Alibaba - PolyU Big Data & Cloud Computing

The purpose of this platform is to develop collaborations to promote and develop academic collaborations which include but are not limited to the following:

  • Exchange of research and professional knowledge;
  • Visiting academic staffs and students;
  • Joint supervision of research students;
  • Joint seminar/workshop/conference;
  • Collaboration in technology development and the promotion of research outputs; and
  • Joint participation in internationally funded projects.

Brief of the Current Collaborative Areas/Projects:

[Image]

Alibaba Innovative Research (AIR)
  • Alibaba Innovative Research (AIR) is a global research program initiated by Alibaba Group, aiming at exploring innovative science and technology. To cultivate collaborations, a variety of programs are designed to provide resources and support to the academic and research communities.
    AIR Leaflet

    1. Alibaba Innovative Research (AIR)

    Several PolyU proposals are successfully selected for AIR funding since 2017.

    Please check for
     AIR programme 2020 for details

    2. Alibaba Research Fellow (ARF) - for research scholars

    3. Alibaba Research Intern (RI) - for PhD students 

    Enquiry: Ms. Karen Jiang, ITDO 

Highlights:

2016 - 2017
  • June 2016: 1st Alibaba Technology Forum on Big Data and Cloud Computing Technologies in Hong Kong @PolyU
  • August 2016: Collaborative Research Seminar held at Alibaba Hangzhou HQ for PolyU
  • September 2016: Alibaba has been a member of Departmental Advisory Committee (DAC) of the Department of Computing @PolyU since September 2016
  • April 2017: 1st Alibaba – PolyU collaborative project kicks off, which is also Alibaba 1st joint project with University outside mainland China
  • August - October 2017: ITDO coordinates Alibaba Innovation Program call for proposal, and technology match-making meeting with faculty members
  • October 2017: Alibaba VP Dr. Hua Xianshen public lecture at PolyU
[Image]   [Image]  
[Image]   [Image]  
2018 - 2019
  • April 2018: Professor Alex Wai, Vice President (Research Development) of PolyU led the team from the Faculty of Engineering and the Innovation and Technology Development Office to have in-depth discussion with Mr. Zhang Jianfeng, Chief Technology Officer of Alibaba for more high-impact collaborations. 
  • April 2018: At Alibaba Annual Research Collaboration Summit, Professor Cao Jiannong, Chair Professor of Department of Computing gave a keynote speech on Smart Internet of Things.  Professor Zhang Lei, the Chair Professor & Associate Head of Department of Computing, was presented with The Best Partner Award in Alibaba-Academic Collaboration at the Summit, with technology successfully applied in Alibaba “City Brain” Initiatives.
  • September 2018: At Alibaba's Computing Conference 2018 held at Hanzhou, Professor Zhang Lei, the Chair Professor of Computer Vision and Image Analysis of Department of Computing, delivered a speech and shared his views on deep learning and a PID controller approach for optimization of deep networks.
  • November 2018: MoU Signing Ceremony between PolyU - Alibaba Cloud on Artificial Intelligence Collaboration
    PolyU and Alibaba Cloud signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU)to strengthen their cooperation in Artificial Intelligence research, particularly focusing on the areas of smart cities and smart healthcare. The two parties hope to translate research findings into real applications which can be initially adopted in Hong Kong as a pilot and then rolled out to the rest of the Greater Bay Area and other overseas cities.

[Image]   [Image]
[Image]   [Image]
[Image]

2020
  • January 2020: PolyU students leverage industry experience and shine at AI challenge

Huawei – PolyU Communication & Advanced Computing

[Image]   
PolyU's collaboration with Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd. (Huawei) has commenced since 2007. The research areas include but not limited to communication, big data, crowdsourcing platforms, mobile networks, wearable devices, algorithms as well as materials. Numerous collaborative projects involved joint efforts from Huawei and different PolyU academic and research experts, including Department of Electronic and Information Engineering, Department of Electrical Engineering, Department of Computing, Interdisciplinary Division of Biomedical Engineering, Department of Applied Mathematics and Department of Applied Physics. Collaborative research seminar & workshop series is organized annually at PolyU to explore the respective strategic collaborations between PolyU and Huawei.

