Skip to main content Start main content

PolyU Orchestra • Music Connects – Cello Solo – Bach's Cello Suite No 1 in G major, BWV1007

All Programmes

  • 日期


  • 主辦單位

    Culture Promotion Committee

  • 時間

    00:00 - 00:00

  • 地點



Music Connects is an online music programme of the PolyU Orchestra. Members of the Orchestra have continued to produce music despite the pandemic.
Under the guidance of Mr Leung Kin-fung, the Artistic Director and Conductor, the PolyU Orchestra is presenting to you a wide range of musical genres in this series of Music Connects.


A feature of music from what is loosely referred to as “the Baroque era” is the growing importance of the bass line and the emergence of stronger-toned bass instruments. These included the cello, for which Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) composed six solo suites. The Cello Suite No 1 in G major, BWV1007 opens with a Prelude. With its gracefully arching arpeggios in the first part and expanding and contracting melodic line in the second, this is one of the best-known movements in the Suites. The following movements are an Allemande, which is an easily flowing dance said to have originated in Germany around the middle of the 16th century, a Courante which is altogether more lively and was described in an early French treatise on dancing as having "jumping movements and a great variety of figures according to the dancer's ability and fancy", and a solemn Sarabande. The final movement is a Gigue.

Cello Solo
Johann Sebastian Bach Cello Suite No 1 in G major, BWV1007

Performed by:
Benny Lam Yip-chunCello
Alumnus, Department of Rehabilitation Sciences