At PolyU, we have a long-established innovative research culture. Our innovations are meant to meet the practical needs of our community, our country and our world.

Safety monitoring of high speed rail

PolyU has established an interdisciplinary research team to study the use of optical fibre and ultrasonic wave sensing technologies for monitoring the structural health and safety of the nation's fast-expanding high-speed rail. They have been applied in several high speed rail projects, including the Beijing-Shanghai High Speed Rail.

Another boost for railway system monitoring has been provided by the large-scale optical fibre sensing networks developed by PolyU's Department of Electrical Engineering. The networks employ hundreds of fibre sensors to measure a wide range of parameters, such as temperature, strain, acceleration, pressure and magnetic field.

PolyU is set to extend its contributions to China's High-Speed Rail project with the formation of a strategic partnership with Southwest Jiaotong University Railway Development Co. Ltd. This brings together the expertise of both institutions for long-term collaboration in national rail projects.

Aviation Services Research Centre, Boeing

With the support of local partners, PolyU and The Boeing Company have established Hong Kong’s first Aviation Services Research Centre, deepening the University’s commitment to the rapidly growing aviation industry. The Centre helps to train personnel, implement new procedures and develop innovative technologies to improve the safety, efficiency and capacity of the maintenance, repair and overhaul (MRO) industry. It will further enhance Hong Kong's leading position as a world-class service provider of MRO and steer the development of aviation related industries in Hong Kong and the South China region.

Defocus Incorporated Soft (Contact) (DISC) Lens

The results of clinical control trial by PolyU, the first of its kind in the world, have shown that the DISC lens effectively slowed down myopia progression by 50%.This new technology has already been patented in Australia, the Chinese mainland, the US and various European countries.

Eco-blocks

The PolyU-developed eco- blocks are made of recycled waste glass derived from beverage containers and construction and demolition waste instead of sand and stone. These environmentally-friendly building blocks have been widely used in government buildings, schools, housing estates, recreational playgrounds and eco-parks.

Electric vehicle

PolyU technologies have contributed to the development of mycar, the first home-grown electric vehicle.

PolyU will be collaborating with Pok Oi Hospital to develop new electrical vehicles for use as mobile Chinese medicine clinics.

PolyU has also been commissioned by China Light & Power to study technical details of the design of electric car charging facilities in Hong Kong.

Electronic “bat ears” for the visually impaired

The project combines human and animal studies to investigate where and how cross-modal learning takes place. Such learning involves transformation of auditory signals which embed spatial information from the environment to visuo-spatial information for navigation in space. The knowledge acquired can also serve as a theoretical model for assisting subjects to regain sensory functions after a stroke or brain injuries.

Food safety and technology research

PolyU’s Food Safety and Technology Research Centre has been working with local and mainland government agencies (particularly those in the Pearl River Delta Region), local and international organizations in food testing, quality control of food supplies, and developing functional food products and drugs from traditional Chinese medicinal herbs.

Green building technology

PolyU researchers are involved in the development of green building technology, with a view to enhancing the sustainability of our environment.

Hand of Hope

The “Hand of Hope”, a breakthrough robotic technology jointly developed by PolyU and its licensee Rehab-Robotics Company Limited, enables stroke patients to move their paralyzed hands at will.

Hierarchical positioning system

PolyU researchers have designed and developed a Hierarchical Positioning System which can enhance the efficiency of terminal operations. Their invention has been piloted in a container terminal adopting a wireless sensor technology and a differential global positioning system to collect real-time data, which helps support the real-time tracking of the activities of trucks, quay cranes and so on.

Intelligent ship-bridge anti-collision surveillance system

This system functions as a “black box” of the bridge to provide a full record of ship activities near the bridge area and impact to the bridge structure. By incorporating Automatic Identification System and smart vision-based monitoring technology into the security of bridge, this system can send out warning signals to the ships likely to collide with the bridge, and evaluate damage if collision unavoidably occurs.

This project was jointly undertaken by PolyU’s Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Intelligent Structural Health Monitoring R&D Centre of PolyU Shenzhen Research Institute, and Zhejiang Provincial Transport Bureau. The system can be put to good use in sea-crossing and river-crossing bridge structures.

