2019.06.12PolyU’s quality operation of its sub-degree programmes commended in the Quality Assurance Council (QAC) Audit Report

The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU) welcomes the audit findings of the Quality Assurance Council (QAC) under the University Grants Committee (UGC).  The report confirms the University's sound governance, management and quality assurance (QA) of its sub-degree programmes, which are internationally benchmarked. The Audit Panel concludes that PolyU's sub-degree provision reflects its strategic priorities and mission, whether within the University proper or its College of Professional and Continuing Education. The University also consistently adheres to its QA policies and procedures in operating its sub-degree programmes. The current practices in all dimensions attest to the excellence in operation of the University.

PolyU Interim President, Professor Philip C. H. CHAN, said, "PolyU is gratified by the many commendations in the report. We thank the QAC Audit Panel for going through a rigorous review process on our sub-degree programmes and offering us valuable recommendations. We are pleased to take on board these recommendations to scale new heights in academic standards and quality as we manage our curriculum and nurture our students."

The Panel found PolyU's personal and career development services for students are "comprehensive" and can "help students to adopt a positive attitude towards their study and careers, broaden their horizons and develop as whole persons." Sub-degree programmes students are well supported by high-quality physical learning and e-learning environments which enrich their academic experience. Students are appreciative of their programmes' vocational relevance, the networking opportunities afforded, and skills development that will help them to progress within their chosen professions.

The report also recognises PolyU's QA framework as a systematic one that enables the standard and quality of its sub-degree programmes to be set and maintained. PolyU also demonstrates its effectiveness in implementing strategic approach to curriculum design, programme development and approval. The University has clear guidelines and regulations for programme planning, validation and management that align its outcome-based approach.

There is also a robust process of evidence-based improvement in learning and teaching through Programme Learning Outcomes Assessment Plans. PolyU is proactive in its support for teaching staff. The University through its Educational Development Centre (EDC), provides professional development opportunities for all academic staff.  EDC courses cover a wide range of e-learning and virtual tutorials as well as a set of workshops on integrative curriculum design.

"As a university committed to whole-person development, we are glad to hear that our students are 'active-on and appreciative of'' the co-curricular and extra-curricular opportunities provided to them and found these activities wide-ranging, significant and enriching. We are also pleased to see confirmations from the Panel that our support for teaching staff are 'proactive' and 'fit-for-purpose', while our academic staff 'appreciative of the pedagogical support and development' and found it helpful and valuable," added Professor CHAN.

PolyU is committed to achieving excellence in education provision through advancing and transferring knowledge, conducting impactful researches and offering the best holistic development to its students. PolyU has more than 160 postgraduate, undergraduate and sub-degree programmes and has a student population of over 28,000 students. PolyU currently offers three types of sub-degree programme: Higher Diploma (HD), Associate Degree (AD) and Continuing Education (CE). Established under PolyU in 2001, the Hong Kong Community College (HKCC) is a self-financed institution offering mainly sub-degree programmes, helping over 25,000 graduates to articulate into Bachelor's degree programmes since inception.

- End -

Press Contacts

Ms Eunice Cheng

Deputy Director, Communications and Public Affairs

Email(852) 2766-6377 / 9739 0807
Emaileunice.ol.cheng@polyu.edu.hk
Back

2019.06.12理大副学位课程之质素核证结果公布 营运质素获质素保证局予以肯定

香港理工大学(理大)欢迎大学教育资助委员会辖下质素保证局(质保局)的质素核证报告结果。报告指理大在副学位课程的管治﹑管理及质素保证均有效实施,亦按国际标准进行参照比较。评审小组总结认为,理大提供的副学位课程,不论是由大学本部学院或专业及持续教育学院提供,在管治及质素保证架构上均反映理大的策略重点及使命。理大营运副学位课程时,一直贯彻执行其质素保证政策及程序,各范畴现行的做法亦证验理大在营运上表现出色。

理大暂任校长陈正豪教授表示:「理大欣悉核证报告内对理大给予许多正面的评价,亦感谢质保局评审小组为我们的副学位课程进行严谨的评核,并提出十分宝贵的建议。理大会仔细考虑评审小组的意见,以期在课程管理和培育学生方面迈向更高水平。」

评审小组认为理大为学生提供的个人及就业发展服务「全面」,「有助学生对学业和就业建立正面态度、拓宽视野及促进其全人发展」。副学位课程学生享有优质的实体学习和电子学习环境,有助提升他们的学术体验。学生认为他们修读的课程能够切合职业需要,提供建立人际网络的机会,并且培养专业技能,有助他们在有志投身的行业发展。

质素核证报告亦确认理大的质保架构严谨,实施一致,令其副学位课程得以维持在优良的水平;在课程内容设计﹑课程发展和审批事宜的策略方针成效上,理大亦行之有效。此外,理大在课程策划﹑评审和管理方面也订有清晰的指引及规例,与其以成果为本的方针相符。

理大积极推行课程学习成果评估计划,以健全的实证为本程序,改善教与学。理大积极支援教学人员,透过其教学发展中心为副学位课程的教职员提供专业发展机会。教学发展中心课程涵盖电子学习和网上导修课,亦设有一系列有关综合课程设计的工作坊。

陈正豪教授补充说:「作为一所致力推动学生全人发展的大学,我们很高兴得知学生踊跃参与并欢迎学校安排多元的辅学及课外活动,并认为该等活动有意义,令他们的学习生活更加充实。对于评核小组讚扬理大对教职员在教学及个人发展方面予以『积极』又『切合所需』的支援,而教职员亦认为这些帮助有用和重要的,我们均感到十分欣喜。」

理大矢志开拓及转移知识﹑进行具影响力的研究﹑以及为学生提供优质的全人培育,实现卓越的教育。理大现时开办超过160个深造﹑本科及副学位课程,学生人数超过28,000人。理大目前提供三类副学位课程,包括:高级文凭课程﹑副学士课程,以及持续教育课程。香港专上学院是理大于2001年创立的自资单位,主要提供副学位课程,自成立以来,已帮助逾25,000名学院毕业生升读学士学位课程。」

*****

详情查询

郑霭玲女士

香港理工大学传讯及公共事务处

Email(852) 2766-6377 / 9739 0807
Emaileunice.ol.cheng@polyu.edu.hk
返回