Campus 100
Campus 100
Congratulatory Messages
Back to Congratulatory Messages
Matthew Cheung

I am very pleased to offer my congratulations to The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU) at this jubilant time to celebrate its 80th anniversary.


The development of PolyU over the decades is a remarkable story of academic growth and success. Founded in 1937 as the Government Trade School, it was the first publicly funded, post-secondary technical institution in Hong Kong. The first major expansion saw it take the name of the Hong Kong Technical College in 1947 before the permanent campus in Hung Hom opened in 1957. The Hong Kong Polytechnic, mandated to provide professional education, was formally established in 1972 and assumed full university status in 1994. The PolyU community keeps growing, with enrolment reaching 17 410 students in the 2015/16 academic year.


Hong Kong is renowned as a city that is responsive to changes and receptive to new ideas. PolyU has made notable contribution to that achievement by nurturing for the community a pool of talent who are critical thinkers, effective communicators, innovative problem solvers, lifelong learners and ethical leaders, and by conducting research projects which cover a broad scope from conveniences for everyday life to space ventures to push back the frontiers.


Today, PolyU has become one of the most prestigious universities in pioneering innovative models to deliver higher learning that combine professional knowledge with service learning and real-world experience. The University is also weaving a growing and increasingly effective global network that facilitates educational and research development and enhances academic and cultural exchanges to strengthen its establishment in Hong Kong, in the region and internationally. I look forward to witnessing the continued growth of the University along its trajectory of excellence and wish its 80th Anniversary celebrations every success.



The Hon. Matthew Cheung Kin-chung, GBS, JP
Chief Secretary for Administration

The Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region