Life-cycle health monitoring of massive infrastructure

PolyU is recognized as an international leader in the area of "structural health monitoring" for mammoth infrastructures. Our researchers have handled such projects as the Sutong Bridge crossing the Yangtze River and the 610-metre tall Canton Tower.

The monitoring work is supported by a PolyU-developed comprehensive and prognostic system which provides a life-cycle screening for the safety of mega-structures. The system can identify at the earliest stage the structural damage accumulated over time and assess structural health immediately after major hazardous events.

Micro-injection moulding machine

PolyU researchers have developed the world's first bottom-up high-precision plastic micro-injection moulding machine which is capable of making miniature parts as light as 0.01 gram. The breakthrough gave rise to the formation of a joint venture between PolyU and L.K. Machinery Company Ltd to launch the device.

Multi-potent drug against cancer

PolyU researchers have developed a new drug, BCT-100, which works on the mechanism of starving cancer cells through depletion of arginine - a key nutrient for many cancer cells.This novel drug could provide a cure not just for liver cancer, but also for other deadly cancer diseases. In the laboratory settings, the drug has been proved to work in cell culture for breast cancer, cervical cancer, skin cancer, pancreatic cancer, lung cancer, colorectal cancer and gastric cancer. It became Hong Kong’s first “Investigational New Drug” granted by the US Food and Drug Administration in 2012.

Patent application has also been filed for BCA-PEG20, another potential anti-cancer agent, in US and other countries.

Nano-particles for purifying dirty water

PolyU researchers have developed tiny polymer particles that can clean waste water at nano level. The technology won the University and its business partner on the project, DunwellEnviro-Tech, the Technology Achievement Grand Award of 2008, an award among the Hong Kong Awards for Industries.

Nu-Torque singles yarn technology

The breakthrough Nu-torque singles yarn technology brings benefits to the global textile industry. The technology is capable of producing yarns with good quality, low twist and high strength, improving textile quality and saving energy during yarn production.

Organic photovoltaics and LEDs

Lighting accounts for approximately 20% of total power used and the general adoption of light emitting diodes (LEDs) could potentially lead to a 10% reduction in overall consumption. This project investigates the materials, device structure, and processes for developing large-area organic photovoltaic cells and explores the development of high brightness organic LEDs.

Space tool development

Top-notch experts from PolyU and the China Academy of Space Technology (CAST) join hands to participate in the nation’s lunar exploration programme. They have developed a Camera Pointing System which was carried on board the Chang’e-3 lunar lander in 2013. The tool serves to capture images of the lunar landscape and monitor the progress of the lunar rover.

They will also jointly develop a sophisticated surface sampling and packing system for collecting lunar rock samples in the third phase of China’s lunar exploration programme scheduled for 2017.

The two parties have signed an agreement to establish a Joint Laboratory in Precision Engineering for Space Applications and a Joint Laboratory in Mechanics and Space Environment Engineering.

PolyU’s rich experience in space tool development includes: the Space Holinser Forceps used in the Russian Space Agency’s MIR Space Station in 1995; the Mars Rock Corer in the European Space Agency’s Mars Express Mission in 2003; and the Soil Preparation System in the Sino-Russian Phobos-Grunt mission in 2011.

SizeChina

PolyU design experts have developed the world's first and much sought-after database storing 3-dimensional head and face measurements of ethnic Chinese, enabling designers, engineers and manufacturers to create perfect-fitting consumer products for Chinese users.

Smart pressure monitored suit – rebuild body contour

Developed by PolyU rehabilitation experts, the Smart Pressure Monitored Suit (SPMS) is the first innovative medically prescribed pressure therapy product designed in Asia. By using 3D scanner and the computerized pattern drafting system (YUKA), any injured body region of a patient can be transformed into two-dimensional paper patterns, which will then be tailored for sewing tightly fitting SPMS for the patient.

The SPMS is applicable to different medical conditions including post-burn hypertrophic scar, post-surgery lymphoedema, varicose vein and deep vein thromobosis. Its elastic property can also be used to reshape body contour after plastic reconstructive surgery such as mastectomy.

Tomorrow's Guestrooms

With the establishment of Hotel ICON, PolyU’s leadership role in hospitality research is further enhanced. Three ‘Tomorrow’s Guestrooms’ at the hotel are dedicated to serve as a platform to innovate, develop and showcase new technologies, hotel designs and business concepts in hotel management. The University is partnering with hotel suppliers and providers in technology, well-being and design in innovative and collaborative projects not only for the benefit of education and research but also for the advancement of the entire industry.

