PolyU signs a collaborative agreement with top textile university in Southern China to promote green and healthy textiles

Date:05 Jun 2019
Content:

The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU) today announced the signing of a collaborative framework agreement with Wuyi University (WYU). The two universities will join hands for research on the development of green and healthy textile materials over a span of three years. The collaboration marks an important milestone of joint R&D effort between Hong Kong and Jiangmen – two major cities in the Greater Bay Area.

As one of the world's largest textile and garment production and consumption regions, the Mainland's growing demand for "green and healthy" textile has created a huge market potential for antibacterial and mildew resistant textiles. The collaboration aims to facilitate the experts from the two universities to innovate dyeing and finishing technologies for fabrics so as to address the health and environmental concerns associated with man-made fibers and their chemical processes. As textiles are good substrates for exponential bacterial growth and microbial proliferation under appropriate moisture, nutrients, and temperature conditions, the research will also study the ingredients and methodologies to enhance the antibacterial, antimicrobial and antifungal performances in textiles.

The two parties, represented by Ir Prof. Alex Wai, Vice President (Research Development) of PolyU  (left), and Prof. Zhang Kun, Party Committee Secretary of Wuyi University,  exchange the signed copies of the collaborative agreement.

Speaking at the signing ceremony, Ir Prof. Alex WAI, Vice President (Research Development) of PolyU, said "PolyU has proven records in translating impactful research results into applicable technologies and solutions to benefit the society and humankind. Leveraging our research strengths in textile technology for smart materials, textile-based wearable electronics and biomedical textiles, we believe the collaboration will bring further success in developing next generation "green and healthy" fabrics. We are very pleased to collaborate with universities in the Greater Bay Area such as WYU. Such cooperation platforms will accelerate innovation, new technology development and commercial applications of R&D in the region."

The collaborative agreement is signed by Prof. John H. Xin of PolyU (front left) and  Prof. Yu Hui of WYU (front right).

Prof. ZHANG Kun, Party Committee Secretary of WYU, thanked PolyU for kick-starting the collaboration in textile research. He hoped this is just the beginning and the cooperation could be extended to other disciplines between the two universities.

Group Photo taken during the signing ceremony at PolyU.

The signing ceremony was attended by Ir Prof. Alex WAI, Vice President (Research Development); Prof. K.Y. WONG, Associate Vice President (Research Support); and Prof. John H. XIN, Chair Prof. of Textile Chemistry and Lee Family Professor in Fashion and Textiles from PolyU; as well as Prof. ZHANG Kun, Party Committee Secretary; Mr NG Wing Chi, Council Chairman; and Professor YU Hui, Dean of School of Textile Materials and Engineering from WYU.

To view the snapshots, please click here.

Enquiries: Steven Lam Email 3400 2864  Email  steven.tf.lam@polyu.edu.hk

理大與南中國頂尖的紡織大學簽署合作協議 共同推動環保健康纺織材料

日期:2019年6月5日
内容:

香港理工大學(理大)今天宣布與五邑大學簽署合作框架協議:兩所大學將攜手研究開發環保綠色健康纺織材料,為期三年。此項合作標誌著香港與江門這兩個大灣區的大城市進行聯合研發工作的重要里程碑。

作為世界上最大的紡織品和服裝生產和消費地區之一,內地對「綠色和健康」紡織品的需求不斷增長,為生產防黴抗菌布料營造了巨大的市場潛力。此項合作旨在促進兩所大學的專家研發創新的紡織品染色和整理技術,以解決人造纖維及其化學過程所引致的健康和環境問題。此外,由於紡織品在適當的水分﹑養分和溫度條件下,容易成為細菌和微生物迅速滋長及繁殖的溫床,故此兩所大學還會研究如何透過研發創新的抗菌織物加工添加劑及加工方法,提升紡織品中抗菌﹑抗微生物和抗真菌的效能。

理大副校長(研究發展)衞炳江教授工程師(左)和五邑大學黨委書記張焜教授代表雙方交換已簽署的合作協議文本。

理大副校長(研究發展)衞炳江教授工程師在簽署儀式上致辭:「理大致力把科研成果轉化為具影響力的應用技術和解決方案;而且在這方面素有績效,為社會及人類帶來裨益。憑藉我們在智能材料﹑可穿戴紡織品電子產品和生物醫學用紡織品等紡織技術方面的研究優勢,相信此項合作將成功開發出下一代『綠色和健康』的紡織品。我們很高興能與大灣區內的大學,如:五邑大學合作;這些合作平台將加速區內的科研發展﹑開發創新技術,和科研成果產業化的進程。」

合作協議由理大紡織及服裝學系講座教授兼李氏時裝及紡織授席忻浩忠教授(前左)及五邑大學紡織材料與工程學院院長于暉博士(前右)簽署。

五邑大學黨委書記張焜教授對理大啟動紡織研究合作表示感謝,他冀望這是雙方合作的起點,將來兩所大學的科研協作更可擴展至其他學科和領域。

在理大舉行簽署儀式時的合照。

出席簽約儀式的包括:理大副校長(研究發展)衞炳江教授﹑理大協理副校長(科研支援)黃國賢教授﹑理大紡織及服裝學系講座教授兼李氏時裝及紡織授席忻浩忠教授﹑五邑大學黨委書記張焜教授﹑五邑大學第三屆校董會主席吳榮治先生;以及五邑大學紡織材料與工程學院院長于暉博士。

觀看活動照片。

詳情查詢:Steven Lam Email 3400 2864  Email  steven.tf.lam@polyu.edu.hk