PolyU Food Safety Consortium becomes the first and only Codex Observer as non-governmental organisation in Hong Kong and Mainland China

Date:02 Jul 2020
Content:

The Food Safety Consortium (FSC) hosted at The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU) is delighted to have become an Observer at the Codex Alimentarius Commission (Codex), a body established by the Food and Agriculture Organisation of the United Nations (FAO) and World Health Organisation (WHO) to develop food standards under the Joint FAO/WHO Food Standards Programme.

FSC is the first and only non-governmental organisation in Hong Kong and Mainland China to have been admitted as a Codex Observer. The Codex Observer status creates a unique opportunity and a significant step forward for FSC to participate in this pre-eminent international food standards-setting body that protects the health of consumers and ensures fair practices in food trade through contributing to international standards, guidelines and codes of practice.


(In the middle) Mr Tom Heilandt, Codex Secretary, gives a lecture on “Codex Alimentarius – Protecting Health, Facilitating Trade” at PolyU.


(From left) Mr Yves Rey, FSC Advisory Board Member and former Corporate Quality General Manager at Danone Group; Mr Guilherme Costa, Chairperson of Codex Alimentarius Commission; Dr Terence Lau, Convener of Food Safety Consortium, PolyU; and Mr Frank Yiannas, Deputy Commissioner for Food Policy and Response - Food and Drug Administration at the first World Food Safety Day at the United Nations Headquarters in New York City

“As the leading institution on food safety and quality in Hong Kong, with a voice in the Codex standard-setting process, FSC is set to make an impactful contribution in tackling world food safety issues and PolyU is proud to host FSC,” said Professor Alexander WAI, Deputy President and Provost of PolyU. “FSC will continue to bring about synergistic collaborations among the supranational body, government, industry and academia.”

Since its establishment in 2015, FSC has been devoted to addressing food safety needs through innovation & technology development, and its conception reflects PolyU’s determination and commitment to advancing global food safety. FSC comprises over 60 members from academia, industry and related organisations, plus a global network striving to tackle food safety challenges with cutting-edge and applied technologies, and timely in-depth communications on food safety related matters.

Dr Terence LAU, Convener of FSC and Interim Associate Vice President (Innovation and Technology Development) of PolyU, remarked, “We support the view that food safety is a shared global responsibility. It is only through continuous exchanges and collaboration that we can jointly tackle food safety challenges around the world.” He added that by being a Codex Observer, FSC could further bring the views and suggestions of its members to the attention of the wider Codex community, directly channeling its views during Codex’s standard formulation process, and invigorating exchanges at all levels. “Through FSC Committee Meetings, seminars and gatherings with members and industry stakeholders, it is expected that FCS members can gain greater access to scientific advice and cutting-edge expertise through this global network, and thus more effectively work towards a safer global food supply chain for improved public health,” said Dr LAU.

Codex has set standards for nearly 200 food products and established over 120 guidelines and codes of practice on a vast range of issues linked to food safety, quality and trade. It has also set thousands of food additive limits as well as pesticide and veterinary drug Maximum Residue Limits since its establishment in 1963.

Mr Tom HEILANDT, Codex Secretary, stated, “Codex values collaboration, inclusiveness, consensus building and transparency. Governmental and non-governmental, public and private organisations play a vital role in ensuring Codex texts are of the highest quality and based on sound science. We are excited that FSC is bringing on board their expertise, working closely with us to open up a new page for global food safety.” 

As a Codex Observer, FSC can interact more directly with committees and working groups at the Codex Alimentarius Commission. “FSC has been providing the industry a great platform to connect and engage with different stakeholders. Being an Observer of Codex will truly open up our connections and participation towards global standards setting, an unprecedented opportunity for public-private partnership,” commented Mr Yves REY, FSC Advisory Board Member and former Corporate Quality General Manager at Danone Group. 

About the Codex Alimentarius
The Codex Alimentarius, or “Food Code”, is a collection of internationally adopted food standards, guidelines and codes of practice presented in a uniform manner. These food standards and related texts aim at protecting consumer health and ensuring fair practices in the food trade.

Over time, the Codex system has evolved into an open, transparent and inclusive way to meet emerging food safety related challenges. Codex includes standards for all the principal foods, whether processed, semi-processed or raw, for distribution to the consumer. It includes provisions in respect of food hygiene, food additives, residues of pesticides and veterinary drugs, contaminants, labelling and presentation, methods of analysis and sampling, and import and export inspection and certification. 

