2017.09.26PolyU celebrates the opening of new facilities of the Aviation Services Research Centre with Boeing committed to another five years of collaboration

Prof Timothy W. Tong, PolyU President (seated left), and Ms Elisabeth Martin, Vice President, Boeing Research & Technology – China, The Boeing Company (seated right), sign an agreement to renew their collaboration for another five years.(Front row, from left) Ir Prof Alex Wai, PolyU Vice President (Research Development) and Mr Clemens Ziegler, Director, Business Development Component, Guangzhou Aircraft Maintenance Engineering Co., Ltd sign a Letter of Intent for collaboration.Guests-of-Honour officiate at the opening ceremony of the Aviation Services Research Centre new research facilities in Block X.Officiating guests and industry partners celebrate at the opening ceremony of PolyU’s Aviation Services Research Centre new research facilities in Block X.

The Aviation Services Research Centre (ASRC), co-founded by The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU) and The Boeing Company (Boeing), enters into a new phase today, with the opening of the newly built centre in Block X of the PolyU campus. The five-year renewal of Boeing, the world's largest aerospace company and leading manufacturer of commercial jetliners, to the ASRC today again facilitates the partnership and collaborative effort to position Hong Kong as the leading world-class service provider of Maintenance, Repair and Overhaul (MRO) for the region.

PolyU also signed a Letter of Intent with Guangzhou Aircraft Maintenance Engineering Co., Ltd (GAMECO), a leading MRO service provider in the Mainland and the region, which marks a milestone of MRO industry in the Mainland joining ASRC.

Research services well-received and supported by the industry

The opening ceremony of the ASRC new research facilities in Block X was hosted by Chairman of Council, PolyU, Mr Chan Tze-ching and PolyU President Prof. Timothy W. Tong; and officiated by Mr Carlson Tong, Chairman of the University Grants Committee; Professor Benjamin Wah, Chairman of Research Grants Council; Mr Dennis Floyd, Vice President for Strategy, Boeing Global Services, The Boeing Company; Mr Angus Barclay, Director and General Manager, Hong Kong Aero Engine Services Limited (HAESL); Mr Augustus Tang, Chief Executive Office, Hong Kong Aircraft Engineering Co. Ltd. (HAECO); and Mr Clemens Ziegler, Director of Business Development Component, Guangzhou Aircraft Maintenance Engineering Co., Ltd (GAMECO).

"Our valued and trusted partners have been key to our success," said Mr Dennis Floyd, Vice President for Strategy, Boeing Global Services.  "While Boeing has had the privilege of partnering with China for more than 40 years, the history of cooperation between Boeing and China's aviation industry traces back a century ago."

"The Aviation Services Research Centre of The Hong Kong Polytechnic University will continue to lead the way in aerospace innovation," Mr Floyd said. "The young minds working in this facility will be at the forefront of aerospace transformation for the second century."

Chairman of Council, PolyU, Mr Chan Tze-ching, said, "Backed by advanced facilities and top-notch expertise at our Industrial Centre, the ASRC researchers have turned innovations into practical use. They have delivered new automation technologies of aviation maintenance procedures, which lead to better service quality, streamlined workflow, reduced costs, raised safety standards, and hence overall competitiveness for the industry. I believe that with more partnerships and collaborations, we will better serve the needs of the ever-increasing demand of the aviation industry."

He added, "The cutting edge research and engineering facilities specially dedicated to the ASRC in this re-developed building will further support the delivery of the new technologies. We can surely expect a win-win-win scenario, which PolyU, our partners and the Hong Kong aviation industry as a whole will all benefit."

Serving the industry with notable achievements

Since its establishment in 2012, the ASRC has successfully developed modernized solutions to improve MRO performance in areas such as cost, schedule, quality, and safety. These technological solutions have been implemented in industry, and are now being used by MRO service providers to help improve maintenance activity and overall competitiveness. Whether it is reducing the turnaround time for engine ring seal repair from three days to one, or assessing the adaptive machining for re-profiling of engine blades, the ASRC continues to advance the capabilities and capacities of technical workmanship through automation, modernization and innovation.

ASRC recently completed the Surface Defect Detection and Removal (SDDR) project that developed a robotic technology to scan and analyse the multiple light damages on critical rotating parts of the aircraft, such as compressors or turbine discs. The automation technology involving Artificial Intelligence (AI) will significantly reduce work hours from four hours to 1.5 hours, produce more standardized repairs and reduce the chances of missing any defects.

Future research with newly-added equipment

More than five sets of new equipment, amounting to a cost greater than HK$35million, will be ready for use over the coming years. Research focus will be on the use of (1) 3D scanning and AI to determine replacement or repair of damaged parts; (2) AI for surface repair and reduce unevenness or damage associated with manual repairs; and (3) use of imaging and knowledge about composite to help produce replacement composite parts as a less known material compared with metal.

The opening of the sizable and well-equipped ASRC in Block X and Boeing's commitment for another five years mark another milestone in the development of ASRC as a paragon of academia-industry collaboration, bringing MRO technology development to a higher level of excellence.

