News and Events


Seminar - Purification of single-walled carbon nanotubes using thermocapillary flow by Prof. Jizhou Song
日期:2017 年 01 月 24 日 ( 星期二)
Time:11:00 am – 12:00 pm


Among the remarkable variety of semiconducting nanomaterials that have been discovered over the past two decades, the collective properties of single-walled carbon nanotubes (SWNTs) continue to make them uniquely well suited for diverse applications in high performance electronics, sensors and other device technologies. The most advanced opportunities, however, demand perfectly aligned, horizontal arrays of purely semiconducting SWNTs, in chemically pristine forms. Here, we present strategies that enable this outcome, using nanoscale thermocapillary flows in thin film organic coatings as a means for highly efficient and selective removal of metallic SWNTs from arrays grown by chemical vapor deposition on quartz substrates. The low temperatures and unusual physics associated with this process provide robust, scalable operation, with potential for practical use. Detailed experimental and theoretical studies reveal all of the essential attributes of the underlying thermophysical phenomena.


Prof. Song is a professor of Department of Engineering Mechanics at Zhejiang University, China. He received his B.S. and M.E. degrees from University of Science and Technology of China in 2001 and 2004, and Ph.D. degree from University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 2007. He worked as an assistant professor at University of Miami before joining Zhejiang University in 2013. His current research interests include mechanics of thin film and stretchable electronics, nano-mechanics and thermo-mechanical behavior of materials. He has published over 80 peer-reviewed journal papers and received many awards including the Provost Award from University of Miami (2009, 2010, 2012), the Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award from Oak Ridge Associated Universities (2010), the Outstanding Young Scholar Award from Qiu Shi Science & Technologies Foundation (2014), The National Science Fund for Excellent Young Scholars (2016).