Skip to main content Start main content
Professor Tong YANG
PolyU Scholars Hub

Professor Tong YANG

Chair Professor of Mathematical Science

  • Foreign Member of the Academia Europaea
  • Member of the World Academy of Sciences
  • Foreign Member of the European Academy of Sciences
  • Member of the Hong Kong Academy of Sciences
  • American Mathematical Society Fellow
  • RGC Senior Research Fellow


Professor Tong YANG is a Chair Professor of Mathematical Science at The Hong Kong Polytechnic University and a highly distinguished scholar in the field of Partial Differential Equations and Kinetic Theory. He has been pursuing research excellence in mathematics for about 30 years. Professor Yang has been honoured with numerous awards and distinctions in recognition of his outstanding contributions, including being elected as a Foreign member of Academia Europaea in 2022 and a member of The Hong Kong Academy of Sciences in 2021. He has authored over 200 SCI journal papers, some of which have been published in top journals in mathematics.

Partial differential equations (PDEs) apply to many areas of science and daily life, so establishing a theory using appropriate mathematical terminology is both exciting and can be quite challenging.

Professor Tong YANG

YANG Tong_Quote_pic
In recent years, Professor Yang's groundbreaking research has focused on the mathematical theory of boundary layers and high Reynolds number limits. Indeed, Professor Yang and his collaborators have established the well-posedness of the Prandtl equation in Sobolev space with Oleinik’s monotonicity condition and in optimal Gevrey function space without any structural assumptions. Furthermore, Professor Yang and his colleague Dr Zhu Zhang have developed an innovative analytical approach to examine the inherent stability mechanism of shear flow profiles featuring robust boundary layers, ultimately deriving the Orr-Sommerfeld equation in a compressible setting.

YANG Tong_text_picIn addition to his academic accomplishments, Professor Yang is deeply committed to serving the mathematical community and in promoting mathematical science in Hong Kong and beyond. He has served as the President of the Hong Kong Mathematical Society from 2016 to 2020 and as an officer of the Mathematics Division, European Academy of Sciences from 2019 to 2023. Currently, he is a member of the Programme Committee for the Future Science Prize Week 2023.

Your browser is not the latest version. If you continue to browse our website, Some pages may not function properly.

You are recommended to upgrade to a newer version or switch to a different browser. A list of the web browsers that we support can be found here