Skip to main content Start main content

PolyU Orchestra • Music Connects – Baroque Concerto Series – Bach's Concerto for Two Violins in D minor

All Programmes


  • Date

    20 Oct 2021

  • Organiser

    Culture Promotion Committee

  • Time

    00:00 - 00:00

  • Venue



Baroque Concerto series

Johann Sebastian Bach  ︳Concerto for Two Violins in D minor, BWV 1043 — I Vivace in D minor



Mr Leung Kin-fung

Artistic Director and Conductor of PolyU Orchestra


Violin Soloists:

George Siu Chak-hang · First Violin

Student, Department of Rehabilitation Sciences

Howard Fong Ho-kee · Second Violin

Staff & Alumnus, Department of Rehabilitation Sciences


Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750) was a prolific composer, with more than a thousand compositions to his name. His musical career can be divided into three periods according to his place of work: Weimar, Köthen and Leipzig. Three violin concertos by Bach have survived in their original form, with the D minor concerto for two violins being particularly popular. They were written when Bach served as Kapellmeister at the court of Köthen. During this period, Bach’s music evolved from its earlier, purely sacred content to display more technique and artistry. The two solo violins constantly imitate and chase each other in the delicately stacked phrases, culminating in the most beautiful expression of the Baroque style.

巴赫(1685–1750)是一位相當多產的作曲家,作品數量高達一千多首,後人將他的創作生涯依照主要工作地點分為三個時期:威瑪、科登和萊比錫。目前完整流傳下的三首小提琴協奏曲譜寫於科登擔任宮廷樂長之時,其中以D小調雙小提琴協奏曲最受歡迎。 這個時期的巴赫跳脫過往純粹的宗教音樂,作品開始展現演奏技巧和藝術性。雙小提琴協奏曲以緊湊的主題旋律揭開序幕,兩把提琴在精巧堆疊樂句中不斷相互模仿、展開追逐,並將華麗的巴洛克風格發揮淋漓盡致。

Your browser is not the latest version. If you continue to browse our website, Some pages may not function properly.

You are recommended to upgrade to a newer version or switch to a different browser. A list of the web browsers that we support can be found here