Laboratory for Corrosion Protection Technology

Introduction

The objectives of the Laboratory for Corrosion Protection Technology

  • To investigate the atmospheric corrosivity in local areas in Hong Kong, and to study the atmospheric corrosion chemicals, corrosion mechanisms, and corrosion rates of exposed steelwork under local environments.
  • To investigate various corrosion monitoring methods in buildings and civil engineering structures using internet-based monitoring systems and corrosion sensors.
  • To investigate the conventional galvanization method with Zinc, and the innovative modern galvanization process with Zinc and Aluminium alloys as well as the control of coating thicknesses, and surface quality, and the prolonged use of various fluxing solutions.
  • To investigate corrosion protection and repair technology including rusts and hydrated iron oxides, rust removal, chemical treatments, service life of rusted steelwork, and service life after repair.

Research Team of the Lab

  • Laboratory-in-charge
Prof K F Chung
  • Deputy Laboratory-in-charge
Mr. JIANG Hao, Research Fellow (CNERC, PolyU)
  • Members
Mr. WANG Yichuan, Research Associate (CNERC, PolyU)
Ms. XIAO Tingyu, Research Associate (CNERC, PolyU)
Mr. Eric YUEN, Research Assistant (CNERC, PolyU)
Two more external advisor from Arup/Fugro

Venue

Water and Waste Laboratories – Laboratories ZS1101, ZS1102 and ZS1112 at Block Z
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Water and Waste Laboratories

High Performance Ion Chromatography

Laboratory research

To confront potential durability problems of infrastructure in Hong Kong, it is essential to investigate and understand various controlling mechanisms of corrosion in exposed structural steelwork. Hence, atmospheric corrosivity of exposed structural steelwork under local environments in Hong Kong are examined. Moreover, corrosion monitoring methods, corrosion engineering technology, prediction, assessment and protection methods to both reinforced concrete structures and steel-concrete composite structures should be investigated and developed under Hong Kong context.

Effective implementation of corrosion engineering technology for sustainable infrastructure development among construction professionals will bring tremendous economic benefits to Hong Kong as a whole. Savings on long-term maintenance expenses on residential buildings, commercial offices and public buildings as well as roads, highways, railways, tunnels, bridges and ports facilities will be enormous.

The research areas are: a) Monitoring of corrosion in MiC buildings, b) Long term monitoring of corrosion in civil engineering structures: bridges, flexible rock barriers and noise barriers, c) Detection of rusting, d) Repair of corroded steel, and prevention of continual rusting, e) Simulation and prediction, f) Atmospheric corrosivity assessment, and g) Innovative galvanic protection.

1. Atmospheric corrosivity

It is important to study the atmospheric corrosivity in local areas of Hong Kong, and to collect local data for various sites in different areas. Comparison with the predicted corrosion rates to ISO/DIS 9223 and 9224 based on measured climate data and concentrations of atmospheric chemicals is also made.

Yearly measurements on mass loss in exposed standard metal specimens to ASTM G50-10 and BS EN ISO 8407:2014 will be conducted to assess corrosion resistances of different metallic plates with various corrosion protection, such as pure zinc plates, bare steel plates, and galvanized steel plates exposed under outdoor conditions. Corrosion rates of different metals will be collected through one- year exposure tests.

A corrosion map for local areas of Hong Kong will be developed to establish annual corrosion rates for durability assessment. Calibration will be conducted with different methodology.

On-line atmospheric corrosion map of exposed steels in various local areas in Hong Kong

 

2. Corrosion monitoring

To confront potential durability problems in civil engineering structures such as bridges, flexible rock barriers and noise barriers, and residential buildings, especially for MiC (Modular Integrated Construction) buildings and transitional housing in Hong Kong, it is essential to investigate and understand various controlling mechanisms in corrosion of the structural steelwork under both internal and external conditions. Hence, it is necessary to monitor and examine atmospheric corrosivity of structural steelwork under both internal and external conditions through various methods of measurements. As a result, general corrosion requirements for steel structures in Hong Kong will be developed.

The project will 1) Perform real time monitoring and collect direct measurements on electrical currents in standard metal sensors to de termine corrosion rates of structural steelwork in both internal and external conditions; 2) Collect real time measurements of climatic data (temperatures, humidity), and monthly atmospheric chemicals (Cl¯ and SO2); 3) Compare with the predicted corrosion rates to ISO/DIS 9223 and 9224 based on measured climate data and concentrations of atmospheric chemicals; and 4) Expose metallic plates with different corrosion protection systems, according to the international standard practice (ASTM G50-10).