Huawei Innovation Research Program (HIRP)

[Image]
Huawei Innovation Research Program (HIRP) is an innovation initiative, a sponsorship program targeted at funding leading universities and research institutes conducting innovative research in ICT areas. It seeks to identify and support world-class, full-time faculty members, sets up win-win collaboration and pursues technology innovation of mutual interest. It has been launched for over 12 years and more than 700 innovative research projects from hundreds of world-class research organizations were awarded.

The HIRP 2020 call for proposal will be announced soon. The main fields include but not limited to the below:

  • Advanced Semiconductor Technology
  • Compiler & Programming Language
  • BlockChain
  • Software Engineering
  • Operation System
  • Engineering Technology
  • Data Management and Process
  • Wireless Communication Technology
  • Future Networks
  • Optical Technology Computing Technology
  • BigData & Artificial Intelligence
  • Media Technology
  • Storage Technology


Please visit HIRP website for more details. 

Enquiries: Victor Zhao [Image: Email] 3400 2862  [Image: Email]  victor.zhao@polyu.edu.hk or Steven Lam [Image: Email]  3400 2864 [Image: Email]  steven.tf.lam@polyu.edu.hk

PolyU-Huawei Joint Laboratory for Optical Interconnection Network and Advanced Computing System

PolyU and Huawei's partnership is further fostered through the set-up of "PolyU-Huawei Joint Laboratory for Optical Interconnection Network and Advanced Computing System" (Joint Lab) on 30th Nov 2016. Both will work on researches relating to high-capacity optical communication systems including long-haul and short-reach data center transmission systems, computer networks and systems, and big data computing. It aims to pioneer the research in the field of optical communication systems and advanced computing systems by leveraging synergy of the industry and the university. It targets at bolstering significantly the capacity of internet systems through technological breakthroughs, as well as developing system infrastructure and algorithmic solutions for computing-driven innovation.

Through close collaboration, PolyU and Huawei will be able to further develop high-impact translational research and next-generation technological advances in the telecommunications and advanced computing industry.

[Image] [Image]
[Image] [Image]
[Image]

Please visit to explore opportunity for collaborative research or tell us your idea if you are interested in any collaborative research program or faculty exchange opportunity.

阿里巴巴 - 理大 大数据与云计算

阿里巴巴 - 理大 大数据与云计算平台旨在推动和发展学术合作,其中包括但不限于以下范畴:

  • 研究和专业知识交流;
  • 学术人员和学生访问团;
  • 联合督导研究生;
  • 合办研讨会/工作坊/会议;
  • 技术发展合作和促进研究成果; 及
  • 共同参与国际资助项目。

近期合作领域/项目概览:

[Image]

阿里巴巴创新研究项目(Alibaba Innovative Research, AIR)
  • 阿里巴巴创新研究项目(AIR) 是阿里巴巴集团为探索创新科技而设立的全球性科研项目。项目复盖不同项目,是与全球顶尖高校/研究机构学者之间协同创新的桥梁,提供资源和支持以促进合作。
    AIR

    1. 阿里巴巴创新研究项目(AIR)


    理大自2017年起有不少项目获得了AIR资助。在AIR 2020项目中,由理大应用数学系和护理学院的研究团队牵头的一项模拟2019冠状病毒病大流行的合作研究项目得到了阿里巴巴的资助。

    请点击查询  AIR 2020 详情

    2. 阿里巴巴访问学者项目 (ARF) - 全职学者/研究人员

    3. 阿里巴巴研究型实习生项目 (RI) - 博士生 

    查询: Ms. Karen Jiang, ITDO 

资讯亮点:

