Skip to main content Start main content

PolyU Orchestra • Music Connects – Baroque Concerto Series – Vivaldi's Concerto for Four Violins in B minor, RV580

All Programmes


  • 日期


  • 主辦單位

    Culture Promotion Committee

  • 時間

    00:00 - 00:00

  • 地點



Baroque Concerto series
Antonio Vivaldi︳Concerto for Four Violins in B minor, RV 580

I Allegro
II Largo - Larghetto
III Allegro

Mr Leung Kin-fung
Artistic Director and Conductor of PolyU Orchestra

Violin Soloists:
Benjamin Leung Kai-hong
Alumnus, Department of Building Services Engineering

Leah Li Yajie
Alumna, School of Nursing

Kelsey Liang Yuan
Alumna, Faculty of Humanities

Joey Mao Yiwei
Student, Department of Applied Biology and Chemical Technology


Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741) composed a set of twelve violin concertos entitled L'estro armonico, “harmonic inspiration”. The tenth of these, for Four Violins in B minor, is renowned for its melodic grace and consonance. It is well loved and even regarded by its admirers as being equal to the famous Four Seasons.

L'estro armonico, written in 1711, was Vivaldi’s first concerto publication.  This B minor concerto has a three-movement, fast–slow–fast structure. The four solo violins take the lead successively to play the main melody.  The passages of clear sixteenth notes evoke the lively pastoral scenery, the slow movement expresses delicate emotions, and the music ends merrily at a brisk pace.