*****

Press Contacts

Ms Winnie Lam

Division Head (Public Affairs), Communications and Public Affairs Office

Email(852) 2766 6377
Emailwinnie.py.lam@polyu.edu.hk

Ms Michelle Li

Senior Manager, Communications and Public Affairs Office

Email(852) 3400 2128
Emailmichelle.sp.li@polyu.edu.hk
Back

2017.09.26理大慶祝航空服務研究中心新設施揭幕 並與波音繼續合作五年

理大校長唐偉章教授(前排左)與波音公司波音研究與技術 - 中國副總裁馬伊莎(前排右)簽署協議,再攜手合作五年。(前排左起)理大副校長(科研發展)衛炳江教授與廣州飛機維修工程有限公司附件業務發展總監Clemens Ziegler先生簽署合作意向書。主禮嘉賓為航空服務研究中心在X座的全新研究設施揭幕。主禮嘉賓與業界夥伴慶祝航空服務研究中心在X座的新設施揭幕。

香港理工大學(理大)與波音公司(波音)攜手成立的全港首間航空服務研究中心今天(九月二十六日)邁向新里程,位於理大校園X座的新設施揭幕。理大同時與波音再次簽訂未來五年的合作協議。理大與波音這全球最大的航天公司(包括製造商用飛機)繼續合作,有助鞏固香港在區內作為飛機維修中心的領導地位。

理大今天也與廣州飛機維修工程有限公司(GAMECO)簽訂合作意向書。GAMECO於國內和亞太區內飛機維修服務擁有領導地位,是次與理大合作,標誌著內地飛機維修業參與航空服務研究中心邁向新里程。

研究服務獲業界大力支持

理大校董會主席陳子政先生和校長唐偉章教授今天主持航空服務研究中心在X座全新研究設施的揭幕儀式,出席的主禮嘉賓為:大學教育資助委員會主席唐家成先生;研究資助局主席華雲生教授;波音全球服務集團戰略副總裁Dennis Floyd先生;香港航空發動機維修服務有限公司(HAESL)董事及總經理白祈禮先生;香港飛機工程有限公司行政總裁鄧健榮先生;以及廣州飛機維修工程有限公司附件業務發展總監Clemens Ziegler先生。

波音全球服務集團戰略副總裁Dennis Floyd先生說:「有價值和可信賴的合作夥伴一直是波音成功的關鍵因素。波音有幸已經和中國合作了四十多年,但波音和中國航空業的歷史淵源可追溯到百年之前。理大的航空服務研究中心將繼續引領航空航天業的創新。在該中心工作的年輕人將處於航空航天向下一世紀轉變的前沿地位。 」

理大校董會主席陳子政先生說:「航空服務研究中心擁有理大工業中心的先進設備和頂尖人才作後盾,已經成功將創意轉化為可以附諸實行的方案。中心研了發航空維修程序中嶄新的自動化技術,提升了服務質素﹑改善工作流程﹑減低成本﹑加強安全水平,以致為業界提升整體競爭力。我相信透過加強與業界合作,我們將更能滿足航空業與日俱增的需要。」

他說:「在這全新發展大樓內的航空服務研究中心新設施備有劃時代的研究及機械設備,可以進一步支援研發新技術。我相信,這將帶來一個三贏局面,令理大﹑我們的合作夥伴,以及香港航空業均有所裨益。」

研究成果深受業界歡迎

航空服務研究中心在二零一二年成立後,一直致力發展現代化的技術,提升飛機維修業在成本控制﹑工作排序﹑質量和安全方面的表現,其技術性新方案已為業界推行,有助飛機維修服務商改善維修工作及整體競爭力,例如以往維修飛機引擎中的環形封口一般需要三個工作天,但航空服務研究中心成功令這工序縮減至一個工作天;又發展了一項能適應不同角度的飛機引擎機葉打磨技術。航空服務研究中心將繼續在自動化﹑現代化及創新科技方面,提升技術員工的能力和效率。

航空服務研究中心最近完成了一個名為「檢測和修正表面缺陷」(SDDR)的項目,發展了一套技術,以機械人檢測和分析飛機主要的轉動部件(例如壓縮機或渦輪盤)表面,尋找輕微損壞,然後自動進行復修工作,將表面缺陷打磨修正。這自動化的技術採用人工智能,可以將所需工時由四小時大幅減至一個半小時,復修效果更為標準,也減少遺漏修正。 


新添置設備支援未來研究

理大已計劃在未來數年添置超過五組新儀器,總值超過港幣三千五百萬元,以支援新研究項目。新項目會重點研究(1)以三維掃描及人工智能檢測及決定維修或更換受損部份;(2)以人工智能維修零件的表面,同時減少人工維修所引致的不平均或損壞問題;以及(3)應用成像技術(imaging)及對合成物料的知識,協助生產比金屬較鮮為人知的合成物料,以生產更換合成物料零件。

位於X座的航空服務研究中心新設施面積可觀,設備齊全,加上與波音再攜手合作五年,是航空服務研究中心發展的重要里程,也是學術界與業界合作的典範,帶領飛機維修界發展技術再創新高峯。

*****

詳情查詢

林佩儀

主管(公共事務)

Email(852) 2766 6377
Emailwinnie.py.lam@polyu.edu.hk

李瑞冰

傳訊及公共事務高級經理

Email(852) 3400 2128
Emailmichelle.sp.li@polyu.edu.hk
返回