Senate is the highest authority on all academic-related matters within the University, and it makes decision on matters including, inter alia, the offer of taught and research programmes; the admission of qualified students to relevant programmes; and the conferment of awards to students who successfully complete these programmes. Senate is chaired by the President, and its membership includes representatives from all Faculties and academic Departments as well as from the student body. Under the Senate, there are a number of Faculty/School Boards, and standing committees looking after various policy/functional areas.