Skip to main content Start main content

PolyU Young Innovative Researcher Award 2022

8 Jun 2022


Dr Franco LEUNG King-chi and Dr Benedict LO Tsz-woon, Assistant Professors of ABCT, have received the PolyU Young Innovative Researcher Award (YIRA) 2022 with their research focus on “Photo responsive amphiphiles for supramolecular robotic system” and “Design of multinuclear solid atomic catalysts for energy and sustainability applications” respectively.

The Young Innovative Researcher Award (YIRA) aims to honor young PolyU researchers under the age of 35 who have demonstrated novelty, contributed to technology advancement, and propelled transformational innovation into solutions for addressing problems in society with a vision for a positive change to the future.

The YIRA assessment panel, composed of Prof. Jin-Guang Teng (P), Prof. Wing-tak Wong (DP), Dr Miranda Lou (EVP), Prof. Christopher Chao (VPRI) and Prof. Larry Chow (DoRI), has reviewed over 59 submissions across 22 departments and selected 6 YIRA awardees this year. Each YIRA awardee will receive research funding support of HK$500,000 and personal cash prize of HK$20,000 as the encouragement for their research novelty and impact.  

Details of the Gala Ceremony of Young Innovative Researcher Award will be announced by the Research and Innovation Office later.

Let us congratulate Dr Franco Leung and Dr Benedict Lo for their achievements!

Your browser is not the latest version. If you continue to browse our website, Some pages may not function properly.

You are recommended to upgrade to a newer version or switch to a different browser. A list of the web browsers that we support can be found here