Success Stories

Engaging the industry for effective transfer of knowledge to support innovation and development for society has always been a priority at PolyU. Among the numerous astonishing application-oriented research outputs, here are some of the successful ones that have high societal impact and are of great significance for Hong Kong, the nation and the world.

Anti-Cancer Drug Research and Development

Over the years, PolyU researchers have been able to successfully discover anti-cancer drug candidates. One highlight is the discovery of BCT-100, a new drug that releases arginase that can degrade arginine (an essential element for cancer cells) and hence starves and kills cancer cells. BCT-100 is the first “Made in Hong Kong” drug approved by US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) to enter into clinical trials in US, and has been successfully transferred to a local pharmaceutical company to further develop and commercialize it. Clinical trials have been conducted in a local hospital with promising results, showing its efficacy on liver cancer without adverse side effects, providing liver cancer patients a ray of hope. Embarking upon the early commercialization success of BCT-100, the PolyU researchers continue to pursue a second generation drug based on the naturally occurring thermostable Bacillus arginase (BCA) for treating various types of cancers. The drug will arguably be more stable with lesser side effect than the first generation. A patent application has been filed for this novel invention.

Hand of Hope

As the name has suggested, the “Hand of Hope” is a remarkable breakthrough in stroke patient recovery by assisting stroke patients to regain their hand movements. Driven by the stroke patients’ own intention to move, the robotic hand enables the patients to move around their paralyzed hands at will, by detecting and amplifying electrical muscle activity through electromyography (EMG) signal that set the robotic hand in motion, which moves the stiff hand along with the patients’ will and intention. As a result, patients are able to train their muscle and hand movement with their will using this robotic hand. The robotic hand, which was already licensed to a local company for commercial exploitation worldwide, went on to win the Grand Prize in the acclaimed Geneva Invention Exhibition in 2012.

Torque-free Single Yarn

In textile industry there is a long problem – residual torque. Residual torque will cause fibers to twist together, affecting the smoothness and quality of yarns. Supported by Innovation and Technology Fund of Hong Kong Government, PolyU researchers have successfully developed a breakthrough technology, trademarked as “Nu-torque”, that can resolve this problem - a problem that has never been resolved for many years. Adopting the Nu-Torque technology, the industry can produce yarns with good quality, low twist but high strength and extra-soft hand feel fabric using simple retrofitting device on existing machines. The technology has been proven to be industrially practicable. It not only can save the energy for spinning, but is also environmentally friendly. This breakthrough technology has been transferred and applied to companies in Hong Kong, Mainland, Australia, Thailand and Malaysia, with more are yet to come. The technology is sweeping the industry like wild fire, comprehensively enhances industrial standard and competitiveness.

Railway Monitoring

PolyU had developed “Advanced Fibre Bragg Grating (FBG) Railway Monitoring System” that had been successfully installed in Hong Kong MTR rails. Thousands of optical sensors installed provide information on vibration, acceleration and temperature change for engineering staff, helping them to monitor the health condition of tracks and railcars as well as structural health of the rail foundation. Not just in Hong Kong, PolyU had installed the system in several sections of the High Speed Rail (HSR) across the country. By providing information crucial to the safety of HSR, the system not only benefits the overall HSR development in China, but also contributes to further research in this area. It is expected that the developed monitoring system will become a core reference for the new national standard for railway safety monitoring in the Chinese mainland. With the success of the FBG sensing system, along with other novel technologies in railway monitoring being developed by PolyU’s inter-disciplinary research teams, PolyU will continue to develop cost-effectiveness and reliable monitoring system, helping to uphold the safety of railway systems.

Mega Structure Monitoring

PolyU’s inter-disciplinary research teams have developed a system that can provide real time information on structural health conditions throughout the whole life cycle of mega-structures like bridges, high-rises and towers. Through the system, the owner can assess structural health condition immediately after any major hazardous event and decide whether evacuation of the occupants is necessary. In recent years, PolyU has been implementing this system in many projects like the Sutong Bridge crossing the Yangtze River, Canton Tower, the new Shenzhen Stock Exchange building, Stonecutter Bridge in Hong Kong, etc. Beyond mega-structures, the research team is exploring with industry partners to apply the system in other areas like water pipes, wind turbine, etc. The system has also been applied to monitor the safety of the hanging DC-3 plane in the Hong Kong Science Museum, offering safe environment for visitors.

Space Programmes

PolyU’s knowledge transfer endeavours create impact not just on earth but into space as well. Over the years, PolyU has built up strong credentials for active participation in space research. While many people already know that PolyU has developed astonishing space tools such as Space Holinser Forceps, the Mars Rock Corer and the “Soil Preparation System" (SOPSYS), there are many other space-related breakthroughs too. The signing of an agreement between PolyU and China Academy of Space Technology has brought together expertise from both sides to develop sophisticated space tool for collecting sample of lunar rock in the third phase of China’s lunar exploration programme. In the three-phased lunar exploration programme, PolyU was engaged in the R&D of a “Camera Pointing System” in the second phase. PolyU will further collaborate with mainland experts to develop a “Surface Sampling and Packing System” for the third phase of the lunar exploration programme. It just demonstrates the contribution from PolyU and hence Hong Kong on the nation’s strategic and significant space exploration programme through our research capability and knowledge transfer efforts.

