2016.04.12PolyU Develops Perovskite-Silicon Tandem Solar Cells with the World's Highest Power Conversion Efficiency

Research is funded by Miss Clarea Au (first from left) and other fundingProfessor Charles Chee Surya, Clarea Au Endowed Professor in Energy, developed perovskite-silicon tandem solar cells with 25.5% power conversion efficiency.Newly developed perovskite-silicon solar cells can reduce the cost of solar energy

The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU) has successfully developed perovskite-silicon tandem solar cells with the world's highest power conversion efficiency of 25.5% recently. Perovskite solar cells first appeared in 2009 with an efficiency of just 3.8%. With the outstanding photovoltaic properties, perovskite solar cell has become a subject of vigorous research for sustainable power generation, with researchers around the world finding new ways to increase its energy conversion efficiency. It has currently established itself as one of the most promising solar cell materials. The research team in the Department of Electronic and Information Engineering led by Professor Charles Chee Surya, Clarea Au Endowed Professor in Energy, has recently made this world record with innovative means to enhance energy conversion efficiency. With this innovation, it is estimated that solar energy can be generated at cost of HK$2.73/W, compared with HK$3.9/W at present generated by existing silicon solar cells available in the market.

As there are different wavelengths for solar energy, a combination of different materials for making solar cells would work best for energy absorption. For example, methylammonium lead tri-halide perovskite and silicon solar cells can form a complementary pair. With the perovskite solar cell functioning as a top layer, it can harvest the short wavelength photons while the bottom layer coated with silicon is designed to absorb the long wavelength photons. PolyU's research team maximizes efficiency by making use of this feature with three innovative approaches. Firstly, the team discovers a chemical process - low-temperature annealing process in dry oxygen to reduce the impact made by perovskite defects. Secondly, the team fabricates a tri-layer of molybdenum trioxide / gold / molybdenum trioxide with optimized thickness of each layer, making it highly transparent for light to go into the bottom silicon layer under perovskite layer. Finally, by mimicking the surface morphology of the rose petals, a haze film, developed by Dr Zijian Zheng of PolyU Institute of Textiles and Clothing, has been applied as the top layer of the solar panel to trap more light. All three innovative approaches help enhance energy conversion efficiency. Professor Shen Hui of Sun Yat-sen University and Shun De SYSU Institute for Solar Energy, who excelled in the fabrication high-efficiency silicon cells, was responsible for the design and fabrication of the bottom silicon cell.

PolyU research team will continue to improve the power conversion efficiency as well as the performance of large-scale fabrication of perovskite-silicon solar cells.

*****

PolyU-Developed Perovskite-Silicon Tandem Solar Cells Breaks Record of the World's Highest Power Conversion Efficiency

The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU) has succeeded in developing perovskite-silicon tandem solar cells which achieve the world's highest power conversion efficiency of 25.5%. The first cells of this kind appeared in 2009 with an efficiency of just 3.8%. Given its outstanding photovoltaic properties, perovskite solar cell can generate sustainable power, and so it is one of the most promising solar cell materials.

The research team in the Department of Electronic and Information Engineering, led by Professor Charles Chee Surya, Clarea Au Endowed Professor in Energy, has designed the cell with innovative means to enhance energy conversion efficiency. It is estimated that solar energy can be generated at a lower cost of HK$2.73/W, compared with HK$3.9/W generated by the existing silicon solar cells available in the market.

With different wavelengths for solar energy, a combination of various materials for making solar cells can maximize energy absorption. For instance, methylammonium lead tri-halide perovskite and silicon solar cells can form a complementary pair. With the perovskite solar cell functioning as a top layer, it can obtain the short wavelength photons while the bottom layer, coated with silicon, can absorb the long wavelength photons. PolyU's research team utilizes this feature with three innovative approaches. First, low-temperature annealing process in dry oxygen reduces the impact made by perovskite defects. Secondly, the team fabricates a tri-layer of molybdenum trioxide / gold / molybdenum trioxide with optimized thickness of each layer, turning it highly transparent for light to travel into the bottom silicon layer under perovskite layer. Lastly, by mimicking the surface morphology of the rose petals, a haze film, developed by Dr Zijian Zheng of PolyU Institute of Textiles and Clothing, has been applied as the top layer of the solar panel so as to trap more light. Professor Shen Hui of Sun Yat-sen University and Shun De SYSU Institute for Solar Energy, a specialist in the fabrication high-efficiency silicon cells, participated in the design and fabrication of the bottom silicon cell.

