Head's Message

As one of the founding departments of The Hong Kong Polytechnic University since 1937, the Department of Mechanical Engineering has been the forerunner of the vast evolvement of its field. Over the years the Department has pioneered the rapid development in new energy system, transportation, health and biomedical systems and environment improvement.
The Department is determined to train future leaders, with creativity, broad vision, global outlook, and professional ethics for industry, academia, government and communities, who have sound knowledge in mechanical engineering with effective communication, analytical, and problem-solving skills.  Also, we are dedicated to creating knowledge and technologies through fundamental research and its applications in mechanical engineering. Research projects and themes that are diversified and indepth in content are the most noteworthy characteristics of our five research centres. We aim at research efforts that could provide solutions towards a better living for the human race.
The Department is proud for its international focus and actively encourages collaborations with overseas institutions. To foster international collaboration, the Department has been very active in inviting internationally renowned academic figures to participate as guest lecturers and in organizing international conferences. In addition, the Department facilitates international exchange programmes for students at all levels through a strong network with various partner institutions all over the world and provides a platform for students to acquire global horizons and invaluable experiences in their university lives.
It is thrilled to note that the University has been ranked the 42nd in the discipline of Mechanical, Aeronautical and Manufacturing Engineering in The Quacquarelli Symonds (QS) World University Rankings 2014 and the 18th in the subject of Mechanical Engineering in The National Taiwan University Ranking for world universities 2014. This is an impressive testament to the Department’s contributions and sustained efforts nationally and internationally.
Hope you find this website informative about our programmes, research activities, news about our members and students and upcoming events.
 
SQ Shi (Prof.)
Interim Head
Department of Mechanical Engineering

 

As one of the founding departments of The Hong Kong Polytechnic University since 1937, the Department of Mechanical Engineering has been the forerunner of the vast evolvement of its field. Over the years the Department has pioneered the rapid development in new energy system, transportation, health and biomedical systems and environment improvement.

The Department is determined to train future leaders, with creativity, broad vision, global outlook, and professional ethics for industry, academia, government and communities, who have sound knowledge in mechanical engineering with effective communication, analytical, and problem-solving skills.  Also, we are dedicated to creating knowledge and technologies through fundamental research and its applications in mechanical engineering. Research projects and themes that are diversified and indepth in content are the most noteworthy characteristics of our five research centres. We aim at research efforts that could provide solutions towards a better living for the human race.

The Department is proud for its international focus and actively encourages collaborations with overseas institutions. To foster international collaboration, the Department has been very active in inviting internationally renowned academic figures to participate as guest lecturers and in organizing international conferences. In addition, the Department facilitates international exchange programmes for students at all levels through a strong network with various partner institutions all over the world and provides a platform for students to acquire global horizons and invaluable experiences in their university lives.

It is thrilled to note that the University has been ranked the 42nd in the discipline of Mechanical, Aeronautical and Manufacturing Engineering in The Quacquarelli Symonds (QS) World University Rankings 2014 and the 18th in the subject of Mechanical Engineering in The National Taiwan University Ranking for world universities 2014. This is an impressive testament to the Department’s contributions and sustained efforts nationally and internationally.

Hope you find this website informative about our programmes, research activities, news about our members and students and upcoming events.

 

SQ Shi (Prof.)

Head

Department of Mechanical Engineering

系主任歡迎辭

作為香港理工大學的創校學系之一,機械工程學系一直以來努力成為機械工程相關領域發展的先鋒。近年,機械工程領域積極推動新科技的發展,例如創新的能源系統、交通、健康和生物醫療系統以及環保等。
 
學系致力為業界、學術界、政府和社會培育充滿創意、高瞻遠矚、具國際視野和專業操守的未來領袖,使其具備機械工程全面知識及良好溝通、分析和解決問題的能力。此外,我們通過機械工程基礎研究及應用,配合社會需求,創造知識和技術。學系共有五個主要的研究領域,廣泛而透徹的研究方案和主題是學系研究領域的最大特點,希望可以透過全面的研究工作,從而可以改善人類的生活質素。
 
機械工程學系一向重視與國際伙伴的交流和合作,經常邀請國際知名的學者作客席授課並組織國際會議。學系亦多次將科研成果發表在多份廣受學界認同的國際頂尖刊物上。此外, 為擴闊學生的視野,學系積極與不同地區的大學攜手合作,為學生提供免費交換生計劃,讓他們能有更加多的機會到世界各地交流,從而增廣見聞並加強他們對機械工程的認識。
 
理大在「2014年QS世界大學分科排行榜」機械、航空及製造工程的分科排名第42位。另外,在「國立台灣大學報告2014」排名第18位,成績相當理想。獲此佳績實有賴全體成員的貢獻和努力,亦正好反映學系過去多年在提供優質教育方面的成績得到廣泛認同。
 
歡迎你到訪本網站。本網站為你提供有關本學系課程、研究活動、教師、學生、研討會及活動等多方面的資訊。
 
石三強教授
暫任系主任
機械工程學系

作為香港理工大學的創校學系之一,機械工程學系一直以來努力成為機械工程相關領域發展的先鋒。近年,機械工程領域積極推動新科技的發展,例如創新的能源系統、交通、健康和生物醫療系統以及環保等。

學系致力為業界、學術界、政府和社會培育充滿創意、高瞻遠矚、具國際視野和專業操守的未來領袖,使其具備機械工程全面知識及良好溝通、分析和解決問題的能力。此外,我們通過機械工程基礎研究及應用,配合社會需求,創造知識和技術。學系共有五個主要的研究領域,廣泛而透徹的研究方案和主題是學系研究領域的最大特點,希望可以透過全面的研究工作,從而可以改善人類的生活質素。

機械工程學系一向重視與國際夥伴的交流和合作,經常邀請國際知名的學者作客席授課並組織國際會議。此外, 為擴闊學生的視野,學系積極與不同地區的大學攜手合作,為學生提供免費交換生計劃,讓他們能有更加多的機會到世界各地交流,從而增廣見聞並加強他們對機械工程的認識。

理大在「2014年QS世界大學分科排行榜」機械、航空及製造工程的分科排名第42位。另外,在「2014國立台灣大學世界大學排名」機械工程分科排名第18位,成績相當理想。獲此佳績實有賴全體成員的貢獻和努力,亦正好反映學系過去多年在提供優質教育方面的成績得到廣泛認同。

歡迎你到訪本網站。本網站為你提供有關本學系課程、研究活動、教師、學生、研討會及活動等多方面的資訊。

 

石三強教授

系主任

機械工程學系