Skip to main content Start main content

PolyU chemistry scholar elected to European Academy of Sciences

31 Jan 2024

Awards and Achievements

Prof. Raymond Wai-Yeung WONG, Dean of Faculty of Science, Chair Professor of Chemical Technology and Clarea Au Professor in Energy at the Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU) has been recently elected a Foreign Member of the European Academy of Sciences (EurASc) in the Chemistry Division. 

Prof. WONG is recognised for his research achievements in the design and synthesis of new metallopolymers and metallophosphors with photofunctional properties and energy functions. This honour is bestowed upon scientific scholars for their contributions to forefront research and the development of advanced technology, especially those related to the European countries. 

Prof. WONG said, “I am honoured to become a Foreign Member of EurASc and I will definitely continue to make important scientific contributions to our country, the European community and other parts of the world. “ 

Excelling in the study of organometallic optoelectronic polymers and molecules, Prof. WONG’s research on advanced materials proves highly valuable in energy-generating applications for solar cells and energy-saving applications in organic light-emitting devices (OLEDs). He has made remarkable contributions to the development of multifunctional metallopolymers and metallophosphors. His research is advancing the field of energy science, aiming to promote efficient energy generation and consumption, and contributing to the mission of building a sustainable society. 

The EurASc is a non-profit non-governmental, independent organisation of the most distinguished scholars, who are performing leading research and developing advanced technologies, while promoting excellence in science and technology by fostering social and economic development. In the latest round of election, only twelve new members were elected and Prof. WONG is the only one working in China. 

Prof. WONG also received the Higher Education Outstanding Scientific Research Output Award (Science and Technology) 2022 for his research in organic photovoltaic materials. He was bestowed the Second-Class Award in Natural Science for a collaborative research project titled “Alkylthio Side-Chain Engineering of High-Performance Organic Photovoltaic Materials.” 


Your browser is not the latest version. If you continue to browse our website, Some pages may not function properly.

You are recommended to upgrade to a newer version or switch to a different browser. A list of the web browsers that we support can be found here