PolyU wins Two “TechConnect Global Innovation Awards” — Snatching Accolades in the US Two Years in a row

Date:13 - 16 May 2018
Content:

The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU) brings glory to Hong Kong again by winning two “Global Innovation Awards” at TechConnect World Conference and Expo 2018 staged in the United States. It is the second year in a row that PolyU research teams snatch the accolades in the world’s largest multi-sector summit for accelerating development and commercialization of innovations. 

The two PolyU winning innovations are [please refer to Annex for project details]:-

  • Composite multilayers capacitors with colossal permittivity for electronics and energy storage applications — Professor HAO Jianhua, Professor & Associate Head, and Ms TSE Mei-yan, Department of Applied Physics
  • Low cost flame retardant treatment for cotton with co-catalyst system — Dr KAN Chi-wai, Associate Professor, The Institute of Textiles and Clothing

Dr Terence LAU, Director of Innovation and Technology Development of PolyU, said the awards received over two years are “recognition of the efforts, dedication and achievements of our research faculty members”. “The University will continue to push the frontiers of innovation by nurturing a culture inducive to high impact multi-disciplinary projects. Our research endeavours will continue to contribute to our society and mankind.”

TechConnect grants awards to the top 15% of innovations submitted, with assessment based on the potential positive impact the submitted technology will have on a specific industry sector. Around 500 submissions from about 180 organisations were received this year. Among them, 25 are presented with global awards designated for non-US-federal-funded innovations across the world. Another 55 national awards are granted to innovations with US federal funding. The award receivers include many global-renowned institutions and premier research centres, such as Stanford University, UCLA (University of California, Los Angeles), Argonne National Laboratory, IBM Research, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory, Naval Research Laboratory, Sandia National Laboratories, etc.

The PolyU delegation received the awards in person at the TechConnect World Conference and Expo 2018 held in Anaheim, California. At the  20th-anniversary event held from 13 to 16 May, PolyU showcased a total of 15 innovations to numerous members from the industry, government and academia sectors around the world. Besides attending various exchange sessions PolyU delegates also explored product development and cooperation opportunities with various industry end-users, multinational companies and academic institutions to strive for applying the innovations for bringing greater impacts to the world. 

For details, please refer to TechConnect official website.
To view the snapshots, please click here.

Annex

PolyU Projects with 2018 TechConnect Global Innovation Awards

Composite multi-layers capacitors with colossal permittivity for electronics and energy storage applications
— Professor HAO Jianhua, Professor & Associate Head, and Ms TSE Mei-yan, Department of Applied Physics, PolyU

With global demand for energy storage growing rapidly over the past decade, surging research efforts worldwide have been put in developing novel capacitors, which can achieve fast charging, high power density and  long cycling lifetime than conventional batteries. This innovation of PolyU is the first report on simultaneously achieving large dielectric constant (i.e. a lot of energy can be stored); negligible dielectric loss (i.e. energy not leaking out and being wasted easily) and high energy density in flexible composite capacitors based on metal-ion co-doped colossal permittivity materials.

The host titanium dioxide used in this colossal permittivity system is environment-friendly, non-toxic and abundant. The process developed (solution casting and hot-pressing technique) is relatively simple and low cost for mass production of the composite films, as the ceramic powder fillers are fabricated by conventional solid-state sintering method. The dielectric capacitors we developed based on composite multi-layers present a relatively high dielectric constant with exceptional low loss. The maximum energy density achieved simultaneously is remarkable compared to nano-composites with other ceramic particle fillers. Such novel composite multi-layers capacitors are expected to be greatly superior to the conventional one-dielectric currently used in such systems. Moreover, power electronic applications are currently limited by the capacitor size and performance. Multi-layered capacitors can be easily patterned, with fully solid-state construction, thus being superior to conventional electrochemical construction in many aspects including improved safety.

Low cost flame retardant treatment for cotton with co-catalyst system
— Dr KAN Chi-wai, Associate Professor, The Institute of Textiles and Clothing, PolyU

Fabrics made from cellulosic fibres, such as cotton and linen, will burn easily with a high flame velocity. Many flame retardant (FR) agents and application methods have been developed for producing FR textile materials.  However, for being efficiently fixed to cotton fibres, the FR agents must be used in combination with a resin and catalyst which may introduce side effects such as reduced tearing strength and whiteness. In this invention, co-catalyst is used which can effectively enhance FR treatment and minimise the side effects of FR treatment.  The finishing formulation developed is applied to cotton fabric by conventional pad-dry-cure finishing techniques. 

This technology is more cost-saving than conventional methods, as it can reduce the curing temperature and time used for FR treatment, and retain good FR property of cotton fabric even at a lower curing temperature and shorter curing time. It can also effectively minimise the side effects after FR treatment.

