In general terms, intellectual property may refer to the discovery, creation, invention, design, trade mark, know-how or any research effort and all rights pertaining thereto whether registrable or not. It is of paramount importance to safeguard IP so as to sustain a robust growth of innovation and creation for betterment of the society. The recognition of IP by the community at large, not confined to the academia, is indispensable to innovation creation and knowledge transfer.

Types of IP


A patent is a set of exclusive rights granted by a state or national government to make, use, and sell the patented invention for a limited period of time, generally 20 years.  


A trademark is a sign that distinguishes the goods and services of one trader from those of others. Typically a trademark can be words (including personal names), indications, designs, letters, characters, numerals, figurative elements, colours, sounds, smells, the shape of the goods or their packaging or any combination of these. A sign must be capable of being represented graphically in order for it to be registered as a trademark. (Source: IPD)

Registered Design

Designs can be registered for a wide range of products. Registered owners claim the right to prevent others from manufacturing, importing, using, selling or hiring the designs which predominantly cover the appearance of a product. The valid period of protection lasts from 5 to 25 years upon successful registration. Owners can renew the protection when the current registration expires. (Source: IPD)


Copyright is an automatic right given to the owner of an original work. It arises when a work is created spanning from books, software, music, plays, sculptures, recordings, films and so on. (Source: IPD)

Trade Secret (Undisclosed Commercial Information)

Trade secrets and undisclosed commercial information are confidential information in a commercial setting, such as formulas, methods, technologies, designs, product specifications, business plans and client lists, that have commercial value. (Source: IPD)

知识产权泛指发现、创造、发明、设计、商标、技术或任何研究努力及其附属的一切权益,无论其可注册与否。保护知识产权对维持创新的高速发展和造福社会尤其重要。除学术界外,社会大众亦应对知识产权有所认识,并肯定其重要性,以鼓励创新和加快知识转移的步伐。

知识产权的种类

专利

专利是由一个国家政府授予的一系列专属权利,其中包括制造、使用或转售已取得专利的发明。专利有效年期通常为20年。

商标

商标是一个标志,用以识别不同商户的货品和服务。商标可以由文字(包括个人姓名)、征示、设计式样、字母、字样、数字、图形要素、颜色、声音、气味、货品的形状或其包装,以及上述标志的任何组合所构成。能够藉书写或绘图方式表述的标记,才可以注册为商标。(资料来源:知识产权署)

外观设计

各种产品的外观设计均可注册。注册外观设计的拥有人有权阻止其他人制造、输入、使用、出售或出租其外观设计产品。成功注册后,拥有人能享有长达5至25年的注册保护有效期。期限界满后,拥有人可为注册申请更新保护期限。(资料来源:知识产权署)

版权

版权是一项自动赋予原创者的权利。在创作完成后,有关作品的原创者即拥有版权。原创作品可以不同样式呈现,如书籍、计算机软件、音乐、戏剧作品、雕塑作品、声音记录以及影片等。(资料来源:知识产权署)

商业秘密(未披露商业资料)

商业秘密及未披露商业资料是指在商业环境中具商业价值的机密资料,例如配方、方法、科技、设计、产品规格、商业计划和客户名单等。(资料来源:知识产权署)