## **C6.** Grievance Committee

申訴委員會

## **Terms of reference**

- 1. To investigate and make decision on specific complaints as referred to it formally in accordance with the Grievances and Human Resources Related Appeals Procedures.
- 2. To refer substantiated cases to the Staff Discipline Committee for consideration of the appropriate course of action to be taken.
- 3. To refer to the Staff Discipline Committee such cases where the complainant who is a staff member is considered to have made a malicious complaint.
- 4. To refer to the Student Discipline Committee such cases where the complainant who is a student is considered to have made a malicious complaint.
- 5. To submit report on specific complaints to the President upon completion of investigation and final ruling.
- 6. To submit an annual report to the President covering the Committee's activities for the previous 12 months from 1<sup>st</sup> July to 30<sup>th</sup> June.

## **Composition**

The Grievance Committee shall comprise the following membership:

Chairman: One Chairman and one alternate Chairman, at Associate Professor level or

above, to be elected by and from members of the Senate by majority vote. They shall be from two different Faculties/Academic Units not affiliated with the

Faculties\*.

Chairman : Prof. TAO Xiaoming, Chair Professor of Textile

Technology, SFT

Alternate Chairman: Ir Prof. K.C. CHAN, Chair Professor of

Manufacturing Engineering, ISE

Members: (a) One academic staff member, at Associate Professor level or above, to be appointed by rotation from a list of staff members elected by and from each

of the Faculties/Academic Units not affiliated with the Faculties\*. He shall be from a Faculty/Academic Unit not affiliated with the Faculties different

from those of the Chairman and the alternate Chairman.

<u>Order</u>	<u>Name</u>	Post, Department, Faculty/Academic Unit
1.	Prof. Sandy TO	Professor, ISE, FENG
2.	Prof. Anne	Associate Professor, ENGL, FH
	SCHLUTER	
3.	Prof. Yanping TU	Associate Professor, MM, FB
4.	Prof. Alice H. Y. HON	Associate Professor, SHTM
5.	Prof. Janelle YORKE	Chair Professor of Nursing, SN, FHSS
6.	Prof. OH Jae-eun	Associate Professor, SD
7.	Prof. Zhen-yu YIN	Professor, CEE, FCE
8.	Prof. Gang LI	Chair Professor of Energy Conversion
		Technology, EEE, FENG(2)
9.	Prof. Simon M.Y. LEE	Chair Professor of Biomedical Sciences,
		FSN, FS
10.	Prof. Raymond Nung-	Associate Professor, AMA, FCMS
	Sing SZE	
11.	Prof. Qing PEI	Associate Professor, LSGI, FCE(2)
12.	Prof. Chishen WEI	Associate Professor, AF, FB(2)
13.	Prof. Dezheng FENG	Associate Professor, ENGL, FH(2)
14.	Prof. Xet WANG	Chair Professor of Fiber Science and
		Technology, SFT
15.	Prof. Judy Yuen-man SIU	Associate Professor, APSS, FHSS(2)

(b) One non-academic staff member, at Band 7 (under the Compensation and Benefit Model for Staff Members remunerated under New Terms)/Administrative Officer and equivalent or above level, to be appointed by rotation from a list of staff members elected by and from each of the non-academic departments/units.

<u>Order</u>	<u>Name</u>	Post, Department
1.	Dr CHENG Chi Ho	Section Head (Careers and Placement),
	Kelvin	SAO
2.	Mr Gary HO	Engineering Manager, IC
3.	Ms Berry YUEN	Assistant Registrar, AR
4.	Ms Miranda CHOY	Senior Manager, GEO
5.	Ms CHAN Wai Ching	Senior Executive Officer, PAIR
	Florence	
6.	Ms YU Hoi Yan	Assistant Director of Health and Safety,
		HSO
7.	Ms Miranda LEUNG	Manager, ITS
8.	Ms Monica CHEN	Project Manager, CDO
9.	Ms Lucille LI	Senior Executive Officer, KTEO
10.	Ms CHOI L.L.	Senior Executive Officer, UHS
11.	Ms Anna SETO	Senior Manager, IPAO

12.	Dr Kai Pan MARK	Senior Educational Development Manager, EDC
13.	Ms Sandra TO	Interim Director of Culture Promotion and Events, CPEO
14.	Mr Bowie CHAN	Senior Human Resources Manager, HRO
15.	Ms Jan KWOK Ka Man	Assistant Director of Campus Facilities and Sustainability, CFSO
16.	Mr Victor P. ZHAO	Associate Director, RIO
17.	Ms Janice H.W. CHAN	Senior Manager, Communications and Public Affairs, CPA
18.	Mr Robert VOYLE	Executive Director, ASRC
19.	Mr Daniel LAM	Senior Finance Manager, FO
20.	Ms Linda CHAN	Senior Executive Officer, OUS
21.	Ms Maewoon Diana LIU	Director of Alumni Affairs, AAO [left PolyU]
22.	Miss Gladys TAM	Senior Assistant Librarian, LIB

(c) One member to be appointed by rotation from a list of six staff members nominated by The Hong Kong Polytechnic University Staff Association (PUSA) and the said member will sit on the Committee as an independent staff member.

<u>Order</u>	<u>Name</u>	Post, Department
1.	Dr CHEUNG Hiu-dan	Lecturer, BEEE
2.	Dr CHU W.C. Rodney	Senior Lecturer, APSS
3.	Mr Peter LO	Technical Officer, AMA [left PolyU]
4.	Dr Kai Pan MARK	Senior Educational Development Manager,
		EDC
5.	Dr YAM Kong	Senior Lecturer, APSS
6.	Ms Y.M. YEUNG	Assistant Marketing Manager, BRE

(d) One member from outside the University appointed by the Chairman of the Committee in consultation with the other three members. This member shall serve only for the duration of the particular case for which he is co-opted.

Secretary: Director of Human Resources or his delegate. The Secretary shall not be a member of the Committee.

Mr Regan S. HUI, Assistant Director of Human Resources, HRO

## Notes

- 1. The term of office for Chairmanship shall be for a period of two years. (Current term of office: 1 July 2024 to 30 June 2026)
- 2. The Human Resources Office shall maintain two standing lists of staff representatives, one being a list of academic staff from the Faculties/Academic Units not affiliated with the Faculties\*, and another list of non-academic staff from non-academic departments/units as potential members of the Committee under category (a) and (b) above respectively. The list of academic staff representatives shall comprise two academic staff members elected from each of the Faculties and one academic staff member elected from each of the Academic Units not affiliated with the Faculties\*. The list of non-academic staff representatives shall comprise one non-academic staff member elected from each of the non-academic departments/units. The two lists of staff representatives will be arranged in an order as determined by the drawing of lots officiated by the Director of Human Resources and the Secretary of the Committee.
- 3. The names on the list shall be valid for a period of two years. (Current term of office: 1 July 2024 to 30 June 2026). Serving members will be eligible to stand for re-election. A person shall only serve in one capacity on the Committee.
- \* Academic Units not affiliated with the Faculties are currently the School of Design, School of Hotel and Tourism Management and School of Fashion and Textiles.

Information as of 14 April 2025