 

3. Galvanic protection

It aims to improve the conventional galvanization with Zinc, and develop an innovative modern galvanization process with Zinc-Aluminium alloy with improved coating thicknesses and surface quality through the use of advanced fluxing solutions. This innovative galvanization technique is expected to produce galvanized coatings with enhanced durability and ductility for structural steel members and steel reinforcements.

Task 1: It aims to develop an innovative ‘discrete’ galvanization process to produce galvanization coatings of Zinc-Aluminium alloy with enhanced corrosion resistance and mechanical performance to steel reinforcements. Hence, it is necessary to enhance the process to be ‘adaptive’ with various complementary galvanization procedures to cover various structural steel members used in construction. More specifically, a material research will be conducted, and the fluxing solution will be enhanced with rigorous verification and validation. As a result, galvanization with enhanced corrosion resistance will be obtained in steel reinforcements of various steel grades and diameters.

Task 2: It aims to perform rigorous verification and validation through material characterization on the galvanized coatings of steel reinforcements produced in Task 1 above. Various material characterization techniques will be employed to reveal the micro-structures and to identify the chemical compositions of the galvanization coatings. The results will confirm consistency of the galvanization coatings produced with the process together with various complementary galvanization procedures.

Task 3: It aims to perform rigorous verification and validation on enhanced corrosion resistance and mechanical performance of the galvanized coatings of steel reinforcements produced in Tasks 1 and 2 above. Standards tests on chemical compositions, mechanical performance and corrosion resistance of the galvanization coatings of Zinc-Aluminium alloy will be carried out according to codified methods and industrial practice.

Task 4: It aims to compile a comprehensive technical guide on the application of the proposed process to steel reinforcements together with technical data on verification and validation exercises of the galvanization coatings to assist design and construction engineers in Hong Kong. Technical guidance on specification, inspection and quality control will also be provided to government departments and regulatory authorities for direct adoption in construction projects.

 

4. Corrosion protection and repair technologies

It aims to investigate corrosion protection and repair technology including detection of rust and hydrated iron oxides, rust removal, chemical treatments, service life of rusted steelwork, and service life after repair. The following methodology and objectives will be applied:

1) Detection of rusts and hydrated iron oxides:

  • Methodology A: Non-destructive test (Detect Moisture): To estimate corrosion levels by detection of moisture levels of the local environments.
  • Methodology B: Non-destructive test (Acoustic Monitoring): To identify wire breaks with acoustic detection on specific sound frequencies, and to determine their corresponding locations.

2) Rust removal and chemical treatments:

  • To study and compare the effectiveness of acidic solutions, alkaline solutions and sodium hydroxide solutions in rust removal from corroded steel,
  • To study various chemical reactions in the process of rust removal from steels with various chemical solutions,
  • To study the level of damage caused by various chemical solutions to the steel substrates, d) To study the effects of temperatures, solution concentrations and time of treatment onto effectiveness of rust removal.

The scope of work includes a) To collect corroded steel plates from various building sites for sample preparation, b) To prepare chemical solutions for rust removal under safety environment and protection, c) To establish the most effective solution for rust removal with specified combinations of temperature, concentrations and time of treatment, d) To minimize damage caused to the steel substrates during the cleaning process.

Methodology include:

  • To perform a mass loss measurement according to ASTM G1-03 and BS EN ISO 8407; and
  • To remove corrosion products from rusted steel using the solutions specified in ASTM G1-03 and BS EN ISO 8407.

Mass loss measurement

 

Projects

  • Atmospheric corrosivity was measured through mass loss tests on exposed steel plates in 7 different sites throughout Hong Kong since 2010.
  • Improved galvanization processes for enhanced ductility and durability.
  • Corrosion monitoring in residential houses using internet-based monitoring systems and corrosion sensors – InnoCell Building at HKSTP in Shatin, Nam Cheong Transitional Housing in Sham Shui Po.
  • Corrosion monitoring of steel flexible barriers against rockfall in rural areas.
  • Control of local environments to prevent occurrence of corrosion.

 

Expected deliverables

  • Technical reports/guides,
  • Journal publications, and
  • Patents

About Us

CNERCEstablishment of the Chinese National Engineering Research Centre for Steel Construction (Hong Kong Branch) at The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU) was approved by the State Ministry of Science and Technology (MOST), People’s Republic of China on 12th October 2015.

