Intellectual Property (IP)

What is Intellectual Property?

In general terms, intellectual property is any product of the human intellect that the law protects from unauthorized use by others. It may refer to creations of the mind, such as inventions; literary and artistic works; designs; and symbols, names and images used in commerce.

How is Intellectual Property Protection governed in Hong Kong?

As endowed by Articles 139 and 140 in the Basic Law, Hong Kong should develop appropriate policies as well as afford legal protection for intellectual property rights. In light of this, the Intellectual Property Department (IPD) was established on 2 July 1990 to facilitate the legislation and enforcement of policies as well as promotion and education among the community in regard to intellectual property protection.

What is a patent?

A patent protects your invention by giving you, the patent owner, a legal right to prevent others from manufacturing, using, selling or importing your patented invention.(Source IPD)

What is a trademark?

A trademark is a sign that distinguishes the goods and services of one trader from those of others. Typically a trademark can be words (including personal names), indications, designs, letters, characters, numerals, figurative elements, colours, sounds, smells, the shape of the goods or their packaging or any combination of these. A sign must be capable of being represented graphically in order for it to be registered as a trademark. (Source: IPD)

What is a registered design?

Designs can be registered for a wide range of products. Registered owners claim the right to prevent others from manufacturing, importing, using, selling or hiring the designs which predominantly cover the appearance of a product. The valid period of protection lasts from 5 to 25 years upon successful registration. Owners can renew the protection when the current registration expires. (Source: IPD)

What is a copyright?

Copyright is an automatic right given to the owner of an original work. It arises when a work is created spanning from books, software, music, plays, sculptures, recordings, films and so on. (Source: IPD)

What is a trade secret?

Trade secrets and undisclosed commercial information are confidential information in a commercial setting, such as formulas, methods, technologies, designs, product specifications, business plans and client lists, that have commercial value. (Source: IPD)

Why should you disclose your invention to ITDO?

  • ITDO can provide feedback on how to best protect your invention. While disclosing your invention to ITDO does not immediately guarantee protection of your invention, it can lead to protection if we file for patent or other form of IP protection.
  • Disclosing your invention to ITDO will help us fulfill PolyU’s responsibility to report to research sponsors such as the Research Grant Council (RGC) and the Innovation and Technology Commission (ITC).
  • If ITDO is aware of your invention, we can liaise with the commercialization team and marketing team of  Institute for Entrepreneurship (IfE) to promote your invention.

How to determine inventorship in a patent application?

Patent law defines an inventor of a patentable invention as someone who conceives original, useful and non-obvious idea. An inventor must contribute to the conception of the invention. It should not be confused with the authorship of a scientific publication. The correct inventors must be named on a patent or the patent risks being invalidated.

When is the appropriate time for invention disclosure?

Please plan to submit your invention disclosure to ITDO at least 3 months prior to the expected public disclosure of your invention. Premature public disclosure may jeopardize the subsequent patent filing of your invention. In case of doubt, please contact us.

Please refer to Item 4 in the Regulation on the Management of Intellectual Property (RMIP) for more information.

When do you need a Non-Disclosure Agreement (NDA)?

When it is necessary to disclose your ideas to an outside party,a non-disclosure agreement is one of the best ways to ensure your ideas and confidential information kept under wraps. Premature public disclosure may jeopardize the subsequent patent filing of your invention.

Please refer to Item 5 in the RMIP for more information.

Samples of NDA can be obtained from PolyU Technology and Consultancy Co. Ltd. (PTeC) via the links below:

Who pays for the patent application?

In general, upon approval, the University pays for the costs associated with the preparation, prosecution, and maintenance of the patent. Please refer to Item 6 in the RMIP for more information.

How are the revenues received from commercialization to be distributed?

The revenues are distributed as stipulated in Item 9 of the RMIP.

What should I do if I still have other questions regarding IP disclosure and application procedures for patent and other types of IP protection?

If you have any questions over your IP disclosure or application procedures, please refer to the RMIP and the Policy on Ownership of Intellectual Property (PIP). If you would like to seek further advice, please contact us.

