Skip to main content

Booting Re-industrialization: Is Re-industrialization Ready To Take Off In Hong Kong?

Section Search

The community has come to a consensus that re-industrialization is the way forward. The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU) has been organizing a four-part webinar series themed “Booting Re-industrialization”. The first webinar held on 30 September aimed to explore whether re-industrialisation is ready to take off in Hong Kong.

 

Professor Man Hau-chung, Dean of PolyU Faculty of Engineering said, “University is a key stakeholder in re-industrialization. With technology being the most important component of re-industrialization, universities, with its advanced research facilities and strong research team, are most ready to provide the much-needed support for various industries.” He stressed that PolyU excels in professional education, applied research and partnership and is the ideal partner for industry to go through re-industrialization.

Dr Daniel Yip, Chairman of Federation of Hong Kong Industries, considers the prospect for re-industrialization in Hong Kong very promising. While re-industrialization is commonly referred to making use of high-end technology such as IOT, AI, new materials and smart production procedures to upgrade industries, Dr Yip has a broader definition of industry. He is of the view that industry should not just be confined to manufacturing, it should mean all the processes involved, including purchasing, research, design, manufacturing, engineering, branding and marketing. He said, “re-industrialization means innovating all the processes involved.”

Dr Yip advocated a four-pronged approach for re-industrialization, which he termed it as “the next normal of Hong Kong industry”.

  1. Relocating factories: enterprises can choose to locate the different processes of business: purchasing, manufacturing, engineering, legal, finance and other professional services in different countries, according to their comparative advantages. For example, the ASEAN and the African countries are ideal places for setting up manufacturing bases.
  2. Exploring new markets: While China is the targeted market with its 1.4 billion of population, the consumption power of many ASEAN countries cannot be neglected.
  3. Developing Hi-tech products: The focus should be on talent development, product design, manufacturing and intellectual property. Exporting technology and high-end skills should also be considered.
  4. Enhancing local production: A number of local industries including jewellery, food, green technology, printing and smart manufacturing still enjoy much competitive edges. With enhancement in technology, they do have good potentials for further development.

Dr Sunny Chai, Chairman of Hong Kong Science and Technology Parks Corporation (HKSTP), said among the eight focus areas of HKSAR Government in the promotion of innovation and technology, four of them are directly related to re-industrialization. They are:

  1. Increase resources for R&D;
  2. Pool technology talent;
  3. Provide investment funding; and
  4. Provide I&T infrastructure.

As for the direction of re-industrialization, Dr Chai said we should focus on three areas:

  1. I&T development: Hong Kong should be used as the base for nurturing new technology. Upon confirmation of the readiness of the technology, the manufacturing process can take place in the Greater Bay Area or AESAN countries. Novetex is one of the examples.
  2. Critical process: All the critical, R&D-driven process, proprietary fabrication and testing techniques should take place in Hong Kong for ensuring quality and IP protection. Medical devices are among the examples in this category.
  3. Traditional pillars: Efforts should be devoted to upgrade the quality and productivity of some traditional industries such as the food industry, and to deal with the labour shortage problem so as to facilitate their sustainable development.

Dr Chai said, “the work of HKSTP in recent years has greatly helped boost re-industrialization.” Within the 4 million sq.ft of R&D Office and lab space in HKSTP, there are over 9,000 R&D professionals and more than 900 technology enterprises. Other than transforming the industrial estates to cope with the new industries, various new facilities including Microelectronics Centre, Data Technology Hub, Precision Manufacturing Centre and Medical Accessory Resilience Supple Centre have been / will be set up, thus providing very good back-up for re-industrialization.

Dr Bobby Lui, President of Hong Kong Young Industrialists Council, was the moderator of the webinar. He said, “Made-in-Hong Kong is a valuable brand. With the concerted effort of stakeholders from the manufacturing, academic and research sectors, re-industrialization will sure bring immense benefits for Hong Kong.”

Professor Man said while Hong Kong should go for re-industrialization in full speed, we need to take into consideration of the world’s needs as well as the capabilities and strengths of Hong Kong. In his view, Hong Kong should focus on artificial intelligence, virtual reality, wearable technology, internet of things, robotics, 3D printing and advanced manufacturing.

