The power of technology: a world-class most comprehensive rapid, automated multiplex diagnostic system to identify up to 40 infectious respiratory pathogens (including COVID-19) in a single test within 1 hour has been developed by PolyU

Date:11 Feb 2020
Content:


The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU) announced the development of the world's most comprehensive automated multiplex diagnostic system (the System) on 11th Feb 2020, which includes a fully automated machine and a multiplex full-screening panel for the point-of-care genetic testing (POCT) of respiratory infectious disease including COVID-19. Infectious diseases represent an important portion of global public health concerns, in particular with regard to the current global outbreak of novel coronavirus (COVID-19). The challenge of frontline diagnosis in hospitals, clinics and ports is that infectious diseases could exhibit similar symptoms or can be asymptomatic.

Most Comprehensive Rapid, Automated Multiplex Diagnostic System

In one single test and within approximately one hour, the System can identify 30 to 40 pathogens including seasonal influenza viruses, such as influenza A subtypes H1, H2 and H3, avian influenza viruses H5, H7 and H9, human respiratory syncytial virus, severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus (SARS-CoV), Middle East respiratory syndrome coronavirus (MERS-CoV) and COVID-19.


Leveraging the current polymerase chain reaction (PCR) technology, the system is fully automated from sample nucleic acid extraction and amplification, to signal detection and analysis. The System adopts patent-pending microfluidic and biochemical technologies that achieve ultra-sensitive detection (down to 5 gene copies) and simultaneous differentiation of various pathogens with extremely high specificity. It is also user-friendly, with manual handling not being required throughout the testing process.

"Early and accurate detection of pathogens could contribute to effective and efficient disease control and management, and prevent spreading of any contagious pathogens. The existing challenge is that we lack full panel POCT technologies for early and on-site diagnosis, which should ideally be capable of differentiating between different pathogens at the same time," said PolyU Professor Terence Lau Lok-ting, Director of Innovation and Technology Development and Adjunct Professor at the Department of Applied Biology and Chemical Technology.


Ir. Professor Alexander Wai Ping-kong, Vice President (Research Development), Deputy President and Provost designate of PolyU said, "In this difficult and challenging time that Hong Kong, the Chinese mainland, and even the global community is encountering, it is important that the research community can quickly pool their expertise and resources to develop practical solutions. The PolyU-HKU partnership is a prime example of effective coupling of multidisciplinary innovation and translation." The research team for this project is led by PolyU Professor Terence Lau Lok-ting and supported by HKU Professor Yuen Kwok-yung. In the past year, the team has optimised the System and conducted trials on different clinical samples. In the midst of the COVID-19 outbreak, the team has also conducted tests on clinical samples using the system.

Professor Yuen commented, "The System's versatility and capability will provide for comprehensive monitoring during disease outbreaks or routine surveillance. It will become a crucial technology for ensuring the effective control of infectious diseases, medical diagnosis, and treatment."

"This fully automated, quantitative rapid diagnostic platform possesses a proprietary technology which overcomes limitations of existing technologies by ensuring sensitivity – and hence significantly enhancing the reliability of test results. Most importantly, our innovation can substantially reduce the cost of the microfluidic cartridge manufacturing thus making it feasible for wide adoption. It is ready for mass-scale production," added Professor Lau.


The research team has received indispensable support from a local biotechnology company Avalon Biomedical Management Ltd for this project. We believe this advanced point-of-care diagnostic system can revolutionize the current diagnostic paradigm and provide a powerful tool to fight against infectious diseases," said Dr Manson Fok, Chairman of the Board of the company, Executive & Trust Committee member of Macau Henry Fok Foundation and Dean of Faculty of Medicine, Macau University of Science and Technology.

Towards this end the research team will continue to urgently focus on developments to ensure the system's robustness and cost-effectiveness, and to collaborate with relevant parties on clinical trials, regulatory approvals, and frontline applications of this POCT system.

We thank you for the generous support from the community which fosters further development of the automated multiplex diagnostic system.