Anti-Erasing (ATE) Ink

The recent surge in counterfeit products and reselling of expired or contaminated goods is threatening consumer confidence and brand value around the world. To combat unethical tampering of product markings, PolyU researchers have developed an anti-counterfeit technology which adopts a fast-drying formulation. Compatible with various continuous inkjet printers, the innovative Anti-Erasing (ATE) Ink can withstand physical tampering and leave non-removable trace marks on product packaging. Different series of products, including the Nano ATE ink series, for printing on specific materials and surfaces such as tin or aluminum cans, plastic bottles, wires and cables, as well as sausage packaging are ready for the market. The technology is currently adopted by major dairy companies in the Chinese Mainland.

跳到主要内容

關閉返回
科技轉移
科技轉移

成功故事

香港理工大學(理大)理大是工商界及社會各界的緊密合作夥伴,一直致力創造及轉移對世界有實用價值的知識和科技。在眾多的科研成果當中,不乏多個令人驚訝、以應用為本的成功例子,均對社會有深遠的影響,並為香港、國家及世界的福祉作出巨大的貢獻。

 
希望之手
希望之手

「希望之手」,顧名思義,是為中風病人重拾希望,協助他們再次控制自己手部活動的一項突破性發明。機械手出色的地方是,讓病人全權控制一切,自主指揮癱瘓的手作出某種動作。機械手運作的原理,是將機器裝置的電極感應器置於病人的前臂和手上,可以感應腦部傳送到手部肌肉的訊息,再將訊息放大並傳送至機械手,最後機械手按照腦部發出的指示移動。因此,病人能透過使用機械手,改善手部的活動能力。「希望之手」的設計已授權一間本地的公司作全球商業開發,並於第40屆日內瓦國際發明展勇奪至高榮譽大獎,成為該展覽舉辦四十年來,首項獲此殊榮的香港發明。

低扭矩環錠單紗
低扭矩環錠單紗

多年來紡織界一直尋覓新的科技以改善紗綫結構,達到堅韌,低殘餘扭矩,提高衣物質素。理大科研人員獲得香港特別行政區政府創新科技署撥款支持,成功研發一項嶄新紡織科技 -- 「扭妥」環錠紡紗技術,這是紡織業革命性的突破,將困擾業界多年的難題解決。生產商只需在傳統環錠細紗機上安裝一個簡單的裝置,即可控制紗線的殘餘扭矩及紗線張力。用該技術製成的紗線所生產的製成品手感柔軟、較輕,而且可以減低布匹歪扭情況、堅牢耐用,改善起毛起球的情況。這技術已席捲全球的紡織工業,並已應用於香港、中國大陸、澳洲、泰國、台灣及馬來西亞的公司。本發明不單令衣服更舒適、耐用,同時提升紡織業界的水準。

精密鐵路監測系統
精密鐵路監測系統

理大發明的「精密光纖光柵鐵路監測系統」已成功應用於的香港鐵路上。這個嶄新系統是利用安裝在火車路軌上數以千計的光纖感應器,幫助收集振動、加速率和溫度變化的不同數據,讓工程人員實時知道火車與路軌的「健康」情況以確保鐵路的結構安全。除應用於香港,理大已在國內部分的高速鐵路(HSR)安裝此系統。這系統能提供高鐵安全的主要資訊,不但有利於高鐵在中國的整體發展,更有助鐵路監測技術進一步的研究及發展,此監測系統亦有可能成為國際鐵路安全監測標準的核心參考。

大型結構診斷與預測系統
大型結構診斷與預測系統

理大跨部門的科研團隊成功研發了一個能提供實時資訊的系統,用以長期監測大型結構的健康狀況,如橋樑,摩天大樓和塔樓。大廈業主可以透過該系統,當遇到任何重大的危險事故,可即時評估樓宇的結構健康狀況,並決定是否需要立刻疏散住戶。這大型結構診斷與預測系統已應用於跨越長江的蘇通大橋、廣州塔、深圳證券交易所新總部、香港昂船洲大橋等。除了大型建築物,科研團隊正與業界研究,將系統應用於其他領域上,例如:水管、風力發電機等。此系統亦用於監察懸掛在香港科學館內的DC-3飛機展品的安全,確保遊客能在一個安全的環境下參觀。

太空計劃
太空計劃

理大的知識轉移除了造福地球,更遠至太空。理大一直積極研究及發展太空樣本採集工具,以助揭開外太空生命之謎,經過多年的努力,已有多項突破性的發展,包括「太空持崁鉗」,「岩芯取樣器」,及「行星表土準備系統」。理大與已中國空間技術研究院已簽訂協議,使雙方專家能共同研發精密的登月取樣儀器,務必在進行探索月球計劃第三階段時收集岩石樣本。為期三個階段的月球探索計劃,理大已在探月計劃第二階段時參與研發「相機指向機構系統」。理大將繼續與內地專家為第三階段共同研發「表取採樣執行裝置原理樣機」。這正反映理大通過研究工作和知識轉移,使香港對重大的太空探索任務作出貢獻。

抗擦墨技術
抗擦墨技術

近年,假冒偽劣產品充斥全球各地市場,而過期和受污染產品的轉售事件亦時有發生。這些卑劣行為不僅損害企業品牌聲譽,更會削弱消費者的信心。為杜絕不法商人竄改産品信息,理大科研團隊成功研發出防偽「抗擦墨」技術。該技術採用快乾配方,適用於不同型號的連續式噴墨機。以抗擦墨打印的信息碼具有高耐磨性,信息碼不易被改動,並可留下永久標記。研究人員已研發出納米抗擦墨等不同系列的產品供市場採用,這些產品可用來打印於各類包裝物料上,如錫或鋁罐、膠樽、電線、電纜及香腸包裝等。抗擦墨技術現為中國主要乳製品生產商所採用。

 

回頁頂