The Service-Learning Outcomes Measurement Scale (S-LOMS) is designed for teachers to assess student learning outcomes arising from service-learning, particularly in the Hong Kong and East Asian contexts. It is a 56-item assessment tool adopting a 10-point Likert scale, self-reported by students before (pretest) and after (posttest) their service-learning experience. The pretest-posttest differences indicate the change of students' perception over 11 learning domains under the below our categories which are commonly identified in service-learning. 

  • Knowledge application
  • Personal and professional skills
  • Civic orientation and engagement
  • Self-awareness

This scale is designed in a flexible way that service-learning teachers can select individual or multiple learning domains for assessment at their discretion. It is originally developed for tertiary students and is now being used by the Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Lingnan University and Hong Kong Baptist University. 

English Version



You can learn more about the process of how the S-LOMS was developed and validated, how the S-LOMS should be administered and scored, and how its results can be interpreted at the user manual here

The development of the S-LOMS was funded by the University Grants Council as part of the project "Cross-institutional Capacity Building for Service-Learning in Hong Kong Higher Education Institutions" (PolyU4/T&L/16-19), which aims at enhancing and supporting the development of service-learning as an effective pedagogical strategy. This project is a cross-institutional effort involving The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Lingnan University, Hong Kong Baptist University, and The Education University of Hong Kong. In particular, the development of the S-LOMS is the result of a collective effort from the above universities, in partnership with experienced community organizations, and involved a rigorous development and validation process.