Skip to main content Start main content

PolyU Orchestra • Music Connects – Violin Solo – Mozart's Violin Concerto No 3 in G major — II Adagio

All Programmes

  • 日期


  • 主辦單位

    Culture Promotion Committee

  • 時間

    00:00 - 00:00

  • 地點



Music Connects is an online music programme of the PolyU Orchestra. Members of the Orchestra have continued to produce music despite the pandemic.
Under the guidance of Mr Leung Kin-fung, the Artistic Director and Conductor, the PolyU Orchestra is presenting to you a wide range of musical genres in this series of Music Connects.


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791) was the son of a pioneering violin teacher who wrote the first ever tutor for the instrument.  Naturally, the young Wolfgang learnt the violin, but wrote very little solo music for it.  In the mid-1770s, however, he did write five concertos for it, and the Violin Concerto No 3 in G major, K 216 is dated 12 September 1775.  The deeply lyrical second movement (Adagio) was the first part of the Concerto to be performed, when it was played between the acts of a play staged in Salzburg during 1777.  The movement is built around the gorgeously lyrical, soaring melody given out by the violin at the very start.

Violin Solo
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart︳Violin Concerto No 3 in G major, K 216 — II Adagio


Performed by:
Benjamin Leung Kai-hong · Violin
Alumnus, Department of Building Services Engineering

Dr Virginia Li Meng · Piano
Staff, Confucius Institute of Hong Kong