Skip to main content Start main content

Honorary Degrees Conferment

ENG  |  繁體  |  简体

The Ceremony

The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU) conferred Honorary Doctorates upon two prominent figures, namely Mr CHEUNG Ka-long, SBS, gold medallist in Men’s Foil Individual at the Tokyo 2020 Olympics and Professor YANG Mengfei, Researcher at the China Academy of Space Technology, in recognition of their distinguished accomplishments and contributions at its 28th Congregation held on 29 October 2022.  The conferment was conducted online. 

Other honorary degree recipients (i.e. The Hon Mrs Laura CHA SHIH May-lung, GBM, GBS, JP, Chairman of Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited; Professor XU Ningsheng, former President of Fudan University; and Professor ZHONG Nanshan, Professor of Medicine at the Guangzhou Medical University) are not available to join the ceremony this time.  Their conferment will be arranged separately on another occasion.


The Honorary Degree Recipients

In alphabetical order of last name

Mr CHEUNG Ka-long, SBS

Doctor of Humanities
honoris causa

Professor YANG Mengfei

Doctor of Engineering
honoris causa

General Enquiries

Academic Registry

Fax: (852) 2334 4625

Media Enquiries

Ms Angela Lui

Communications and Public Affairs Office

Media Enquiries

Ms Hazel Cheng

Communications and Public Affairs Office

Your browser is not the latest version. If you continue to browse our website, Some pages may not function properly.

You are recommended to upgrade to a newer version or switch to a different browser. A list of the web browsers that we support can be found here