Laboratory for Soil-structure Interaction With High Performance Construction Materials

Introduction

The Laboratory explores and addresses issues associated with the use of high performance materials, especially high strength steel materials or composite structural elements, in various aspects of foundation engineering and underground construction. In particular, the stress mobilizations and strain developments in soil-structure interaction problems.

Research Team of the Lab

  • Laboratory-in-charge
Dr Andy Leung
  • Members
Dr Horace Lo (Postdoctoral researcher)
Mr A. Abdullah (PhD student)

Lab details

1.Strain developments in composite structural elements

Composite structural elements, such as concrete-filled steel tube utilizes the confinements provided by steel tube to enhance the performance of concrete column, and can have wide range of applications in superstructures and substructures. The strain developments and interaction between these two elements are, however, not well understood.

With the high-resolution optical fibre optic sensors and analyser (housed at Z520 Smart Geotechnology Laboratory), the composite structural elements can be instrumented during experiments, in such a way that the strain developments can be accurately captured. This provides a new means to understand the interaction between concrete and steel tubular structures of different geometries (circular, hexagonal, etc.)

The strain sensing technique is based on based on Optical Frequency Domain Reflectometry (OFDR), and the analyser (Semicon OSI-S) is an ultra-high precision diagnostic and distributed optical fibre sensing instrument, with spatial resolution of 1 mm and measurement accuracy of ±1.0 micro strain (με). The main advantage lies on the continuous strain profile that can be obtained from these measurements, which reveals more detailed features of the response than discrete measurements by conventional strain gauges. The photos of the optical fibre and sensing instruments are shown in Figure 1.

2.Effective use of high-strength steel material in foundations and lateral support system of deep excavation

The use of high-strength steel as foundation elements is associated with some clear benefits, as it entails higher (structural) capacity compared with H piles with normal grade steel, and is easier to handle and construct compared with other large-diameter concrete piles (bored piles). This project/task involves investigation, together with industrial partners, on the application of such high strength steel in foundation elements, such as socketed H piles or driven piles. The benefits and precautions associated with these applications will be explored, through numerical simulations of soil-structure interaction of the piles embedded in soils and rocks, laboratory testing of the structural elements, etc. Focused working group/meetings will be held with industrial partners and authorities to explore potential sites for the application.

Apart from utilizing the H sections as foundation piles, there are also benefits on their applications as lateral support elements (struts, walers, king posts) in deep excavation projects or other underground construction scenarios. Another direction to be explored involves the application of high strength threadbars as foundation or geotechnical elements, such as micropiles, ground anchors and soil nails. This would involve laboratory testing and numerical simulations of these elements embedded in soils with various conditions. The high accuracy, continuous strain measurement technique mentioned above also plays an important role in the experimental investigations.

3.Installation and pile driving in high strength steel materials

Various aspects of pile engineering, including the installation (e.g., welding and pile driving) process and the performance in soil-structure interactions involving the high strength materials have not been thoroughly understood. While the welding process will be investigated in considerable details by another laboratory of CNERC, this project will analyse the potential pile driving effects in H sections of high strength steel materials.

This project objective aims to extend the wave equation analysis for pile driving process to enhance understanding of the compressive and tensile stresses generated in the high strength steel material during pile installation. Recommendations will then be made associated with pile driving stress and allowable working stress, so that more specific guidance can be applied to foundation designs with high performance steel./p>

Expected deliverables:

  • Research publications in reputed journals on the foundation and geotechnical applications of high strength steel and composite structural elements
  • Focused workshops/meetings to discuss with key stakeholders the benefits/precautions of the applications
  • A set of procedures for the installation of fibre optic sensors in foundation and excavation projects, to obtain high resolution and high accuracy strain measurements

About Us

CNERCEstablishment of the Chinese National Engineering Research Centre for Steel Construction (Hong Kong Branch) at The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU) was approved by the State Ministry of Science and Technology (MOST), People’s Republic of China on 12th October 2015.

Contact Information

Address:
Chinese National Engineering Research Center for Steel Construction (Hong Kong Branch)
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Phase 8,
Hung Hom, Kowloon, Hong Kong.