Professor Man further pointed out that among the 28 academic departments in PolyU, many of them are related to the major industries in Hong Kong and so could nurture enough talents to support re-industrialization. PolyU has proactively enhanced the research facilities in recent years, setting up a number of State Key Laboratories, Hong Kong Branches of Chinese National Engineering Research Centres, as well as University Research Facility in 3D Printing, Behavioral and Systems Neuroscience, Big Data Analytics, Chemical and Environmental Analysis, Life Science, Materials Characterization and Device. With over 1000 researchers, PolyU has made important breakthroughs in aerospace, new drug development, food safety, big data, artificial intelligence, cloud computing, microelectronic and precision medicine. Excelling in partnership, PolyU has entered into collaborative agreements with various leading enterprise including Boing, Alibaba, with a view to achieving win-win scenario in re-industrialization.

According to Professor Man, from basic research to launch of product, there are usually eight to nine stages. The initial few stages, from basic research to technology development, usually take place in the universities, while the last few stages including system development, system test, launch and operation are usually taken up by the enterprises. The knowledge transfer stage in the middle is usually the gap which cannot be easily closed. As it is difficult for researchers and enterprises to come to a consensus, a lot of research outputs have been wasted. PolyU in recent years has stepped up its effort in knowledge transfer, hoping to bridge the gap so that the research deliverables will be appropriately used to support re-industrialization and to boost the economy.

Professor Man said, “though research has commanded increasing attention nowadays, Hong Kong is still short of leading technology companies”. PolyU has been working hard to build partnership with major technology enterprises and it hopes the HKSAR Government could take initiative to invite mega technology companies to station in Hong Kong, which could help boost the research culture and nurture more research talents.

Throughout the discussion, the four speakers at the webinar shared a common view that re-industrialization does not mean bringing back the labour-intensive production line to Hong Kong, the key is “innovation and technology” and “talent development”. There are a number of local universities ranked top 100 in the world. Their capabilities in innovation and technology as well as talent development are highly recognised. As for the Government, apart from promoting innovation and technology, various funding schemes have been launched in recent years. All stakeholders should make use of these unprecedented opportunities to partner with the Government, academia and the research sector to help transform Hong Kong into an innovation-led economy for the benefits of the society.

Webinar Details

Top

跳到主要内容

科研展廊
科研展廊

驅動「香港再工業化」:香港再工業化是否已萬事俱備?

Section Search

由80年代開始,香港經濟以服務業為主,致令本地經歷了一段頗長時間的「去工業化」。時移世易,香港經濟若要再度起飛,就要透過「再工業化」幫助香港由服務型經濟過渡至創新型經濟模式。

社會大眾對於香港需要「再工業化」已有共識,香港理工大學舉辦一連四場「驅動香港再工業化」網絡研討會系列,首場於日前(9月30日)舉行,就香港「再工業化」是否已萬事俱備進行探討。

香港理工大學工程學院院長文効忠教授說:「大學是香港「再工業化」的一個重要持分者。科技成分是「再工業化」的關鍵,大學既有先進的科研設施,又有強大的科研隊伍,只要善於利用,自然可以事半功倍。」他特別指出理大一直在專業教育、應用研究及夥伴協作方面表現卓越,是業界推行「再工業化」的最佳拍檔。

香港工業總會主席葉中賢博士認為香港「再工業化」前景無限。他對「工業」有一個較為廣泛的定義。一般人對「再工業化」的定義是指利用高科技和技術,例如物聯網、人工智能、新材料和智能生產程序發展高增值產業;但他認為「工業」不應限於「製造業」,而是包括香港製造所涉及的採購、科研、設計、生產、工程、品牌推廣、市場銷售等等的所有工序。他說: 「再工業化」其實是指開拓創新所有相關的過程。」

