Skip to main content Start main content


Chairman Deputy President and Provost (as appointed by the President) or a senior academic staff member (as appointed by the DP)
Prof. Wing-tak Wong, DP

Executive Vice President or her delegate
Miss April Wong, DoF

Vice President (Education)
Prof. Kwok-yin Wong, VP(Edu)

Vice President (Research and Innovation)
Prof. Christopher Chao, VP(RI)

Up to six other members, including external members, appointed by the DP

  • Professor Chen Qingyan, Director (PAIR) (15 Sep 2021 to 31 Aug 2023)
  • Prof. Li Ping, Chair Professor (CBS) & Dean (FH) (1 Jan 2020 - 31 Dec 2023)
  • Prof. Li Xiangdong, Chair Professor (CEE) & Dean (FCE) (1 Jul 2020 - 30 Jun 2024)
  • Prof. H.C. Man, Chair Professor (ISE) & Dean (FENG) (1 Sep 2022 - 31 Aug 2024)
  • Prof. David Shum, Chair Professor (RS) & Dean (FHSS) (1 Jul 2019 - 30 Jun 2023)
  • Prof Jin-Guang Teng, President (1 Dec 2020 - 30 Nov 2022)
Secretary A member of staff from the Research and Innovation Office, appointed by the Director of Research and Innovation
Mr Lixin Situ, Assistant Director (RIO)

Terms of Reference

  • To advise the Deputy President and Provost (DP) on all matters relating to the development of Areas of Excellence (AoEs) and Research Institutes (RIs) in the University.
  • To develop and continually review strategies for the promotion and development of AoEs and RIs.
  • To monitor progress and to develop appropriate mechanisms for the review and monitoring of AoEs and RIs.
  • To consider applications for research endeavours and funding schemes administered by the Committee from Faculties/Schools and Departments, and approve funding allocations, as appropriate.
  • To advise the DP on research funding schemes administered by the Committee and to regularly monitor the progress of these endeavours and funding schemes.
  • To prepare reports required from the UGC or other external agencies relating to the activities administered by the Committee for submission by the President or his nominee.

Last update: 24 May 2022