PolyU research team will strive to continue the cell’s advancement and improve the power conversion efficiency, as well as the performance of large-scale fabrication of perovskite-silicon solar cells.

Press Contacts

Professor Charles Chee Surya

Clarea Au Endowed Professor in Energy, Department of Electronic and Information Engineering

Email(852) 2766 6220
Emailcharles.surya@polyu.edu.hk
Back

2016.04.12理大硏發全球最高能量轉換效率的鈣鈦礦/單晶硅叠層太陽能電池

本項研究獲得歐雪明小姐(左一)及其他研究基金支持徐星全教授(歐雪明能源教授)研發的鈣鈦礦—硅叠層太陽能電池,能達至能量轉換效率25.5%此嶄新鈣鈦礦/硅太陽能電池能降低生產太陽能成本

香港理工大學(理大)最近成功研發全球最高能量轉換效率的鈣鈦礦/單晶硅叠層太陽能電池,其能量轉換效率高達25.5%。早於2009年,鈣鈦礦太陽能電池已經面世,當時能量轉換率只有3.8% 。由於鈣鈦礦材料擁有優越的光伏效能,鈣鈦礦太陽能電池已成為熱門的研究專題,世界各地的科研人員致力找出有效提升能量轉換效率的新方法,推動可持續能源發展。現時,鈣鈦礦已被視為發展高效能太陽能電池最具潛力的新興材料。最近,理大電子及資訊工程學系徐星全教授(歐雪明能源教授)領導的科研團隊,以多項嶄新技術成功創下鈣鈦礦/單晶硅叠層太陽能電池能量轉換效率的最高紀錄。此項科硏成果,估計生產太陽能成本由現時的硅基太陽能電池每瓦HK$3.9大幅地降低至每瓦HK$2.73。

由於太陽光譜由不同的能量波段組成, 結合多種光伏材料來製造太陽能電池,可增加電池吸收的能量。例如,鈣鈦礦/硅叠層太陽能電池便可以互補不足。以鈣鈦礦材料造面層主要吸收短波段的光子,硅材料作底層則可吸收較長波段的光子。理大科研團隊就利用此特性,配合三個創新方法,進一步提升電池效能。首先,科研團隊利用化學反應,以氧低溫鈍化程序,減少鈣鈦礦材料缺陷造成的影響。此外,團隊成功製備用於鈣鈦礦電池的高透明三氧化鉬/金/三氧化鉬叠層電極,調整這電極至最合適厚度,從而提升電極在長波段的透明度,使更多光能量進入鈣鈦礦電池底下的硅電池中。第三,配合由理大紡織及製衣學系鄭子劍博士研發,藉著複制玫瑰花瓣的紋理,製作仿生花瓣陷光薄膜,「吸附」在太陽能電池表面,使電池捕獲更多光線。透過這三種方法,便可以大幅提高太陽能電池能量轉換效率。是次研究的底層硅電池設計與製造是由擁有豐富製備硅電池經驗的中山大學丶順德中山大學太陽能研究院沈輝教授及其團隊負責。

理大科研團隊將繼續致力提升鈣鈦礦/硅叠層太陽能電池的能量轉換效率,並希望進一步發展大面積的鈣鈦礦/硅叠層電池。

(完)

理大硏發最新鈣鈦礦/單晶硅叠層太陽能電池 能量轉換效率冠絕全球

理大最近研發最新鈣鈦礦/單晶硅叠層太陽能電池,能量轉換效率高達25.5%,打破能量轉換效率的最高紀錄。

鈣鈦礦太陽能電池早於2009年面世,當時能量轉換率只有3.8%。由於鈣鈦礦材料擁有優越的光伏效能,有利於推動可持續能源發展,所以鈣鈦礦太陽能電池一直是熱門的研究專題。

最近,由理大電子及資訊工程學系徐星全教授(歐雪明能源教授)領導的科研團隊,以多項嶄新技術成功研發出轉換效率最高的太陽能電池,估計可以把生產太陽能成本由現時的硅基太陽能電池每瓦HK$3.9大幅降低至每瓦HK$2.73。

參與是次研究的還有中山大學丶順德中山大學太陽能研究院沈輝教授及其團隊。在未來,理大科研團隊會繼續致力提升鈣鈦礦/硅叠層太陽能電池的能量轉換效率,並進一步發展大面積的鈣鈦礦/硅叠層電池。

詳情查詢

徐星全教授

電子及資訊工程學系(歐雪明能源教授)

Email(852) 2766 6220
Emailcharles.surya@polyu.edu.hk
返回