葉博士認為香港「再工業化」可以循四大方向發展,他稱之為the next normal of Hong Kong Industry。

  1. 選擇落戶的地方,企業可以考慮分別將採購、生產、工程、法律財務及其他專業工作落戶在不同國家,以善用各地的優勢,例如東盟國家或者一些非洲國家都是一些適合設置生產廠房的地方;
  2. 開拓新市場,中國有14億人口,固然是大戶,但很多東南亞市場購買能力都相當強,不容忽視;
  3. 發展高新科技,在人才培訓、產品設計、工業生產、知識產權等方面著眼,甚至可以輸出科技及技術;
  4. 完善本地生產,香港有幾個產業範疇包括珠寶、食物、綠色科技、印刷、智能生產等方面都很有優勢,只要進一步提升技術水平,就可以更上層樓。

香港科技園公司主席查毅超博士指出政府推動創科發展的八個範疇,其中四個是直接促進「再工業化」的,包括:

  1. 增加科研資源;
  2. 培訓科技人才;
  3. 提供創業資金;
  4. 提供創新科技基建設施。

對於香港「再工業化」的方向,查博士認為應該集中於三個範疇:

  1. 和創新科技相關的,以香港作為開發科技的基地,待研發成熟後,便可以將生產的工序在大灣區或東亞國家進行,Novetex便是其中一個例子;
  2. 將關鍵的、涉及重點科研的生產程序、或者精密的檢測程序在香港進行,以保障知識產權和質素水平,一些醫療科技及器材都屬於這方面的例子;
  3. 提升傳統工業的產量及質素,另外就是應對人手短缺的問題,使一些傳統行業例如食物製造業可以持續發展。

查博士說: 「科學園近年的工作對促進「再工業化」有很大裨益。」科學園有超過四百萬平方呎的科研地方、九千多名科研人員、超過九百家科技公司,近年除了改建工業村配合新興工業發展之外,更相繼成立微電子中心、數碼化技術中心、精密製造中心、醫療儀器設備中心等,正好成為「再工業化」的強大後盾。

香港青年工業家協會會長廖錦興是今次網絡研討會的主持,他說: 「香港製造是一個重要品牌,只要產學研各持分者攜手同心,「再工業化」一定可以為香港帶來重大裨益。」

文教授認為「再工業化」是事在必行,而且刻不容緩,但在選擇範疇方面要相當謹慎,必需要考慮大環境的需要以及香港本身的能力和強項。他認為香港適宜專注於人工智能、虛擬現實、可穿戴科技、物聯網、機械人、三維打印技術和精密生產等領域。

文教授指出理大二十八個學術部門中有很多個都是和香港的主要工業有關,所以在人才培育方面,絕對可以支援香港「再工業化」。理大近年積極強化科研設施,設有多個國家重點實驗室、國家工程技術研究中心香港分中心、以及關於三維打印技術、神經科學、大數據分析、化學和環境分析、生命科學、材料與器件等等的中心實驗室,科研人員超逾千人,在航天、新藥研發、食物安全、大數據、人工智能與雲計算、微電子及精準醫學等方面的科研都有卓越成就,理大亦與不同行業的領先機構,例如波音、亞里巴巴等建立夥伴關係,爭取在「再工業化」達到雙贏局面。

文教授認為從基礎研究到產品推出市場通常有八至九個步驟,最初幾個科研階段以及技術發展一般在大學進行,到最後產品生產、測試以及推出市場的步驟則由廠家負責,現時中間的知識轉移階段一般是「死亡之谷」,因為科研人員和產業人員不易取得共識,平白浪費很多科研成果。理大近年積極推動知識轉移,就是希望幫助科研成果跨過「死亡之谷」,不但不會白費科研人員的心血,亦可以推動「再工業化」及促進社會經濟。

文教授說: 「香港的科研氣氛雖然日益濃厚,但尚欠一些龍頭科技企業。」理大一直致力與領先的科技企業合作,亦希望政府可以吸引一些巨無霸科技企業落戶香港,帶動科研氣氛,科技人才就自然會遍地開花。

四位嘉賓在討論「再工業化」時都有共識,「再工業化」不是要將勞工密集的生産線回流香港,而是要推動「創科」和「人才培訓」。香港有多間大學名列全球100大,在科研創新及培育人才方面的實力不容置疑;政府近年又積極推動創新科技,並提供財政上的支援,相信各方能把握這前所未有的機遇,透過官産學研的多方配合,使香港成功轉向創新型經濟模式。  

網絡研討會詳情

回頁頂