About the Centre

The Chinese Language Centre was established in 1998 and has since been providing Chinese language teaching services to students of the PolyU for different needs.

 

In terms of curriculum and teaching, we are mainly responsible for offering University Chinese of the Language and Communication Requirements (LCR) which is mandatory for all undergraduate students. This subject aims at bringing students’ Chinese proficiency to the expected undergraduate level. Since 2013, we began to tailor-make Chinese subjects for Discipline-Specific Requirements (DSR) for the eight Faculties and Schools of the PolyU. Over the years,  more than 35 sets of teaching material have been developed for 26 professional fields. We also offer a series of subjects in LCR-Chinese for non-Chinese speaking (NCS) students with different entry levels to cater for their needs.

 

To dovetail with the Cluster Area Requirements of PolyU, we provide Chinese Reading and Chinese Writing (CR & CW) Tutorials for students to help them read academic articles and write academic papers and reports.

 

We have had the Chinese Self-learning Unit since the establishment of the Centre to provide various self-learning materials and counselling services for PolyU students.

 

With regard to services, the testing unit of the Centre administers year round various language proficiency tests for the PolyU students and the community at large. These tests include the National Putonghua Proficiency Test, the Putonghua Shuiping Kaoshi, (i.e. Putonghua Proficiency Test), Putonghua Proficiency Test for Primary Students, and the Shumian Hanyu Shuiping Kaoshi (i.e. Written Chinese Proficiency Test).

 

We also provide special language training activities to other departments of the PolyU, such as the EXCELL courses for the Student Advancement and Resources Centre and the in-house training for the Human Resources Office.

 

 

Please click here for the Personal Information Collection Statement (PICS)

中心簡介

本中心成立於1998年,一直致力為理大學生提供切合不同需要的中國語文教學服務。

 

在課程與教學方面,本中心主要開設了本科生需要修讀的「語文及傳意課程——大學中文」(LCR-Chinese),旨在讓同學的中國語文能力達至本科生應有的水平。自2013年開始,本中心逐步為不同學系開設量身訂造的「專業中文課程」 (DSR-Chinese),至今所開辦的科目已涵蓋本校8個學院共26個專業範疇,並已編訂超過35套教材。針對非華語同學的需要,中心也開辦了一系列、不同程度的「語文及傳意課程——非華語學生中文」科目(LCR-Chinese  for NCS)。

 

為配合校方的通識課程,本中心也提供中文閱讀和寫作(CR & CW)的學習指導單元,以提升同學閱讀學術資料,以及撰寫學術論文或報告的能力。

中心於成立之初,已設有中文自學室,為同學提供各種語文自學資料,並有老師提供輔導服務。

 

在專業服務方面,本中心的測試組每年都舉辦多項校內校外的測試,包括普通話水平測試、普通話水平考試、小學普通話水平考試以及書面漢語水平考試等等。

 

另外,中心也會因應校內其他部門的邀請,舉辦特別的語文培訓活動,例如為學生發展及資源中心開辧輔學課程,為人力資源處提供內部培訓服務等等。

 

 

Please click here for the Personal Information Collection Statement (PICS)