December 2021
Volume 22, Issue 5
Newsletter of School of Hotel & Tourism Management
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
Share via:
Dr Benson Tang, Executive Director of Corporate Travel of Informa Markets and 1995 graduate of the BA in Tourism Management programme and 2018 graduate of the Doctor of Hotel and Tourism Management programme, received the SHTM Outstanding Alumni Award 2021 at The Hong Kong Polytechnic University's 27th Congregation (SHTM) held on 9 November 2021.
Five SHTM graduates received awards at the Congregation.
  • Miss Onyx Wong received the SHTM Student of the Year Award 2020/2021.
  • Miss Weiqi Xia received the Best Undergraduate Honours Thesis Award 2020/2021 for her thesis, entitled "The Perception of Chinese Hotel M-Bookers' Booking Experience".
  • Miss Rui Guo received the Best MSc Dissertation Award 2020/2021 for her thesis, entitled "Can Amount of Information and Information Presentation Reduce Choice Overload? An Empirical Study of Online Hotel Booking".
  • Dr Xinru Liu received the Best D.HTM Thesis Award 2020/2021 for her thesis, entitled "Tourism and the Alleviation of Poverty: A Study on Rural Community Development in Fujian, China".
  • Dr Antony Wong received the Best Ph.D. Thesis Award 2020/2021 for his thesis, entitled "Effects of the Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) on Employee Behavioral Intention through Employee Attitude, Job Satisfaction and Organizational Commitment with CSR-implementing Hotel".
Under the Internationalisation@Home initiative, the SHTM organised a video contest to showcase the culture of a country or region. The winning video was "Discover Pakistan" by Miss Melanie Muhlmann, a final year student in the BSc in Tourism and Events Management programme. The first runner-up was "Fun Facts about Turkey" by Miss Akniyet Nygmet, a Year 1 student in the BSc in Hotel Management programme, and the second runner-up was "Fun Facts about Spain" by Miss Kelsey Ng, a Year 1 student in the BSc in Tourism and Events Management programme.
SHTM undergraduate students participated in the 6th Asian Federation of Exhibition and Convention Association Asia MICE Youth Challenge on 25 November 2021 and earned the following awards:
  • Champion and The Best PowerPoint Presentation Award – Year Four students in the BSc in Hotel Management programme Miss Chloe Chu, Mr Gordon Chum, and Miss Yuuki Lau and Year Three student Mr Allen He in the BSc in Tourism and Events Management programme
  • The Most Knowledgeable Award – Year Three student in the BSc in Hotel Management programme Miss Cheryl Chan
Five students in the MSc in International Wine Management – Mr Chun-yau Chan, Ms Yingying Dong, Ms Natalie Lee, Mr Leo Yau and Ms Zheng Zhou – won third place in the 2021 Intercollegiate Wine Business Invitational wine business plan development competition on 3 December. Competing with students from well-known hospitality programmes around the world, they developed an innovative Chinese white wine, "Mirage". The wine is made from red Beichun grapes from Yunmiao and is inspired by Blanc de Noir from the Champagne region of France.
Under the guidance of Dr Michael Lin, SHTM undergraduate students Mr Anthony Liu, Miss Missy Zou, and Miss Charlotte Chen, together with Mr Xavier Pan, a student from the Department of Computing, won second place at the 2021 Guangdong Hong Kong Macau Greater Bay Area Integrated Resort Sustainable Business Case Study Competition – "Start Young" Hospitality Management Professional Challenge organised by the University of Macao on 12 December.
Professor Cathy Hsu obtained a research grant of HK$1 million for her project entitled "The Construction of a Multi-Perspective Social Listening Platform for Smart Tourism Development in the Greater Bay Area" from PolyU's Projects of Strategic Importance Scheme 2021/22.
Three SHTM faculty members were rewarded for excellent performance in their fields.
  • Dr Mimi Li received an SHTM Teaching Excellence Award for her proactive and student-centred philosophy using a wide range of active learning methodologies.
  • Dr Neil Li, who has authored and co-authored 21 refereed articles in high impact journals, received an SHTM Research Excellence Award in recognition of his contribution to the enhancement of research excellence at the School.
  • Ms Katrina Li received an SHTM Service Excellence Award in recognition of her significant contribution to the enhancement of service excellence at the SHTM.
A number of SHTM faculty members won the School Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Knowledge Transfer in 2021.
  • Professor Haiyan Song received the Knowledge Transfer: Industry (Individual) Award 2021 for his project "The Asia Pacific Visitor Forecasting System".
  • Professor Kaye Chon, Professor Cathy Hsu, Professor Brian King, Professor Bob McKercher, Dr Tony Tse, Dr Norman Au, Dr Eric Chan, Dr Ada Lo, Dr Barry Mak, Dr Henry Tsai, Dr Karin Weber, Dr Daniel Leung and Ms Anny Ho received the Knowledge Transfer: Society (Team) Award 2021 for their project "Developing Hospitality and Tourism Education in Saudi Arabia".
Follow us on:
This e-newsletter is issued by the School of Hotel and Tourism Management at The Hong Kong Polytechnic University.
© All rights reserved.