For more information about Codex Alimentarius, please visit the website: http://www.fao.org/fao-who-codexalimentarius/home/en/

About the Food Safety Consortium
The FSC was launched by PolyU in 2015 to address food safety needs through innovation and to advance global food safety. FSC has developed an industry-academia network to provide support to the food industry with advanced technology and science, and to enhance food safety capability and competence through academic and industrial collaborations, international conferences and exchanges. FSC is also the Hong Kong Affiliate of the International Association for Food Protection. With continuous support from food stakeholders, FSC will contribute its expertise and recommendations to advance food safety and quality standards worldwide.

For more information about PolyU’s Food Safety Consortium, please visit the website: https://www.polyu.edu.hk/itdo/fsc/en/index/Food-Safety

About The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
While boasting a proud history of over 80 years, PolyU is a vibrant and aspiring university with a forward-looking vision and mission. Committed to building a talent pipeline and research strength for advancing the development of Hong Kong, the Nation and the world, PolyU provides the best holistic education to nurture future-ready global citizens and socially responsible leaders, conducts high-impact interdisciplinary research, and proactively transfers knowledge to create value and build impact.  We embrace internationalisation and engage the Nation for education and research through strategic partnerships and collaborations.

With “Opening Minds. Shaping the Future” as our brand promise, the University is currently offering more than 160 taught programmes in six faculties and two schools, engaging in 3,200 exciting research projects, and collaborating with over 660 institutions overseas and in the Chinese mainland on a wide variety of initiatives. We have over 400,000 alumni around the globe and currently 28,000 students.

PolyU website: https://www.polyu.edu.hk/en/

Media Contact
Dr Terence Lau
Convener of Food Safety Consortium, Interim Associate Vice President (Innovation and Technology Development)
Tel: (852) 3400 2806
Email: terence.lt.lau@polyu.edu.hk

Ms Sharon Yu
Communications and Public Affairs Office
Tel: (852) 2766 5103
Email: sharon.yu@polyu.edu.hk

Please click here to view the press release

理大食品安全聯盟成為香港及內地首個食品法典委員會非政府組織觀察員

日期:2020年7月2日
内容:

香港理工大學 (理大) 成立的食品安全聯盟 (Food Safety Consortium)近日獲委任為食品法典委員會 (Codex Alimetarius Commission)的觀察員。食品法典委員會是聯合國糧食及農業組織及世界衛生組織轄下的國際食品標準制定機構。

食品安全聯盟是香港和中國內地首個及目前唯一一個非政府組織獲任為食品法典委員會觀察員,可參與並就國際食品標準制定提出意見。食品法典委員會制定國際標準、指南和操作守則,以至保護消費者的健康並確保公平食品貿易,成為食品法典委員會觀察員標誌著食品安全聯盟在推進食品安全上邁出重要的一步。


食品法典委員會秘書長Tom Heilandt先生 (中)以「食品法典 - 保護健康,促進貿易」為題在理大舉行講座。


(左起)食品安全聯盟顧問委員會成員Yves Rey先生、食品法典委員會主席Guilherme Costa先生、理大食品安全聯盟召集人劉樂庭博士,以及美國食品藥品監督管理局食品政策與應對措施副局長Frank Yiannas先生在紐約聯合國總部舉行的首屆「世界食品安全日」交流。

理大常務及學務副校長衞炳江教授表示:「我們很榮幸理大的食品安全聯盟作為香港領先的食品安全及質量機構,於制定國際食品標準的過程中提供意見,為解決世界食品安全問題作出貢獻。食品安全聯盟將會繼續促進超國家機構與政府、業界和學術界之間的合作,提升協同效應。」

食品安全聯盟自2015年成立以來,一直致力通過創新科技解決食品安全方面的需求,彰顯理大在推動全球食品安全方面的決心和承諾。食品安全聯盟現有60多名會員,分別來自學術界、業界及其他組織,藉著其全球網絡,通過研發和應用尖端的科技應對食品安全的挑戰,且適時與各持份者作深入溝通,探討食品安全相關的問題及解決方案。