Tourism demand forecasting system

PolyU researchers have developed a web-based system that can forecast tourism-related demands for 10 countries and regions, providing useful figures for the development of the hotel and tourism industry.

多年來,理大以擁有創新科研文化而見稱。我們的科研講求實用性,配合社會、國家及世界的實際需要。

高速鐵路的安全監測

理大成立了跨學科的研究團隊,致力於研究光纖和超聲導波傳感技術在國家高速鐵路結構健康與安全監測中的應用。這些技術已應用於一些高速鐵路項目,包括京滬高鐵。

理大電機工程學系不斷努力研發大型光纖傳感網絡,有助進一步監測鐵路系統。網絡利用數以百計的傳感器,長年測量多種不同的參數,如溫度、應變、加速率、壓力及磁場等。

理大與四川西南交通大學鐵路發展有限公司建立了戰略合作夥伴關係,進一步參與全國高鐵項目。集合兩校專家的科研力量,就中國高速鐵路建設發展領域展開長期合作。

航空服務研究中心

在本地業界夥伴支持下,理大與波音公司合作成立全港第一所「航空服務研究中心」,加強大學對發展迅速的航空業的支援。中心致力培訓專才、實施嶄新工序,以及開發創新技術,以提高飛機維修工程(行內簡稱MRO)業界的安全性、效率和生產力。該中心有助進一步鞏固香港在提供世界級飛機維修工程的領先地位,促進香港及華南地區航空相關行業的未來發展。

「光學離焦」鏡片

根據理大進行全球首次的臨床測試結果顯示,「光學離焦」鏡片能有效減慢近視加深速度達百分之五十。這項嶄新技術已取得澳洲、中國內地、美國及歐洲多個國家的專利。

環保再造磚

理大研發以飲品器皿提取的循環再用玻璃廢料和建築廢料代替沙石,製成環保磚,鋪設於多個地方,包括政府大樓、學校、屋苑、遊樂場及公園。

電動車

理大參與研製的首部港產電動車mycar。

理大將與博愛醫院合作研製新型電動車,用作流動中醫診所。

理大亦獲中華電力有限公司委任,研究在本港安裝電動車充電設施的技術細節。

協助視障人士的電子蝙蝠耳

此項目結合對人類及動物的研究,探討跨模態學習在腦內的發生部位和發生機制。跨模態學習把從環境中捕獲了空間資訊的聽覺信號,轉化成有利於空間導航的視覺空間資訊。有關知識可以作為理論模型,支援中風和大腦損傷患者恢復感覺功能。

食物安全及科技研究

理大的食物安全及科技研究中心積極與本地及內地(特別是珠三角地區)政府機構、本地及國際機構合作,從事食品檢測和食物供應質素管理工作,並以傳統中草藥研製功能性食品及藥物。

環保建築科技

理大積極參與環保建築科技的研究,以促進環境的可持續發展。

希望之手

「希望之手」是理大與獲授權機構復康機器人技術有限公司合作研發的機械手,能幫助中風患者按個人意志,進行手部訓練。

分層定位系統和方法

理大科研人員設計並開發了一個有助提高碼頭運作效率的分層定位系統。這個系統經過在集裝箱碼頭進行測試,使用無線傳感技術和差分全球定位系統收集實時數據,證實能夠實時追蹤卡車和碼頭起重機等的活動。

橋樑防船撞智能監控系統

這套系統可作橋樑的「黑盒」,提供監測範圍內船舶活動和其對橋樑結構潛在撞擊的全面記錄。該監控系統將自動識別系統和智能視頻監控技術加入橋樑安全裝置,可及時向有撞橋危險的船舶發出警報。在撞橋無可避免的情況下,該系統可評估船撞所引起的橋樑損傷程度。

有關項目由理大土木及環境工程學系、深圳產學研基地智能結構健康監測研發中心與浙江省政府交通廳合作研究,用於跨海及跨河橋樑結構。

大型結構診斷與預測系統

理大為長跨橋及高層建築等大型基建進行「結構健康檢查」,素有經驗,一向被視為世界權威。現時已使用理大研發的「大型結構診斷與預測系統」的項目包括橫越長江的蘇通大橋及高610米的廣州塔等。

