PolyU's collaboration with Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd. (Huawei) has commenced since 2007. The research areas include but not limited to communication, big data, crowdsourcing platforms, mobile networks, wearable devices, algorithms as well as materials. Numerous collaborative projects involved joint efforts from Huawei and different PolyU academic and research experts, including Department of Electronic and Information Engineering, Department of Electrical Engineering, Department of Computing, Interdisciplinary Division of Biomedical Engineering, Department of Applied Mathematics and Department of Applied Physics. Collaborative research seminar & workshop series is organized annually at PolyU to explore the respective strategic collaborations between PolyU and Huawei.

Huawei Innovation Research Program (HIRP) OPEN 2018
  

Huawei Innovation Research Program (HIRP) is an innovation initiative, a sponsorship program targeted at funding leading universities and research institutes conducting innovative research in ICT areas. It seeks to identify and support world-class, full-time faculty members, sets up win-win collaboration and pursues technology innovation of mutual interest. It has been launched for 12 years and more than 700 innovative research projects from hundreds of world-class research organizations were awarded.

HIRP OPEN 2018 is now inviting applications from universities and research institutes from worldwide to conduct innovative research in communication technology, computer science, engineering, and related fields. It will support contract-based innovation research in 180 subjects involving 20 technical fields with the amount ranging from USD 30,000 to USD 70,000. The main fields are as follows:

  • Advanced Semiconductor Technology
  • Compiler & Programming Language
  • BlockChain
  • Software Engineering
  • Operation System
  • Engineering Technology
  • Data Management and Process
  • Wireless Communication Technology
  • Future Networks
  • Optical Technology Computing Technology
  • BigData & Artificial Intelligence
  • Media Technology
  • Storage Technology


Proposals for other innovative subjects are also welcome. For more details of the HIRP OPEN 2018, please refer to the attachments and website:

Application deadline: Mid or End of May 2018 (please refer to the website specification for the submission deadline of each subject)

Enquiries: Victor Zhao Email 3400 2862 Email victor.zhao@polyu.edu.hk or Steven Lam Email 3400 2864 Email steven.tf.lam@polyu.edu.hk

PolyU-Huawei Joint Laboratory for Optical Interconnection Network and Advanced Computing System

PolyU and Huawei's partnership is further fostered through the set-up of "PolyU-Huawei Joint Laboratory for Optical Interconnection Network and Advanced Computing System" (Joint Lab) on 30th Nov 2016. Both will work on researches relating to high-capacity optical communication systems including long-haul and short-reach data center transmission systems, computer networks and systems, and big data computing. It aims to pioneer the research in the field of optical communication systems and advanced computing systems by leveraging synergy of the industry and the university. It targets at bolstering significantly the capacity of internet systems through technological breakthroughs, as well as developing system infrastructure and algorithmic solutions for computing-driven innovation.

Through close collaboration, PolyU and Huawei will be able to further develop high-impact translational research and next-generation technological advances in the telecommunications and advanced computing industry.

To know more about opportunity for collaborative research, please Tell Us Your Idea.

理大与华为技术有限公司(华为)于科研发展上的合作始于2007年,涵盖不同范畴的技术,包括通讯、大数据、群众外包平台、行动网络、可携式装置、演算法及物料等。由华为与理大多个学术研究单位(包括电子及资讯工程学系、电机工程学系、电子计算学系、生物医学工程跨领域学部、应用数学系及应用物理学系)开展合作研究项目。每年更举行一系列相关研讨会及讲座以拓展双方的策略性合作。

华为创新研究计划 (HIRP) OPEN 2018

  

华为创新研究计划(Huawei Innovation Research Program,简称HIRP)通过与学术界的开放式创新合作,以体现高影响力的技术创新突破。计划通过资助大学和科研机构的科研项目,旨在用创新来推动信息和通信技术领域的发展。自2006年来,计划已向来自数百间世界级科研机构资助了700多个创新科研项目。

HIRP OPEN 2018 现邀请世界各地的大学和科研机构提交与通信技术计算器科学工程等领域相关的创新科研项目建议。计划将为180个研究课题,涉及20个技术领域提供的科研基金,每个项目资助额为3万美元到7万美元不等。主要的技术领域如下:

  • 先进半导体技术
  • 编译程序和编程语言
  • 区块链
  • 软件工程
  • 操作系统
  • 工程技术
  • 数据管理和处理
  • 无线通信技术
  • 未来网络
  • 光学计算技术
  • 大数据和人工智能
  • 媒体技术
  • 存储技术

欢迎提交其他创新科研项目建议。计划详情请参阅以下网站:

截止申请日期:2018年5月中/下旬(请参阅每个课题的截止申请日期)

查询:Victor Zhao Email 3400 2862 Email victor.zhao@polyu.edu.hk or Steven Lam Email 3400 2864 Email steven.tf.lam@polyu.edu.hk

理大 ─ 华为先进计算系统与网络光互连联合实验室

理大与华为的伙伴合作关系藉 2016 年 11 月 30 日「理大 ─ 华为先进计算系统与网络光互连联合实验室」的设立而进一步提升。理大及华为藉着成立联合实验室主力研究与高传输容量的光通讯系统相关的项目,其中包括长途和短距离数据传输系统'计算机网络和系统,及大数据计算。通过大学专家及业界的协同合作,该联合实验室将显着地提高互联网系统的能力,研发系统基础建设及解决方案,带领先进计算系统与光通讯领域的研发。

理大将继续与华为紧密合作,于先进计算及通讯领域中,研发崭新科技进行具高影响力的转化研究,推进科研发展与应用。

欢迎按此浏览更多合作研究机会,或联络我们