“The PolyU research team is going in the right direction, so please do not be put off by overtaken by ever evolving new technology. If the system (automated multiplex diagnostic system) fills a need, it deserves to be developed.”
– The Lo Family

“The novel coronavirus have impacted the global community and our daily life. As an alumnus, I hope to support the worthwhile research projects of PolyU, which brings positive changes to the world.” 
– Ms Liu Mei Chui, Applied Science and Textiles graduate (Alumnus)

Please click for photo shots

To review PolyU community’s efforts in fighting COVID-19, please visit here

見證科研實力:理大研發出全球最全面的自動快速診斷系統,同時檢測多達40種傳染性呼吸道病原體(包括新冠肺炎病毒COVID-19)

日期:2020年2月11日
内容:


香港理工大學(理大)於2020年2月11日發布一套全球最全面的全自動快速多重診斷系統(下稱「該系統」),由全自動快速檢測儀和多重微流檢測元件組成,可用於即時基因檢測(Point-of-care genetic testing, POCT),區分出引起呼吸道疾病的病原體,包括新冠肺炎病毒COVID-19。傳染病是全球公共衛生的關注重點,尤其目前新冠肺炎病毒COVID-19疫情在全球不斷擴散。但由於患有呼吸道傳染病的病人,即使其感染的病原體不同,所呈現的病徵都十分相似,甚至沒有症狀,為在醫院、診所及口岸等進行前線診斷帶來挑戰。

Most Comprehensive Rapid, Automated Multiplex Diagnostic System

該系統能夠在同一個測試中,於一小時內檢測出30-40種病原體,包括季節性流感病毒(如H1、H2和H3甲型流感)、禽流感(H5、H7和H9)、人類呼吸道合胞病毒、嚴重急性呼吸系統綜合症(即「沙士」SARS-CoV)、中東呼吸綜合症冠狀病毒(MERS-CoV)和新冠肺炎病毒COVID-19。


利用當前的聚合酶鏈反應(PCR)技術,該系統從核酸提取、擴增、檢測到分析均為全自動。其採用的微流控和生化技術正在申請專利,可實現超靈敏的檢測(最少五個基因拷貝),並能以極高的特異性同時區分各種病原體。該系統使用容易,整個測試過程毋需人手操作。

理大創新及科技發展總監和應用生物及化學科技學系客座教授劉樂庭教授表示:「及早和準確地檢測病原體能有效和快速地控制和管理疾病,同時有助防止任何傳染性病原體的傳播。我們當前的挑戰是缺乏用於早期和現場診斷的全面即時基因檢測技術,以同步區分不同的病原體。」


理大副校長(科研發展)兼候任常務及學務副校長衞炳江教授說:「在這個對香港、中國內地以至全球社會均非常艱難且充滿挑戰的時刻,研究人員可以匯集他們的專業知識及資源,以迅速地開發解決方案至為重要。理大與港大的合作夥伴關係正為有效整合跨領域創新與轉化樹立楷模。」此項目的研究團隊由理大劉樂庭教授率領,並獲港大袁國勇教授支持。過去一年,團隊對系統進行了優化,並針對不同的臨床樣本進行了試驗。在新冠肺炎病毒COVID-19疫情爆發期間,團隊亦使用該系統對新型冠狀病毒臨床樣品進行了測試。

袁教授表示: 「該系統的多功能性和檢測能力讓我們在傳染病爆發期間或進行恆常監測時作更全面的監控,此系統技術對確保有效的傳染病控制、醫療診斷以至治療等方面,將會發揮關鍵作用。」

理大劉教授補充道:「這項全自動、定量的快速診斷平台的專利技術,克服現有技術的局限,能顯著提高檢測的靈敏度,從而確保測試結果的可靠性。最重要的是,這項創新技術可以大幅降低微流控濾芯的生產成本,令其得以廣泛應用。現正蓄勢待發,準備就緒進行量產。」


此研究項目亦獲得本地一家生物科技企業鎧耀生物醫藥科技(管理)有限公司的鼎力支持。該公司董事會主席、霍英東基金會信託委員兼行政委員會醫療小組召集人及澳門科技大學醫學院院長霍文遜醫生說:「我們相信這套先進的即時醫療診斷系統可以徹底改變現時的診症模式,並為對抗傳染病提供強而有力的工具。」

未來研究團隊將繼續優化該系統和提高成本效益,並積極與各方合作推進臨床試驗、監管審批和開拓前線應用。

感謝社會各界的慷慨支持,以促進全自動快速多重診斷系統的發展。

「理大研究團隊正朝著正確的方向邁進,固此請不要停止研發創新科技。如果此系統 (全自動快速多重診斷系統) 能配合社會上的需要,理應值得被研究及開發。」
– 羅氏家庭

「新型冠狀病毒疫情正影響全球及我們的日常生活。作為理大校友,我希望藉著支持母校別具意義的科研項目,為社會作出貢獻。」
– 應用科學及紡織學校友 廖美翠女士

點擊瀏覽相關照片

更多理大群體齊心對抗2019冠狀病毒的資訊,請按此瀏覽