2016 - 2017
  • 2016 年 6 月:阿里巴巴技术论坛|云计算与大数据专场@理工大学
  • 2016 年 8 月:于阿里巴巴杭州总部为理大举行合作研讨会
  • 2016 年 9 月:阿里巴巴自 2016 年 9 月起成为理大电子计算学系之学系顾问委员会成员
  • 2017 年 4 月:阿里巴巴 – 理大首个合作项目展开,亦是阿里巴巴首个与内地以外的大学合作项目
  • 2017 年 8 月至 10 月:ITDO 协助阿里巴巴创新计划徵集提案,与学系人员进行技术对接会
  • 2017 年 10 月:阿里巴巴 iDST 副院长华先胜博士于理工大学举行公开讲座
[Image]   [Image]  
[Image]   [Image]  
2018 - 2019
  • 2018 年 4 月:理大副校长 (科研发展) 衞炳江教授早前率领工程学院及创新及科技发展处代表于阿里巴巴杭州总部与阿里巴巴集团首席技术官张建锋先生会面,讨论多方面的研究合作。
  • 2018 年 4 月:理大电子计算学系讲座教授曹建农教授获邀在2018阿里巴巴学术合作峰会上作主题演讲。理大电子计算学系副系主任兼讲座教授张磊教授获颁「阿里巴巴学术合作 最佳合作伙伴奖」,其研究技术在阿里巴巴「城市大脑」计划中成功应用。
  • 2018 年 9 月:在阿里巴巴2018杭州云栖大会上,理大电子计算学系计算机视觉与图像分析讲座教授张磊获邀在城市大脑峰会中演讲有关深度学习的个人浅见及一种PID高效网络优化算法。
  • 2018年11月:理大与阿里云人工智能研究合作备忘录签署仪式
    理大与阿里云签署合作备忘录,加强双方在人工智能研究上的合作,特别是推动智慧城巿和智慧医疗的发展,期望通过将研究成果首先应用在香港,再推广至粤港澳大湾区及海外城市。

[Image]   [Image]
[Image]   [Image]
[Image]

2020
  • 2020年1月: 理大电子计算学系博士生团队运用业界经验 扬威人工智能大赛
  • 2020年3月:由理大应用数学系和护理学院的研究团队牵头的一项模拟2019冠状病毒病大流行的合作研究项目得到了阿里巴巴的资助。
    详情请点击此处浏览

华为 - 理大 通讯及先进计算系统

[Image]   
理大与华为技术有限公司(华为)于科研发展上的合作始于2007年,涵盖不同范畴的技术,包括通讯、大数据、群众外包平台、行动网络、可携式装置、演算法物料等。由华为与理大多个学术研究单位(包括电子及资讯工程学系、电机工程学系、电子计算学系、生物医学工程跨领域学部、应用数学系及应用物理学系)开展合作研究项目。每年更举行一系列相关研讨会及讲座以拓展双方的策略性合作。

华为创新研究计划 (HIRP)

[Image]
华为创新研究计划(Huawei Innovation Research Program,简称HIRP)通过与学术界的开放式创新合作,以体现高影响力的技术创新突破。计划通过资助大学和科研机构的科研项目,旨在用创新来推动信息和通信技术领域的发展。自2006年来,计划已向来自数百间世界级科研机构资助了超过700个创新科研项目。

HIRP 2020项目召集详情即将公佈。 主要的技术领域如下:

  • 先进半导体技术
  • 编译器和编程语言
  • 区块链
  • 软件工程
  • 操作系统
  • 工程技术
  • 数据管理和处理
  • 无线通信技术
  • 未来网络
  • 光学计算技术
  • 大数据和人工智能
  • 媒体技术
  • 存储技术


详情请浏览HIRP 网页

查询:Victor Zhao [Image: Email] 3400 2862  [Image: Email]  victor.zhao@polyu.edu.hk or Steven Lam [Image: Email]  3400 2864 [Image: Email]  steven.tf.lam@polyu.edu.hk

理大 ─ 华为先进计算系统与网络光互连联合实验室

理大与华为的伙伴合作关係藉 2016 年 11 月 30 日「理大 ─ 华为先进计算系统与网络光互连联合实验室」的设立而进一步提昇。理大及华为藉着成立联合实验室主力研究与高传输容量的光通讯系统相关的项目,其中包括长途和短距离数据传输系统'计算机网络和系统,及大数据计算。通过大学专家及业界的协同合作,该联合实验室将显着地提高互联网系统的能力,研发系统基础建设及解决方案,带领先进计算系统与光通讯领域的研发。

理大将继续与华为紧密合作,于先进计算及通讯领域中,研发崭新科技进行具高影响力的转化研究,推进科研发展与应用。

[Image] [Image]
[Image] [Image]
[Image]

欢迎按此浏览更多合作研究机会,或联络我们,了解更多研究项目或跨学系合作机会。