更穩定、耐用和安全的能源供應,其應用範疇廣泛,發展潛力無遠弗屆,包括醫療健康監測、智能紡織品、智能手機、全球定位系統追蹤、物聯網部件等等。

理大創新的織物鋰電池能量密度高達逾450 Wh/L(瓦時/公升),柔軟度極佳—可折疊彎曲至半徑小於1 mm (毫米),兼且折疊超過1,000次,效能仍然保持不變。相比之下,現有的可彎曲鋰電池只能彎曲至半徑約25 mm,而且效能低得多,只達小於200Wh/L。織物鋰電池輕巧、厚度小於0.5 mm,在充電/放電速率快,以及電池壽命長兩方面,與傳統鋰電池不相伯仲。[理大織物鋰電池及其他電池的效能比較載於附件]

由理大紡織及服裝學系團隊研發的織物鋰電池,今年四月於日內瓦第四十七屆國際發明展奪得金獎和兩項特別優異獎。

帶領研究團隊的鄭子劍教授表示:「可穿戴技術被視為繼智能手機後,全球下一個重大市場商機。預期可穿戴產品的全球市場收入將以每年增長逾20%的速度躍進,至2024年達1000億美元。[1]所有可穿戴電子產品都需要可穿戴的能源供應,因此,我們研發的製造織物鋰電池的創新技術,應用潛力至為廣泛,能為無數新世代產品開拓前瞻性的應用方案,範疇遍及醫療護理、信息娛樂、體育、航空航天、時尚服飾、物聯網、傳感或定位追蹤,以至任何超乎我們今天想像的用途。」

傳統鋰電池體積大而且重,難以應用於可穿戴產品,十多年來,科學家一直致力開發可彎曲的鋰電池,大都集中研究使用金屬箔作為電池的集流體。直至理大研發出織物鋰電池,才出現突破,同時解決能量密度、柔軟度、機械強度、穩定性等方面的問題。

研究團隊採用理大專利的聚合物輔助金屬沈積法(Polymer-Assisted Metal Deposition / PAMD)新技術,將高導電金屬(銅Cu和鎳Ni)均勻地沈積於經處理的織物上,製成導電織物,用作電池中的集流體,導電織物具有低薄層電阻[2]和大比表面積[3]的特質。之後,於導電織物添加正、負電極的活性材料,再加入隔膜與電解液,便能組裝成織物鋰電池。

團隊進行的變形測試證明,織物鋰電池具有極高的機械穩定性、耐用性和安全性,電池經反覆對摺、或以不同角度扭曲、或不規則地揉皺後,均無損其電壓效能。彎曲測試證明,織物鋰電池可以彎曲超過1,000次,效能仍然保持不變;連續錘擊、剪削和鋼針穿刺等安全測試亦證明,電池可為電子元件提供穩定電源,兼且不存在著火或爆裂的風險。

[ :

研究結果已於《自然通訊》(Nature Communications)發表,該期刊為全球最全面的跨學科科學期刊之一:- Chang et al. Flexible and stable high-energy lithium-sulfur full batteries with only 100% oversized lithium. Nature Communications, 2018, 9(1): 4480.

「理大織物鋰電池」影片(只具英文版本):- https://youtu.be/oGRW9SKmay8 ]

(完)
********

[1] IDTechEx. 'Wearable Technology 2018-2028: Markets, Players, Forecasts'. https://www.idtechex.com/research/reports/wearable-technology-2018-2028-markets-players-forecasts-000606.asp?setlang=en,2019年5月8 日讀取。

[2]「薄層電阻」(sheet resistance)是導電材料的重要特性,是材料的電荷傳輸能力的量化表達。薄層電阻越低,代表傳輸能力越快。

  

[3] 一般而言,用於裝載正、負電極材料的「比表面積」(surface area)越大,電池的穩定性越高、充電/放電速度會越高、而柔軟度亦越好。採用理大專利的PAMD技術,藉控制沈積時間,可以輕易控制導電紗線的厚度和薄層電阻。將導電紗線編織成3D導電織物,其裝載活性材料的比表面積,會比相同尺寸的2D金屬箔大為增加。

詳情查詢

黃惠芬

傳訊及公共事務處

Email(852) 3400 2131
Emaildenise.wf.wong@polyu.edu.hk
返回