食品安全聯盟召集人理大暫任協理副校長(創新及技術發展) 劉樂庭博士表示:「我們認為食品安全是全球共同承擔的責任,只有通過不斷交流和共享訊息,才能共同應對世界各地的食品安全挑戰。成為食品法典委員會的觀察員,意味著食品安全聯盟可以進一步將其成員的專業意見和建議提請到國際平台上,在食品法典委員會制定標準的過程中直接表達意見,促進各方的交流。」劉樂庭博士續稱:「通過食品安全聯盟委員會會議、研討會和聚會 ,我們定期與公司成員和業界持份者交流,讓他們藉著食品安全聯盟的全球網絡,獲得更多尖端科技的知識及建議,從而建立更安全的全球食品供應鏈,共同為大眾健康福祉而努力。」

自1963年成立以來,食品法典委員會已為大約200種食品制定標準,並在食品安全、質量和貿易相關的議題上制定120多種指南和操作守則,亦設定了數千種食品添加劑以及農藥和獸藥的最高殘留量標準。

食品法典委員會秘書長Tom Heilandt先生表示:「食品法典委員會的核心價值是加強協商、包容性、透明度和建立共識。為確保食品法典的內容維持高水平,並以科學為基礎,政府、非政府機構、公共及私營機構扮演著關鍵的角色。我們很高興理大利用其專業知識,與食品法典委員會並肩為世界食品安全開闢新的一頁。」

作為食品法典委員會的觀察員,食品安全聯盟可以更直接地與委員會和工作小組在制定食品標準過程中進行交流。食品安全聯盟顧問委員會成員以及達能集團前企業質量總經理Yves Rey先生表示:「食品安全聯盟一直為業界提供一個絕佳的平台,聯繫不同的持份者並促進互動。 隨著食品安全聯盟成為食品法典委員會觀察員,將加強我們在全球標準制定方面的聯繫與參與,是公營及私營機構合作的新機遇。」

關於食品法典
食品法典集合國際公認、統 一的食品標準、指南和操作守則。這些食品標準和相關文本旨在保護消費者的健康並確保公平食品貿易。

食品法典系統一直以開放、透明和包容的方式發展,以應對新的挑戰。食品法典涵蓋所有主要食品的標準,包括加工、半加工或天然食品,以供消費者查閱。食品法典同時包含食品衛生,食品添加劑、農藥和獸藥殘留、污染物,標籤和介紹、分析和採樣方法以及進出口檢驗和認證的規定等範疇。

有關食品法典的更多資訊,請參閱網站:http://www.fao.org/fao-who-codexalimentarius/home/zh/

關於食品安全聯盟
食品安全聯盟由香港理工大學(理大)於2015年正式成立,通過創新科技解決食品安全的需求及推動全球食品安全。食品安全聯盟積極建立業界與學術界之間的網絡,以創新科技為業界提供支持,並通過學術與產業之間的研發合作、大型國際會議和交流等方式提高整體食品安全的能力和競爭力。食品安全聯盟亦是國際食品保護協會(IAFP)的香港分會,該協會在保護全球糧食供應方面擁有百多年歷史。在各食品持份者繼續支持下,食品安全聯盟將全力貢獻其專業知識和建議,以提高全球食品安全質量標準。

有關食品安全聯盟的更多資訊,請參閱網站:https://www.polyu.edu.hk/itdo/fsc/tc/index/home

有關香港理工大學
香港理工大學(理大)有逾八十年的輝煌歷史,是一所活力充沛、抱負遠大、具前瞻性願景的大學。理大致力培育人才、拓展科研實力,矢志為香港、國家及世界發展作出貢獻。理大提供最優質的全人教育,栽培敢於面對未來挑戰的世界公民和懷抱社會責任的領袖,開展富有深遠影響的跨學科研究,並積極轉移知識以創造價值、造福世界。透過建立策略夥伴關係和合作計劃,理大落實教學及科研國際化,並與國家的發展接軌。

理大以「啟迪思維 • 成就未來」作為教研承諾。透過屬下八個學院,理大目前開辦一百六十多個課程、參與三千二百多項研究,並與超過六百六十家內地和海外院校攜手推出不同類型的項目。理大逾四十萬名校友遍布全球,現時就讀學生人數達二萬八千人。

有關理大詳情,請瀏覽以下綱頁:www.polyu.edu.hk

傳媒聯絡
劉樂庭博士
食品安全聯盟召集人、理大暫任協理副校長(創新及技術發展)
電話:(852) 3400 2806
電郵:terence.lt.lau@polyu.edu.hk

余潔凝女士
理大傳訊及公共事務處
電話:(852) 2766 5103
電郵:sharon.yu@polyu.edu.hk

按此瀏覽新聞稿