Skip to main content

A Novel Optical Method for Retarding Myopia Progression

Section Search

Moderate to high myopia that requires -5.0 diopters or more for lens correction is related to increased risk for serious eye diseases. Thus, it is essential to keep myopic progression under control, especially among developing children.

Prof. Carly LAM and Prof. Chi-ho TO from the School of Optometry have invented a new way to retard myopia progression for children by working on the natural homeostatic mechanism of the eye.

An eye naturally tends to adjust its shape so that it sees focused images on the retina.  By focusing the images slightly in front of the retina, or so-called myopic defocus, the eyeball tends to shorten itself to receive the images.  The principle of the new method is to produce a clear image on the retina and a defocused or blurred image in front of the retina simultaneously.  In this way, the wearer can enjoy a clear and comfortable vision while myopia progression is being controlled.

This technology has been applied to Defocus Incorporated Soft Contact (DISC) lens and Defocus Incorporated Multiple Segments (DIMS) Spectacle Lens. Our clinical trial shown that DISC lens and DIMS lens retarded the progression of myopia by approximately 60% in Hong Kong school children aged 8 to 13.

Defocus Incorporated Soft Contact (DISC) lens

The DISC lens is a multi-zone bifocal soft contact lens which comprises optical zones for correcting refractive error and “positive” defocus zones for myopia control.  It won a Grand Prize and a Special Gold Medal at the 39th International Exhibition of Inventions of Geneva in 2011.  A PolyU supported start-up, VST, has been licensed for the production of DISC lens, which is available on the market.  PolyU also prescribes DISC lens at its Optometry Clinic and provides training in fitting the DISC lens on the eyes for optometrists. 

Project Info More Details

 

Defocus Incorporated Multiple Segments (DIMS) Spectacle Lens

Jointly developed by PolyU and its research collaborator Hoya Corporation, the DIMS lens is divided into zones – the central zone is a regular concave lens for corrected vision at the centre of the retina, while the rest of the lens is made up of numerous tiny lenses that focus light slightly in front of the retina to create peripheral myopic defocus.  The DIMS lens won the Grand Prize (overall championship), a Grand Award and a Gold Medal with the Congratulations of Jury at the 46th International Exhibition of Inventions Geneva in 2018.  It is available on the market and in PolyU Optometry Clinic.

Project Info More Details

Top

跳到主要内容

放緩近視增長的嶄新技術

Section Search

中、高度近視(500度或以上)會增加患嚴重眼疾的風險,故此控制近視加深非常重要,尤其是發育中的兒童。

眼科視光學院林小燕杜嗣河教授以眼睛的自然反饋機制為基礎,研發出能放緩兒童近視加深的新方案。

眼球傾向自行調整其形狀,以讓視網膜接收聚焦影像,若將影像稍微聚焦在視網膜前方,眼球就會盡量縮短來接收影像,這個自然反饋機制稱為「近視離焦」。新方法的原理是在視網膜上產生清晰的影像,同時在視網膜前方產生另一個離焦或模糊影像。這樣就能為佩戴者提供清晰、舒適的視野,同時減緩眼球變長和近視加深的速度。

此技術已應用在「光學離焦」(DISC) 隱形眼鏡及「多區正向光學離焦」(DIMS) 眼鏡鏡片上。臨床試驗證明,DISC隱形眼鏡及DIMS鏡片為八至十三歲學童的減慢近視加深速度,成效達百分之六十。

「光學離焦」軟性隱形眼鏡

DISC隱形眼鏡是一種多區域設計的雙光鏡片,當中包含「屈光/近視矯正區」和「正向光學離焦/控制近視區」。該隱形眼鏡於2011年第39屆瑞士日內瓦國際發明展中,榮獲評審團特別嘉許金獎及特別大獎。理大支持的初創企業VST已獲授權生產DISC隱形眼鏡,並已推出市場,巿民亦可於理大眼科視光學診所驗配DISC隱形眼鏡。診所同時為視光師提供驗配此鏡片的訓練。

項目簡介 詳情

 

「多區正向光學離焦」眼鏡鏡片

DIMS眼鏡鏡片乃由理大及其研究合作夥伴豪雅光學共同研發,其中心區域是一般凹透鏡,能讓視網膜中央接收清晰的影像,其餘區域則由無數小鏡片組成,能將光線稍微聚焦在視網膜前方,產生光學離焦現象。DIMS鏡片於2018年第46屆瑞士日內瓦國際發明展中,勇奪全場總冠軍、特別大獎及評判特別嘉許金獎。產品已推出市場,並於理大眼科視光學診所有售。

項目簡介 詳情

回頁頂