Contact Information

Address:
Chinese National Engineering Research Center for Steel Construction (Hong Kong Branch)
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Phase 8,
Hung Hom, Kowloon, Hong Kong.

Phone: (852) 3400-8451

Email: cnerc.steel@polyu.edu.hk

腐蚀防护技术实验室

介绍:

腐蚀防护技术实验室的目标:

  • 调查香港局部地区的大气腐蚀性,研究当地环境下暴露的钢结构的大气腐蚀化学物质、腐蚀机制和腐蚀速率。
  • 使用基于互联网的腐蚀监测系统和腐蚀传感器研究建筑物和土木工程结构的各种腐蚀监测方法。
  • 研究锌的传统镀锌方法,锌铝合金的创新现代镀锌工艺,以及涂层厚度和表面质量的控制,以及各种助焊剂溶液的长期使用。
  • 研究锈蚀和水合氧化铁、除锈、化学处理、锈蚀钢结构的使用寿命和修复后的使用寿命等腐蚀防护和修复技术。

实验室科研团队:

  • 首席科学家:
钟国辉教授
  • 成员:
江浩工程师, 研究员 (香港分中心, 香港理工大学)
肖婷宇, 副研究员 (香港分中心, 香港理工大学)
袁嘉辉, 副研究员(香港分中心, 香港理工大学)
王一川,副研究员 (香港分中心, 香港理工大学)
来自 奥雅纳/辉固 的另外两名外部业界顾问

地点:

水与废弃物实验室 – Z 座的 ZS1101、ZS1102 和 ZS1112 实验室
土木与环境工程学系,香港理工大学

水与废弃物实验室

高效离子色谱系统

研究领域:

为了解决香港基础设施潜在的耐久性问题,有必要调查和了解外露钢结构腐蚀的各种控制机制。因此,研究了在香港当地环境下暴露的钢结构的大气腐蚀性。此外,应在香港背景下研究和发展钢筋混凝土结构和钢-混凝土组合结构的腐蚀监测方法、腐蚀工程技术、预测、评估和保护方法。

在建筑专业人士中有效实施腐蚀工程技术以促进可持续基础设施发展,将为整个香港带来巨大的经济效益。住宅、商业写字楼、公共建筑以及公路、公路、铁路、隧道、桥梁和港口设施的长期维护费用节省将是巨大的。

研究领域为:a) 组装合成建筑 (MiC) 建筑腐蚀监测,b) 土木工程结构腐蚀的长期监测:桥梁、柔性岩石屏障和隔音屏障,c) 锈蚀检测,d) 锈蚀钢筋修复及预防持续生锈,e) 模拟和预测,f) 大气腐蚀评估,以及 g) 创新型电流阴极保护。

1. 大气腐蚀性

研究香港本地地区的大气腐蚀性,以及收集不同地区不同地点的本地数据非常重要。 同时还需要基于 ISO/DIS 9223 和 9224,根据测量的气候数据和大气化学物质浓度数据得出的预测腐蚀速率进行比较。

每年将根据 ASTM G50-10 和 BS EN ISO 8407:2014 对暴露的标准金属试件的质量损失进行测量,以评估具有各种腐蚀保护的不同金属板的耐腐蚀性,例如暴露在室外条件下的纯锌片、裸铁片和镀锌铁板。不同金属的大气腐蚀速率将通过一年的暴露测试采集得到。

通过以上实验确定每年的金属大气腐蚀速率,为香港本地地区制作大气腐蚀速率地图,用于进行金属结构耐久性评估。 同时将将采用不同的方法对腐蚀速率进行校正。

香港不同地区暴露钢结构的在线大气腐蚀速率地图

 

2. 腐蚀监测

为应对土木工程结构(如桥梁、柔性岩石屏障和隔音屏障)和住宅建筑的潜在耐久性问题,尤其是香港的组装合成建筑(MiC)和过渡性房屋,有必要研究和了解各种控制机制在内部和外部条件下对钢结构的腐蚀。因此有必要通过各种测量方法对钢结构在内部和外部条件下的大气腐蚀性能进行监测和检查,从而制定香港钢结构的通用腐蚀要求。

该项目将: 1) 对标准金属传感器中的电流进行实时监测和直接测量,以确定钢结构在内部和外部条件下的腐蚀速率; 2) 收集气候数据(温度、湿度)和月平均大气化学物质(Cl¯ 和 SO2)的实时测量值; 3) 与 基于ISO/DIS 9223和 9224通过测量的气候数据和大气化学物质浓度得到的预测腐蚀速率进行比较; 4) 根据国际标准(ASTM G50-10),对不同腐蚀保护系统的金属试件片进行大气暴露腐蚀。

