PolyU’s Food Safety Consortium Received the Affiliate Communication Award from IAFP

Date:21 Jul 2019
Content:

PolyU’s Food Safety Consortium received the International Association for Food Protection (IAFP) Affiliate Communication Award for our development of various communication channels with our members and high-quality materials in promoting science and technology as the foundation of advancing food safety and quality with informative content and attractive layout. The award ceremony was held on July 21, 2019 at the Affiliate Council Meeting during the 2019 IAFP Annual Meeting which took place in Louisville, Kentucky.

Founded in 1911, IAFP is home to educators, government officials, microbiologists, food industry executives and quality control professionals from 50 nations who are involved in all aspects of growing, storing, transporting, processing and preparing all types of foods. IAFP aims to provide food safety professionals worldwide with a forum to exchange information on protecting the food supply.

FSC was recognized as the Hong Kong affiliate of IAFP since mid-2015, as the two organizations have consistent objectives and the affiliation will effectively synergize their efforts in advancing food safety in various regions of the world.

In four years, FSC has grown from its budding stage to:

• being the home of 61 local and multinational Corporate Members from different sectors of the food industry – manufacturing, retail & wholesale, catering, testing & services, food security management, and other stakeholder organizations and internationally renowned Advisors ;

• organizing the first Global Food Safety & Technology Forum (GFSTF), and co-organize GoFood 2017 (second edition GFSTF) and GoFood 2019 (third edition GFSTF)- an international technology exchange conference to address food safety problems with science and technology - and ensuring its sustainability in collaboration with LU, DTU and Unibo;

• participating in global initiatives such as the International Food Safety Authorities Network (INFOSAN), the United Nations Office for Project Services (UNOPS), FAO/WHO Codex Ailmentarius (Codex);

• initiating and participating in various collaborative projects in food fraud, food supply intelligence and technology development, and the European Commission’s Horizon 2020 program;

• facilitating the communication channels with our members and industry by FSC’s website, flyers, PolyU food safety eNewsletter and social media such as Linkedin to promote advancing food safety and quality with informative content; and

• organizing various other activities and outreaching globally to foster exchanges among the industry, academia, government, and other food safety stakeholders.

While the Affiliate Communication Award is a significant recognition of FSC’s effort in promoting and developing science and technology as the foundation of advancing food safety and quality, PolyU will continue to be a key driver propelling most cutting-edge food safety and food technologies to benefit the global community.

理大食品安全联盟获颁国际食品保护协会会员传播奖

日期:2019年7月21日
内容:

理大食品安全联盟获国际食品保护协会(IAFP)颁发会员通讯奖,表扬我们与会员间拥有良好的沟通渠道、积极制作优质的刊物及传播媒介以推动食品安全及质量的发展,为持份者提供最新的信息。颁奖典礼已于2019年7月21日在肯塔基州路易斯维尔IAFP 2019年度会议期间,分会理事会会议上举行。

IAFP成立于1911年,拥有来自50个国家包括教育工作者、政府代表、微生物学家、食品行业管理人员和质量控制专业人员等的会员等,涉猎的领域包括整个食物供应链。IAFP旨在为全球食品安全专业人士提供一个交流有关保护食品供应信息的平台。

FSC在2015年中正式成为IAFP的香港分会,增加双方在各地促进食品安全的协同效应。

4 年期间FSC已从起步阶段发展到:

·         拥有 61家本地及跨国公司会员 ,它们来自食品行业的各个层面,包括制造、零售和批发、餐饮、检测服务、食品安全管理和其他相关组织,以及 国际知名的顾问会 成员;

·         组织第一届 全球食品安全及科技论坛 (GFSTF)、及共同组织GoFood  2017 (第二届GFSTF) 、GoFood 2019 (第三届GFSTF) 以提供一个国际性技术交流的机会,透过科学和技术解决食品安全问题,并通过与LU、DTU和Unibo合作,持续举办此论坛;

·         积极参与全球性活动,与国际机构紧密联系,例如国际食品安​​全当局网络(INFOSAN)、联合国项目事务厅(UNOPS)、世界卫生组织 (WHO) 及食品法典委员会(Codex);

·         针对食品掺假、食品供应情报和技术开发等方面,展开及参与各类合作项目,当中最新项目为欧盟「地平线2020计划」的EU-China-Safe;

·         通过FSC的网站、传单、理大食品安全电子通讯和LinkedIn等社交媒体建立与会员和业界的沟通渠道,推广及提供对食品安全和质量的最新信息; 以及

·         组织各类活动并将网络扩展全球,促进业界、学术界、政府和其他食品安全持份者之间的交流。

获颁会员通讯奖是对FSC积极以科学技术作为推动食品安全及质量的努力作出肯定,理大将会继续推动尖端食品安全和食品技术的发展,以惠及全球。