PolyU Researchers’ Smart Pavements Won Two Awards at iCAN 2020

Date:21 Sep 2020
Content:

PolyU and VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland Ltd (VTT) collaborated in an EU funded project entitled Urban Nature Labs (UNaLab) by a consortium comprising 29 partners from 15 countries. As part of the UNaLab project, PolyU researchers developed “A smart integrated road pavement and drainage system for stormwater storage, de-icing, dust suppression, and cooling,” led by Professor Yuhong Wang from Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Dr. Ivan Wang-Hei Ho from Department of Electronic and Information Engineering, both at PolyU. This project aims to develop integrated pervious concrete pavement systems and their components as part of the NBS, and to selectively adopt UNaLab natural-based solutions and implement them locally through “living labs”.

This system won two awards: Canadian Special Awards and Organizer’s Choice Awards in the International Invention Innovation Competition in Canada (iCAN 2020). This project with innovative designs to change the urban road, is aiming to make road more environmentally friendly and tackle significant challenges due to climate change nowadays.

The UNaLab consortium is coordinated by VTT, and the research components led by VTT have been funded through the European Commission (EC)’s Horizon 2020 Research Scheme, while the research components responsible by PolyU, was funded separately by Hong Kong Research Grants Council.

For more details of the system, please click HERE

To have a brief of the H2020 Project UNaLab, please click HERE

理大研究人员以智慧城市道路设计荣获两项iCAN 2020大奖

日期:2020年9月21日
内容:

理大与VTT芬兰国家技术研究中心有限公司(VTT)合作参与一项由欧盟资助的Urban Nature Labs (UNaLab)项目,UNaLab联盟由来自15个国家29个合作伙伴组成。UNaLab其中一个项目,是由理大土木及环境工程学系王予红教授及电子及资讯工程学系何宏禧博士领导开发的「集雨水存储、除冰、抑尘和冷却的智能综合道路排水系统」,研究开发整合的透水混凝土路面系统及其组件,采用附合UNaLab以自然为本的解决方案 (NBS),将系统应用于生活之中。

该系统在加拿大国际发明及创新大赛(iCAN 2020)中荣获Canadian Special AwardsOrganizer’s Choice Awards两大奖项。其采用创新设计来改变城市道路基础建设,增加环保性,以解决当今气候变化带来的各种严峻挑战。

UNaLab联盟由VTT负责协调,研究项目由欧盟委员会「地平线2020」研究计划(Horizon 2020)资助,而理大这个项目亦获得香港研究资助局资助。

如欲了解更多该系统的详情,请点击此处

要如欲了解UNaLab,请点击此处