該系統可以為大型結構提供全壽命期的安全監察。它不僅可以盡早發現隨時間累積的結構退化和損傷,還可在災難發生後第一時間評估結構安全。

微注塑機

理大研發了全球首部向上注射式高精密微注塑機,能注塑輕至0.01克的微型部件。理大並與力勁機械廠有限公司成立合營企業,將科研成果推出市場。

多功能治癌藥物

理大研製出一種以消耗病人體內精氨酸,即癌細胞生長所必需的養料,而達到治療目的之新藥物 -- BCT-100。它不但適用於肝癌治療,亦對多種致命癌症產生療效。理大研究人員對新藥進行了體外細胞抗癌測試,證實了新藥能抑制乳癌、子宮頸癌、皮膚癌、胰臟癌、肺癌、結腸癌及胃癌等癌細胞的生長。此抗癌藥物於2012年成為首隻本港自主研發並通過美國食品藥品監督管理局(Food and Drug Administration)批准第一階段臨床試驗申請的新藥。

另一抗癌藥物BCA-PEG20亦已於美國及其他多國申請了專利註冊。

用於淨化污水的納米技術

理大與正昌科技有限公司開發了一套可用於廢水處理的納米技術,贏得2008年香港工商業獎的「科技成就大獎」。

扭妥環錠紡紗生產技術

創新扭妥環錠單紗生產技術造福全球紡織業,該技術能夠生產質料上乘、低扭矩和高強度的紗線,改良紡織品的素質,更可在生產紗線的過程中節省能源。

有機太陽能電池和發光二極管

光源約佔總耗能源的百分之二十,在一般的照明系統使用發光二極管大概可將整體耗能量減少百分之十。此項目研發製造有機太陽能電池的材料、系統裝置及製程,冀能擴大電池的面積接收更多太陽光線;並開發高亮度的有機發光二極管。

研製太空工具

理大與中國空間技術研究院的專家,合力參與國家探月工程的科研工作。他們研製了「相機指向機構系統」,裝載在2013年發射的嫦娥三號月球探測器上。該儀器使相機可以拍攝月球上的地貌和監察月球探測器的進展。

他們亦將參與預期於2017年進行的中國探月工程第三期計劃,合力研發精密的登月取樣儀器,用以取樣和封裝月球土壤樣本。

雙方亦簽署協議,合作建立一所「空間精密機械技術聯合實驗室」及一所「力學與空間環境工程技術聯合實驗室」。

理大研製太空工具的豐富經驗包括:參與研製的「太空持崁鉗」在1995年應用於俄羅斯和平號太空站、「岩芯取樣器」在2003年應用於歐洲太空總署的「火星快車」探索計劃;以及「行星表土準備系統」在2011年應用於中俄聯合的「火衛一」計劃。

中國尺碼

理大設計專家創立了全球首個記錄了華人頭型和臉型三維資料的資料庫,有助設計師、工程師和製造商製造切合華人頭型的產品。

智能壓力衣-重塑人體線條

理大康復治療科學專家研發的智能壓力衣,是全亞洲首個將壓力治療應用於醫學的新產品。透過立體掃描儀及電腦化繪製系統(YUKA),不論患者的傷患在什麼部位,系統都可製成平面紙樣,為病人度身訂造緊貼身體的智能壓力衣。

研究證實,智能壓力衣能有效治療燒傷後增生疤痕、手術後的淋巴水腫、靜脈曲張及深層靜脈栓塞等。其彈力特性亦有助在整形手術(例如乳房切除手術)後重塑人體線條。

明日客房

隨著唯港薈的落成,理大在酒店及旅遊業研究方面的領導地位亦得以進一步提升。設於酒店的三間「明日客房」,專為業界提供平台,用以革新、開發與展示酒店管理領域中的嶄新科技、新式酒店設計及新商務概念。理大並與酒店供應商聯手展開在科技、舒泰及設計方面別具創意的合作,除了有利於推動教學和研究,亦有助促進整個酒店行業的發展。

旅遊業需求預測系統

理大研發了一套可預測十個國家及地區旅遊業需求的網上系統,為業界提供資料,有助策劃酒店及旅遊業的發展。