PolyU is pleased to announce that it has conferred the “Outstanding PolyU Alumni Award 2023” on five alumni in recognition of their significant achievements in their respective fields as well as their contributions to their alma mater and society. They are fitting testament to PolyU’s accomplishments in nurturing leaders for Hong Kong, the Nation and the world.


The Award aims to give recognition to distinguished graduates of PolyU and its forerunners, namely the Government Trade School, Hong Kong Technical College and the Hong Kong Polytechnic.


Recipients of the Outstanding PolyU Alumni Award 2023, in alphabetical order of last name, are:

  • Prof. Sophia CHAN Siu-chee, GBS, JP (centre)
    Professor of Nursing, The University of Hong Kong; Senior Advisor to the President’s Office, The University of Hong Kong; Director, HKU Primary Health Care Academy

  • Sr Dr CHEUNG Tin-cheung, SBS (2nd from left)
    Chairman, Hong Kong Green Building Council

  • Prof. TO Chi-ho (2nd from right)
    Visiting Chair Professor of Experimental Optometry, School of Optometry, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University; Chief Operating Officer and Deputy Scientific Director, Centre for Eye and Vision Research Limited

  • Mr Alex WONG Chun-bong (1st from left)
    Founder, C. B. Wong & Co.

Recipient of the Outstanding PolyU Young Alumni Award 2023 is:

  • Mr FANG Bing (1st from right)
    Co-founder, Hai Robotics

(Please refer to the Appendix for recipient biodata.)


The Award Selection Committee was chaired by Dr Lam Tai-fai, GBS, JP, Council Chairman of PolyU. Ex-officio members included: Professor Jin-Guang Teng, JP, President, PolyU; and Dr Miranda Lou, Executive Vice President, PolyU. Other members included: Dr Daniel Yip Chung-yin, BBS, JP, Council Member, PolyU; Mr Augustus Tang Kin-wing, Court Member, PolyU; Ir Dr Samson Tam Wai-ho, JP, President, Outstanding PolyU Alumni Association; and Ir Yau Kwok-fai, President, Federation of PolyU Alumni Associations.


Since the launch of the Award in 1996, 105 recipients have been honoured for great distinction in their chosen fields, active support to their alma mater, as well as impactful contributions to the wider community.


The Award Presentation Ceremony will be held in December 2023.