PolyU and SZU Spearhead the Launch of Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macau Greater Bay Area Rail Transit Joint Innovation Union

Date:25 Oct 2018
Content:

The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU) and Shenzhen University (SZU) spearhead the establishment of the “Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macau Greater Bay Area Rail Transit Joint Innovation Union” (the Union) with 10 other universities and enterprises. The 12 participating parties signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) in the ceremony held in Shenzhen on 12 October 2018, signifying the kick-off of the collaborative advancement in the research and development (R&D) of rail engineering. The Union aims to build an integrated rail transit system within “Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macau Greater Bay” (The Greater Bay) by combining the research strengths of the collaborating parties.

The Union will serve as the joint innovation platform of rail transit in "The Greater Bay" through facilitating collaborations between universities and industries. The Union will seek research and technological breakthroughs to cater to the tremendous needs of safe operations and maintenance of the rail transit in The Greater Bay. The research efforts will focus on smart sensing and health monitoring of rail infrastructure, safety alert mechanism, disaster resilience program, crisis contingency, and recovery plan etc., to promote safe operation and maintenance of rail transit system. The Union will take advantage of the academic resources and strengths of the participating parties to foster talent nurturing in the Greater Bay, and to promote technology transfer as well as industrialisation of the research outcomes within and beyond The Greater Bay

Ir. Professor Alexander Wai, Vice President (Research Development) of PolyU, said, "Leveraging the ‘one country, two systems' and the distinctive feature of internationalisation, Hong Kong has the full advantage to become an international innovation and technology hub. Hong Kong universities play a pivotal role in the development of science and technology, grooming international talents and facilitating innovation and entrepreneurship. PolyU has been actively participating in various national research projects over an extended period, from space missions and high-speed rail in China to the recent research collaborations in The Greater Bay for technological advancement including the establishment of the First Biotechnology and Translational Medicine research platform, Joint Center for Immunotherapy and a Supercomputer Union. We expect the Union will bring out the greater benefits of different institutes and enterprises for expanding the scope of innovation and technological commercialisation.

 

 

 

 

Professor Li Qing-quan, President of SZU, said that the launch of the Union will provide a strong boost to the developments of The Greater Bay. The Union comprises of universities and research institutions within and beyond The Greater Bay, indicating a strong base for diversified cooperations. He believes the Union will bring about profound outcomes in the R&D of the rail transit system. Mr Du Yan-liang, Academician of China Engineering Academy also remarked that the Union can incorporate the different needs for rail transit development within The Greater Bay and build a network of smart and modern transportation system with its innovative technologies.

The MoU was jointly signed by Ir. Professor Alexander Wai, Vice President (Research Development) of PolyU and Professor Li Qing-quan, President of SZU as representatives from the two leading units, as well as the representatives from the 10 partners including Sun Yat-sen University, Guangzhou University, Beihang University, Southwest Jiaotong University, University of Macau of China, Imperial College London and University of Birmingham of United Kingdom, China Academy of Railway Sciences Corporation Limited, China Railway Engineering Consulting Group Corporation Limited and Shenzhen Guangshengang Investment Management Corporation Limited.   Mr Ju Ming, Associate Director, Department of Science and Technology, Ministry of Education and Mr Xing Feng, Deputy Director, Department of Education, Guangdong Province delivered a speech at the signing ceremony which was well-attended by many government officials and industry leaders.

Please click here for press release.

理大与深大牵头 成立粤港澳大湾区轨道交通协同创新中心

日期:2018年10月25日
内容:

香港理工大学(理大)联同深圳大学(深大)牵头与十间院校和企业组成了「粤港澳大湾区轨道交通协同创新中心」(协同创新中心),并于10月12日在深圳进行合作备忘录签署仪式。协同创新中心旨在促进粤港澳大湾区轨道交通协调发展,各方希望透过共同合作,充分发挥彼此的优势,实现资源共享、达致联合共赢。

协同创新中心将致力推动粤港澳大湾区在轨道交通行业的创新技术发展,藉共建的平台,促成院校与企业的合作。协同创新中心将因应大湾区内轨道交通建设与安全运维的重大需求,借力于创新科技,如智能感应及轨道结构健康监测系统等,以提升轨道交通基础设施在安全运营与预警机制、性能维护、灾害应急抢修与快速恢复等领域的绩效。同时,参与方亦希望藉此深化粤港澳大湾区综合交通领域上的人才培养,以及促进区内与区外轨道交通科技发展的突破与成果转化。

理大副校长(科研发展)卫炳江教授表示:「凭借『一国两制』及国际化优势,香港具备有利条件成为国际创新科技中心。香港的高等院校在科技发展、国际人才培养和创新创业平台搭建担当着举足轻重的角色。理大一直积极参与国家科研项目,成绩斐然。多年前,理大已参与国家登月计划和高铁建设的技术合作项目,近来更与大湾区内院校紧密合作,构建了区内首个国际化生物科技和转化医学合作研究平台、成立了免疫治疗合作研究中心及参与组成粤港澳超算联盟。我们期待这次轨道交通协同创新中心能够进一步发挥各合作院校的优势,将创新技术应用到更多层面」。

 

 

 

 


深大校长李清泉教授表示,协同创新中心的成立将为粤港澳大湾区发展提供强大的助力,成员单位包括了湾区内外的高校和科研机构,预示着一个多元化的合作的基础,相信未来一定会取得很好的成果。深大杜彦良院士表示协同创新中心会结合大湾区轨道交通的发展需求,通过自主创新技术,构建粤港澳大湾区智慧现代交通体系网。

粤港澳大湾区轨道交通协同创新中心合作备忘录由理大副校长(科研发展)卫炳江教授及深大校长李清泉教授代表两间牵头院校,与其余十间院校和企业代表包括中山大学、广州大学、北京航空航天大学、西南交通大学、澳门大学、英国伦敦帝国学院、英国伯明翰大学、中国铁道科学研究院集团有限公司、中铁工程设计咨询集团有限公司及深圳市广深港投资管理有限公司共同签署。签署仪式邀请了广东省教育厅邢锋副厅长、国家教育部科技司明炬副司长致辞,以及各单位领导和行业代表出席。



按此浏览新闻稿。