News and Events

Student News

ME teams wins 1st Runner-up in 2017 Taiwan UAV competition

Students from the Department of Mechanical Engineering (ME), The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU) have made a notable achievement in the 2017 Taiwan Innovative Unmanned Aircraft Design Competition by taking home the First Runner-up Prize Cup (Navigated Flight Category).

Organized by Aeronautical and Astronautical Society of the Republic of China and National Cheung Kung University (NCKU), the Taiwan Innovative UAV Design competition held on 25 and 26 March 2017 has drawn the participation of more than 100 teams from universities and institutes. It covers six categories in total: Navigated Flight, Creativity, Multi-rotors, Flapping-wing Vehicle, Flight Performance and Flight Vehicle Design. The student teams from ME and AAE were led by Professor Wen Chih-yung, Ir. Dr. Curtis Ng and Dr. Liu Peng.

The navigated flight winning team “PolyU-Orbit” successfully completed the Intelligence, Surveillance and Reconnaissance (ISR) mission in a wide coverage in 40 minutes and recognized 5 out of 6 targets by applying real-time imaging processing technics developed by students. The program is based on Open-CV and Python which enable a high video processing efficiency. High resolution frames of targets with their GPS positions were reported with self-develop GUI (Graphic User Interface) based on Matlab. “PolyU-Orbit” was the only team which successfully found targets among all participation teams.

Student teams from PolyU have attended Taiwan Innovation UAV competition for 5 years and received prize in each year. As a supervisor of those teams, Prof. Wen was pleased to see that students enjoyed this competition and achieved remarkable success. He also acknowledged the Department of Mechanical Engineering and International Affair Office (IAO) for their financial sponsor and Hong Kong Model Engineering Club (HKMEC) for its facility support.

Snapshot of the competition:  

Snapshot of the competition:  


ME student names:

PhD: LI Boyang, SUN Jingxuan
MSC: XU Penghui, ZHANG Guohao
Undergraduate: CHAN Yat Sing, FUNG Chak Fai, KWOK Chun Hong


AAE student name:

Undergraduate: LUK Ka Yi