Phone: (852) 3400-8451

Email: cnerc.steel@polyu.edu.hk

高性能建筑材料与土-结构相互作用实验室

简介:

此实验室致力于研究、解决有关高性能材料, 尤其是高强度钢材料或其复合结构元件,在地基工程和地下施工中应用的问题。并重点探究土-结构相互作用中的应力变化与应变发展。

实验室成员:

  • 项目负责人:
梁日晖
  • 成员:
罗文江 (博士后研究员)
A. Abdullah (博士生)

研究室详细信息:

1.复合结构元件的应变发展

混凝土钢管桩作为一种复合结构元件,利用钢管围压来增强混凝土柱的性能, 已被广泛应用于上部与下部结构中。 然而,其应力发展过程及这两种元件之间的相互作用还没有被充分理解。

通过高分辨率光纤传感器与分析仪 (位于Z520智能岩土技术实验室),复合结构元件在实验过程中的应变发展可以得到精确的记录。这为更好的了解混凝土与不同形状的钢管桩(圆形,六角形等)之间的相互作用提供一种新的方法。

分析仪(Semicon OSI-S)基于光频域反射(OFDR)技术,是一种超高精度分布式光纤传感设备,空间分辨率可达1 mm,测量精度为 ±1.0 微应变 (με)。此项技术的主要优势在于可以从测量中获得连续应变曲线,与传统应变仪得到的离散数据相比,其能更为详尽地揭示结构元件响应特征。 光纤应变传感电缆和分析仪的照片如图1所示。

图1.光纤应变传感电缆(左)与 OFDR 分析仪(右)

2.高强度钢材在地基与深基坑水平支护体系中的有效应用

将高强度钢材应用于地基工程中具有若干明显优势。 因为相比于普通等级的H型钢桩, 刚强度H型钢桩具有更高的(结构)承载力; 而相比于大直径混凝土桩(钻孔桩), 其更易处理及施工。该项目/任务与业界合作伙伴一同探究高强度钢材在地基工程元件(如嵌入 H 桩或打入桩)中的应用。通过桩体嵌入岩土时土 -结构相互作用的数值模拟分析,以及关于结构元件的室内实验测试等,有关此类应用的优势及预防措施将会被研究。此外,通过组织重点团体会议, 将与业界合伙伙伴和政府工作人员探索该应用的适宜场地。

H型高强钢不仅可以用作基础桩,也可以被用作深基坑工程或其他地下工程的水平支护元件, 例如横撑、横梁、主柱。另一个值得探索的方向是将高强度螺纹杆用作地基或岩土工程元件, 例如微型桩、地锚、土钉。这些都需要相关的室内实验与数值模拟分析来探究土-结构相互作用的机理。上述所提到的高精度、连续应变测量技术也将在实验研究中发挥很大的作用。

3.高强度钢材地基的安装

关于桩工程的各个方面,包括安装过程(例如,焊接和打桩)及涉及高强材料的土-结构相互作用的机理尚未得到充分认知。焊接过程将由CNERC 的另一个实验室进行详细的研究,该项目主要分析高强度H 型钢的打桩效应。

本项目旨在扩展打桩过程的波动方程分析,以提高对在桩安装过程中高强材料所产生的压应力与拉应力的理解。基于此,提出与打桩应力和许用工作应力的相关建议,以便为高性能钢材的基础设计提供更为详尽的理论基础。

预期成果:

  • 有关高强度钢材与复合结构元件在基础与岩土工程中应用的顶级学术著作
  • 与主要负责人研讨此类应用的优势与预防措施的重点学术论坛、会议
  • 一系列关于光纤传感器在地基与基坑项目中的安装流程, 以得到高分辨率与高精确度的应变测量

關於我們

CNERC国家钢结构工程技术研究中心香港分中心(以下简称「香港分中心」)于2015年10月12日,获中华人民共和国国家科技部批准在香港理工大学成立。

联系方法

地址:
九龙 红磡
国家钢结构工程技术研究中心香港分中心
香港理工大学 第八期 Z106室

电话: (852) 3400-8451

电邮: cnerc.steel@polyu.edu.hk