Skip to main content Start main content

Student Organisations and Societies

Student Affairs Office (SAO) provides general advising and support to all student organisations. To facilitate the development of student organisations and societies, SAO hosts various trainings, workshops and global learning trips for student organisations and societies in the areas of student organisation management and leadership development. SAO is more than happy to provide guidance and assistance to student organisations and societies when needed. Please contact us through email:

The Hong Kong Polytechnic University Students’ Union (HKPUSU) is registered under the Societies Ordinance as a separate student body, which is not part of the PolyU legal structure.  PolyU does not in any way represent the HKPUSU and shall not be held responsible for any acts or omissions of the HKPUSU.  Whether students choose to pay the membership fees of HKPUSU or not does not in any way affect their programme registration or study in PolyU. It should be noted that PolyU does not assume any responsibility or liability towards students in respect of the said fees.

PolyU provides resources and advice to support the HKPUSU and its sub-organisations to provide extracurricular activities that help enrich campus life and develop students’ all-round capabilities.

As a member of the HKPUSU, you will have the privilege to enjoy activities and benefits offered by your Faculty/School Students’ Association and departmental student society/course club:



Faculty of Applied Science and Textiles Students’ Association (FASTSA)

  • Faculty of Applied Science and Textiles Students' Association Executive Committee (FASTSA ExCo)
  • Applied Biology with Biotechnology Students' Society (ABBSS)
  • Applied Physics Students' Society (APSS)
  • Chemical Technology Students' Society (CTSS)
  • Departmental Society of Applied Mathematics (DSAM)
  • Food Safety and Technology Students' Society (FSTSS)

Institute of Textiles and Clothing Students' Society (ITCSS)

Faculty of Business Students’ Association (FBSA)

  • Faculty of Business Students' Association Executive Committee (FBSA ExCo)
  • Accounting and Finance Society (AFS)
  • Logistics and Maritime Studies Society (LMSS)
  • Management and Marketing Society (MMS)

Faculty of Construction and Environment Students’ Association (FCESA)

  • Faculty of Construction and Environment Students' Association Executive Committee (FCESA ExCo)
  • Building and Real Estate Students' Society (BRESS)
  • Building Services Engineering Students' Society (BSESS)
  • Civil and Environmental Engineering Students' Society (CEESS)
  • Land Surveying and Geo-informatics Students' Society (LSGISS)

Engineering Students’ Association (ESA)

  • Engineering Students' Association Executive Committee (ESA ExCo)
  • Aeronautical and Aviation Engineering Students' Society (AAESS)
  • Biomedical Engineering Students' Society (BMESS)
  • Electrical Engineering Students' Society (EESS)
  • Electronic and Information Engineering Students' Society (EIESS)
  • Industrial and Systems Engineering Students' Society (ISESS)
  • Mechanical Engineering Students' Society (MESS)
  • Society of Computing Studies (SCS)

Faculty of Health and Social Sciences Students’ Association (FHSSSA)

  • Faculty of Health and Social Sciences Students' Association Executive Committee (FHSSSA ExCo)
  • Applied Ageing Studies Students’ Society (AASSS)
  • Applied Social Sciences Departmental Society (APSSDS)
  • Medical Laboratory Sciences Students' Society (MLSSS)
  • Nursing Departmental Society (NDS)
  • Optometry Departmental Society (OPTDS)
  • Occupational Therapy Students' Society (OTSS)
  • Physiotherapy Students' Society (PSS)
  • Radiography Students' Society (RSS)


Faculty of Humanities Students’ Association (FHSA)

School of Design Students’ Association (SDSA)

School of Hotel and Tourism Management Students’ Association (SHTMSA)

The offices of the Union Judicial Council, the Union Council, the Executive Committee, the Press Committee, Faculty/School Students’ Associations and affiliated clubs are located on the third floor of the Shaw Amenities Building.



HKPUSU members are eligible to join all the interest clubs affiliated with the HKPUSU. Some international or regional clubs or societies have set up a student branch at PolyU and they are registered under the HKPUSU with exemption of affiliation.


Arts Division

  • Chinese Orchestra
  • Choir
  • Dance Society
  • Drama Club
  • Music Society
  • Orchestra
  • The PolyArts

Recreational Division

  • Astronomy Club
  • Chess and Boardgames Club
  • Excursion & Travel Affairs Association
  • Mahjong Society
  • Photographic Society
  • Senior Year Admitted Student Society

Cultural Division

  • Campus Crusade for Christ
  • Cartoons Art Society
  • Catholic Students' Society
  • Chinese Mainland Students’ Association
  • Christian Band
  • Christian Choir
  • Christian Fellowship
  • Korean Cultural Society
  • Social Service Group
  • South Asian Society

Sports Division

  • Archery Club
  • Iai Kenjutsu Club
  • Judo Club
  • Karatedo Club
  • Polytennis Club
  • PolyVolley Club
  • Red Castle Softball Club
  • Rowing Club
  • Taekwondo Club

Clubs / societies registered under HKPUSU with exemption of affiliation

  • Campus YMCA of PolyU
  • One Circle GLOW Uni for Gospel
  • Toastmasters Club
  • Zonta Club of Kowloon Golden Z Club





A number of non-local student associations are established and affiliated under the Student Affairs Office (SAO) to engage and serve the non-local student community.  As catalysts for promoting a campus ambience that is international, enriching and inclusive, extracurricular activities are held to facilitate multicultural student integration and exchange. Currently, affiliated under SAO we have the following non-local student associations:

  • International Student Association
  • Qazaq Student Association
  • Korean Student Association
  • Indonesian Student Association
  • Malaysian Student Association
  • Taiwanese Student Association

Click this link for their contact details. Students who wish to reach Chinese Mainland Students’ Association (CMSA) or South Asian Society (SAS) may click the same link where the contact information of the aforesaid non-local student associations registered with the Students’ Union is also available.

A series of student development programmes are organised for current and prospective office-bearers of various student organisations. The training contents are specifically designed to enable participants to acquire skills they need to exercise their duties.

  • Leadership qualities in student organisations
  • Change management
  • Creative thinking
  • How to win others’ support
  • Team building

Student workshops are offered to enhance communication and presentation skills for student who served in University Committees.

Your browser is not the latest version. If you continue to browse our website, Some pages may not function properly.

You are recommended to upgrade to a newer version or switch to a different browser. A list of the web browsers that we support can be found here