 

3. 镀锌防腐技术

旨在改进传统的镀锌工艺,并通过使用先进的助镀剂解决方案开发具有改进涂层厚度和表面质量的锌铝合金的创新现代镀锌工艺。这种创新的镀锌技术有望为结构钢构件和钢筋生产具有增强耐久性和延展性的镀锌涂层。

任务 1:旨在开发一种创新的分离式镀锌工艺,生产锌铝合金镀锌涂层,增强钢筋的耐腐蚀性和机械性能。因此有必要通过各种补充镀锌程序来增强该过程的可用性,以涵盖建筑中使用的各种结构钢构件。更具体地说,将进行材料研发,并通过严格的检测和验证来增强助镀剂解决方案。因此,将在各种钢种和直径的钢筋中获得具有增强耐腐蚀性的镀锌件。

任务 2:它旨在通过对上述任务 1 中生产的钢筋镀锌涂层的材料特性进行严格的检测和验证。将采用各种材料表征技术来揭示微观结构并确定镀锌涂层的化学成分。结果将确认通过该过程以及各种补充镀锌程序产生的镀锌涂层的一致性。

任务 3:旨在对上述任务 1 和任务 2 中生产的钢筋镀锌涂层的增强的耐腐蚀性和机械性能进行严格的检测和验证。锌铝合金镀锌层的化学成分、力学性能和耐腐蚀性能等标准试验将按照规范化的方法和工业实践进行。

任务 4:旨在编制一份关于将拟议工艺应用于钢筋的综合技术指南,以及有关镀锌涂层检测和验证工作的技术数据,以协助香港的设计和建造工程师。还将向政府部门和监管部门提供规范、检验和质量控制方面的技术指导,供建设项目直接采用。

 

4. 腐蚀防护与修复技术

旨在研究腐蚀保护和修复技术,包括锈蚀和水合氧化铁的检测、除锈、化学处理、生锈钢结构的使用寿命和修复后的使用寿命。将应用以下方法和目标:

1) 铁锈和水合氧化铁检测:

  • 方法 A:无损检测(检测水分):通过检测当地环境的水分含量来估计腐蚀程度。
  • 方法 B:无损检测(声学监测):通过对特定声音频率的声学检测来识别断点,并确定它们的相应位置。

2) 除锈及化学处理:

  • 研究和比较酸性溶液、碱性溶液和氢氧化钠溶液对腐蚀钢的除锈效果。
  • 研究用各种化学溶液对钢除锈过程中的各种化学反应。
  • 研究各种化学溶液对钢基材造成的损坏程度。
  • 研究温度、溶液浓度和处理时间对除锈效果的影响。

研究工作范围包括:

  • 从各建筑工地收集锈蚀钢板用于制样。
  • 在安全环境和保护下制备除锈化学溶液。
  • 建立最有效的除锈解决方案与指定的组合 处理的温度、浓度和时间。
  • 尽量减少清洁过程中对钢基材造成的损坏。

研究方法包括:

  • 根据 ASTM G1-03 和 BS EN ISO 8407 进行质量损失测量;
  • 使用 ASTM G1-03 和 BS EN ISO 8407 中规定的溶液去除生锈钢上的腐蚀产物。

质量损失测量

 

研发项目:

  • 自 2010 年以来,通过对全香港 7 个不同地点的外露钢板进行质量损失测试来测量大气腐蚀性。
  • 改进镀锌工艺以提高延展性和耐用性。
  • 使用基于互联网的监测系统和腐蚀传感器对住宅进行腐蚀速率监测——沙田香港科技园的 InnoCell创新斗室,深水埗南昌街组装合成过渡房屋。
  • 乡村地区防落石钢柔性屏障腐蚀监测。
  • 控制局部环境以防止发生腐蚀。

 

预期成果:

  • 技术报告/指南
  • 期刊论文
  • 专利

關於我們

CNERC国家钢结构工程技术研究中心香港分中心(以下简称「香港分中心」)于2015年10月12日,获中华人民共和国国家科技部批准在香港理工大学成立。

联系方法

地址:
九龙 红磡
国家钢结构工程技术研究中心香港分中心
香港理工大学 第八期 Z106室

电话: (852) 3400-8451

电邮: cnerc.steel@polyu.edu.hk