Press Contacts

Ir Steven Lam

Manager, Innovation and Technology Development Office, PolyU
Email 3400 2864
Email steven.tf.lam@polyu.edu.hk

理大科研成果扬威国际 连续第二年获「TechConnect全球创新奖」

日期:2018年5月13日 - 16日
内容:
香港理工大学(理大)的科研成就再度为港争光,在美国加州举行的「2018 TechConnect 世界创新会议暨博览会」(TechConnect World)上,获颁两项全球创新奖,是自去年理大获奖后,再次取得骄人成绩。 TechConnect World旨在促进创新科技发展及商品转化,至今已成为全球最大型的跨界别交流合作平台。
 
 
理大两项获「TechConnect全球创新奖」的项目为 (简介载于附件):-
 
  • 应用于电子及能源储存的巨介电复合材料多层电容器 — 应用物理学系副系主任郝建华教授及谢美恩女士
  • 低成本、应用助催化剂系统的织物阻燃处理方法 — 纺织及服装学系副教授简志伟博士
 
理大创新及科技发展总监刘乐庭博士表示: 「理大团队连续两年获颁全球创新奖,确实是对我们科研人员的努力与成就的肯定。理大定必继续致力培育创新文化,从而推动发展具影响力的跨界别研究,开拓创新领域,以理大的科研成果继续贡献社会、改善世界。」
 
 
TechConnect World主办机构于提交的创新发明中,选取最优秀的15% 颁授奖项,评选主要按创新技术在特定工业领域的潜在影响。今届吸引全球约180个机构提交共500多项创新发明。大会颁发 25项全球创新奖 (Global Innovation Awards) 予非美国资助的项目,以及55项国家创新奖 (National Innovation Awards) 予美国国家资金资助的项目。得奖者不少均为世界知名的院校及顶尖科研机构,包括史丹福大学、加州大学洛杉矶分校、美国阿贡国家实验室、IBM 科研、费米国家加速器实验室、海军研究实验室、桑迪亚国家实验室等等。

 
理大代表团在5月13日至16日赴美国加州阿纳海姆,于第二十届TechConnect World大会上领奖,并同时于博览会上展示理大共15项科研项目成果,与来自全球各地的政府、企业界、学术科研界要员交流,并与各跨国集团、高等学府、企业用家探讨产品发展和合作机会,以期进一步推动创新科技的应用,为社会和世界带来更大裨益。
 

有关 TechConnect 2018详情,请阅览大会网页

按此观看活动照


附 件

理大两项「2018 TechConnect全球创新奖」得奖项目简介

 
应用于电子及能源储存的巨介电复合材料多层电容器
 — 理大应用物理学系副系主任郝建华教授及谢美恩女士
 
全球对能源储存的需求,在过去十年急剧飙升,全球不少科研团队因而相继投入创新电容器的研究,力求能研发出比传统电池充电更快、储存功率更高、循环寿命更长的电容器。理大是项发明乃首次在含有金属离子掺杂巨介电材料的柔性复合电容器中,实现同时具有高介电常数(即:可储存较多能量)、极小介电损耗(即: 能量不易漏失或浪费)和高能量储存密度。
 
研发的巨介电系统主要采用二氧化钛,是无毒、环保的材料,而且蕴含量丰富。由于复合薄膜中的陶瓷粉填料采用常规的固相烧结法,制备过程采用的铸膜和热压工艺相对简单,制造成本低,而且易于大量生产复合薄膜。我们以多层复合材料研发出的介电电容器,有较高的介电常数、极低的介电损耗,而且,其最大能量密度表现显著优于纳米复合物和其他含有陶瓷颗粒填料的电容器。相比常规系统中使用的传统单一介电元件,我们的复合多层结构电容器大为优胜。此外,目前的电子电力装置每每受制于电容器的体积和性能,多层结构电容器则拥有全固体结构,容易图形化制备,相比传统的化学电池结构,具多方面优势,包括提高安全性。
 
 
低成本、应用助催化剂系统的织物阻燃处理方法
— 理大纺织及服装学系副教授简志伟博士
 
 
由纤维素制造的布料,例如棉和麻布,在火焰下极容易燃烧。现时已经有以不同的阻燃剂和处理方法制造阻燃纺织材料,然而,这些阻燃剂必须混合树脂和催化剂,才能有效固定附于棉质材料上,但这样处理有可能出现减损撕裂强度和洁白度的副作用。理大是项发明应用助催化剂的作用,既能有效提升阻燃效能,并且减少阻燃处理的副作用。研发出的处理配方,乃以传统浸压-预干-烘焙处理技术,加附于棉质布料。
 
这技术可减少阻燃处理所需的烘焙温度和时间,而且在低烘焙温度和短烘焙时间下,仍保存棉质布料的阻燃性能,因此,相对传统技术成本大为降低。此外,这技术亦可减少棉织物经阻燃处理产生的副作用。
 
 

 

详情查询
林子峯工程师
理大创新及科技发展处经理
Email 3400 2864
Email steven.tf.lam@polyu.edu.hk