Skip to main content

CloseBack
Publications
Publications

Technology Frontier

Apr 2012 Issue

The Rebirth of Cool

House of Innovation Reopens

A brand new spatial experience in light and images

Nestled at the heart of PolyU, the House of Innovation (HoI) is an easily recognizable landmark you can’t miss. Amidst the brick-red towers, this glass block is the Hall of Fame housing the epitomes of the University's accomplishment in research and development. The achievements of PolyU experts are carefully displayed under one roof so that visitors could earn insights on how the University contributes to the society while encouraging collaborations among the public, private and academic sectors. Hopefully, the exhibits also inspire a new generation of scholars to think out of the box and approach research subjects creatively. To complement the state-of-the-art exhibits inside and to present the advanced technology and applications with equally sophisticated facilities, the HoI has undergone updates and transformations recently. Visitors are in for an awe-inspiring experience.

Right after they set foot in the House of Innovation, visitors are greeted by an iconic translucent glass wall, contoured elegantly to resonate with the elliptical forms adorning the ceiling and to naturally lead the visitors into the exhibition space. The glass wall is also a welcome message to all: the HoI welcomes all visitors, all researchers with their findings, all feedbacks on the exhibits, and all students from local and foreign schools to facilitate the exchange of knowledge. The foyer of the HoI features PolyU's innovative research projects and exceptional achievements from various disciplines, whereas three dedicated areas are assigned to display the latest R&D results on textile and fashion, space exploration and structural health monitoring respectively.

On a sunny day, the glass-clad House of Innovation is drenched in sunlight, feeling warm and comfortable. After the redesign and renovation, the hi-tech exhibits no longer feel cold and aloof. In terms of colour, the three elliptical forms in red, yellow and green hung from the ceiling complement the coloured trims of the display cases nicely. Not only do the colours exude an easy feeling, but also serve well as a visual metaphor on how high technology could also be approachable and accessible for all and how technology adds colours and warmth to our daily life. At the other end of the hall, there is a wall of mirrors with multi-coloured LED lights embedded in it. Visually, the wall accentuates the transparent glass structure and makes the space more airy. Metaphorically, it reflects the exhibits into a kaleidoscope of abstract forms, reminiscent of the way technology improves people’s life on various levels in a multi-faceted manner.

World renowned Japanese architect Tadao Ando built the "Church of the Light" in Osaka prefecture. Coincidentally, there is the "Wall of the Light" in the renovated House of Innovation. A light bulb has always been a symbol of new idea and creative solutions. Idiomatically, we refer to making things clear as "shedding light on it". This is also the concept behind this illuminated wall – to reveal the truth behind seemingly intimidating technologies. Those LED tubes on the Wall of the Light are not ordinary ones; they are the authentic creation by PolyU experts that uses less energy and emits more light than regular LED, turning a new page in energy conservation. In fact, the University has already licensed this technology to a local company, once again proving PolyU’s achievement in knowledge transfer for the betterment of our life.

Apart from light, the House of Innovation also impresses with high-end audiovisual and interactive equipment which pushes the multimedia exhibits to a different dimension. It boasts a surround panoramic screen playing high-definition footage themed around PolyU's accomplishments in knowledge transfer. At the interactive information kiosk, visitors are more than welcomed to browse the system and download electronic posters and leaflets on the latest researches, to gain knowledge without wasting the scarce timber resources on earth. On top of that, there are over 10 touch-screen exhibition consoles in the hall, for visitors to watch their favourite technology-related videos on demand. A virtual version of the House of Innovation is also available for exploration on the tablet computers provided.

The newly renovated House of Innovation has now re-opened. To schedule your journey of state-of-the-art technologies, please contact Institute for Entrepreneurship at 852-3400 2929 or pdadmin@polyu.edu.hk.

Location of House of Innovation:
G/F, Core P, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hung Hom, Kowloon, Hong Kong


Top

跳到主要内容

出版刊物
出版刊物

《技術前沿》

2012年4月號

理大創新館添新裝

尖端科技先進展現

「光」與「影」帶來的全新空間體驗

地理上,「理大創新館」位於香港理工大學(理大)的中心,很容易就找得著;作用上,這精心設計的玻璃屋是展示理大科研成就的中心,好讓來自各方的訪客很容易就能了解理大專家們驕人的科技成果,為社會帶來的實用效益,進而與有關方面促進更多合作和發展,也能為後進帶來啟發,引領他們加快創新的步伐,因此,創新館一直是為人津津樂道的理大地標之一。也正是這個原因,理大創新館最近換了新裝,目的是要以先進的科技和設備,來突顯各項科技展品的尖端面貌和效用,好讓參觀者留下更深刻的印象。

甫抵理大創新館的門口,訪客當會被迎迓的獨特標誌吸引。一面位於館內彎彎的透光玻璃幕牆帶來強烈的歡迎訊息:創新館歡迎更多各方訪客參觀、歡迎更多研究專家的科研成就、歡迎各位對展品的迴響以作改進,更歡迎本地及海外院校廣作交流。重開的創新館除了於大堂展區展出理大在不同範疇的創新科研項目及卓越成就,還有三個特別專區,分別展示理大的紡織及製衣科技、太空科技、以及結構健康監測科技。

在陽光和煦的日子,玻璃屋內一室通明,感覺溫暖。如今經過重新的布置後,館裡的科技再不會予人冰冷的感覺。尤其在顏色方面,三色大環與陳列櫃的彩色鑲邊設計,為館內氣氛平添溫暖的感覺,同時喻意高科技並非遙不可及,反之,科技能令生活增添色彩和溫暖。館內有一巨型鏡牆,上面閃耀著許許多多不同顏色的LED燈飾,實有意「反映」創新的真諦,讓訪客們「窺看」科技如何應用為本,使人類的生活得以多角度改善。

日本有個「光之教會 (Church of the Light)」,創新館也有個匠心設計的「光之牆壁」。光,令人聯想創意和點子,「光之牆壁」反映的正是這個意念。牆上的LED光管不單有裝飾用途,它們還是全由理大的科研專家所研發。此嶄新的高能源效率照明系統展現了理大在能源節約科技上的重大突破,而這技術已授權給一間本地公司,再次引證理大在促進知識轉移方面的努力。

題中的「影」代表影像,影像結合了各種視覺和聽覺媒體,能夠令人產生深刻的印象。因此,為了讓訪客對展示的科研成果有更深入的了解,創新館內現配置了不少多媒體器材及互動的闡述設備。其中包括了環迴闊銀幕全天候播放高清影片,以介紹有關理大知識轉移的最新貢獻。訪客又可以在特設的互動資訊台瀏覽或下載科研技術的電子海報和介紹單張,完全不費地球上的樹木資源。而館內的十多台輕觸式屏幕系統,可讓訪客按個別喜好觀看相關技術的介紹影片。創新館內更設有數台平板電腦,供訪客參觀理大的虛擬創新館,同樣為訪客帶來無限的樂趣。

理大創新館已重新敝開參觀的大門,若有意來個嶄新科技之旅,預約請聯絡企業發展院(電話:852-3400 2929/電郵:pdadmin@polyu.edu.hk

創新館位置:
香港九龍紅磡香港理工大學P座地下


回頁頂