有关知识产权

认识知识产权

知识产权泛指发现、创造、发明、外观设计、商标、技术知识或任何研究努力及其附属的一切权益,无论其可注册与否。保护知识产权对维持创新的高速发展和造福社会尤其重要。除学术界外,社会大众亦应对知识产权有所认识,并肯定其重要性,以鼓励创新和加快知识转移的步伐。

知识产权在香港管辖范围以内如何受到保护?

根据基本法第139和140条 ,香港应制定相应的政策,为知识产权提供法律上的保护。有鉴于此,知识产权署于1990年7月2日成立,除了推动有关知识产权政策的立法和执行外,更积极参与保护知识产权的宣传和教育工作。

专利是什么?

假如您是专利拥有人,您可行使专利赋予你的法律权利,禁止他人制造、使用、出售或输入您的专利发明,从而保护您的发明。(资料来源:知识产权署)

商标是什么?

商标是一个标志,用以识别不同商户的货品和服务。商标可以由文字(包括个人姓名)、征示、设计式样、字母、字样、数字、图形要素、颜色、声音、气味、货品的形状或其包装,以及上述标志的任何组合所构成。能够藉书写或绘图方式表述的标记,才可以注册为商标。(资料来源:知识产权署)

注册外观设计是什么?

各种产品的外观设计均可注册。注册外观设计的拥有人有权阻止其他人制造、输入、使用、出售或出租其外观设计产品。注册外观设计保护的有效期最长为25年,每5年续期一次。(资料来源:知识产权署)

版权是什么?

版权是一项在创作完成后,自动赋予创作者的权利。版权可以存在于书籍、电脑软件、音乐作品、戏剧作品、雕塑品、声音纪录、影片等创作上。(资料来源:知识产权署)

商业秘密是什么?

商业秘密及未披露商业资料指在商业环境中具商业价值的机密资料,例如配方、方法、科技、设计、产品规格、商业计划和客户名单等。在香港,商业秘密及未披露商业资料是受普通法中的保密法所保护。(资料来源:知识产权署)

为什么要向ITDO披露您的发明 ?

  • ITDO可以就保护您的发明提供意见。向ITDO披露发明并不代表您的发明已立即得到保护,发明者可透过向我们提交专利或以其他形式申请知识产权保护,以保护其所属权益。
  • 发明者向ITDO披露其发明有助我们向研究赞助单位如研究资助局创新科技署等提交准确及相关的报告。
  • ITDO可以就您的发明与理大企业发展院联络协调,扩大其商品化的潜力。

如何在专利申请中介定发明者的身份?

根据专利法,专利发明者为构思出该可专利化发明的原创人,其必须对发明的创始作出贡献。请留意,在专利申请中介定发明者与在期刊发表科学著作时介定作者的准则并不一样。专利发明必须正确无误地列出其发明者,否则其专利权将有可能被宣布无效。

发明披露应在甚麽时候提交申请最为合适?

请您在计划向公众公开披露发明前3 个月,将发明披露申请提交至ITDO。过早就发明作公开披露有机会影响随後的专利申请。如有任何疑问,请与我们联络

详情请参阅知识产权管理规定中的第4项。

为甚麽要签署禁止披露及保密协议?应该在什麽时候签署?

当您需要向另一方披露您的机密资料时,可透过签署禁止披露及保密协议以确保该构想及相关机密资料不被洩露。过早就发明作公开披露有机会影响随後的专利申请。

详情请参阅知识产权管理规定中的第5项。

您可透过以下连结下载由理大科技及顾问有限公司(PTeC)提供的禁止披露及保密协议样本:

专利申请所需费用应由那一方负责支付?

一般情况下,经由大学批准的专利申请,校方将会支付有关申请、专利审查及专 利维持的费用。详情请参阅知识产权管理规定中的第6项。

透过知识产权商品化所得收入应如何分配?

有关的收入分配由知识产权管理规定所规範,详情请参阅知识产权管理规定中的第9项。

若我有更多有关发明披露以及专利申请的问题,可如何寻求协助?

如您在发明披露以及专利申请上有其他疑问,请参阅知识产权管理规定以及知识产权拥有权政策,或与我们联络