2009 UNWTO.Ulysses Prize and Awards

For the seventh consecutive year, the World Tourism Organization presents the annual UNWTO.Ulysses Prize and Awards Ceremony, to be held in Madrid (Spain) on 27 May 2009.

This prestigious prize, first awarded in 2002, is conferred upon a distinguished scholar for an outstanding contribution to knowledge in tourism. During the last six years, renowned personalities in the tourism academic sphere have received the UNWTO.Ulysses Prize. Past recipients are Dr. Donald Hawkins (George Washington University), Dr. Brent Ritchie (University of Calgary), Dr. Jafar Jafari (University of Wisconsin at Stout), Dr. David Airey (University of Surrey), Dr. Bernard Morucci (Université de la Sorbonne), Dr. Pauline Sheldon (University of Hawaii at Manoa).

As well, as in years past, public institutions, private companies and non-profit organizations will be awarded, for their innovative contributions to tourism policy, governance and other areas of tourism. Interested applicants can find the proposal requirements and application forms on the website http://www.unwto.org/edsco/index.php

The already established UNWTO.Ulysses Conference will also take place on 27 and 28 May. The 2009 annual conference is entitled *Innovation in Education* and it will be focused on tourism education related to tourism policy and governance, climate change and sustainability issues, development and poverty alleviation, as well as curriculum development, etc.

The 2009 Academy Conference will be held only one week after, from 5 to 10 June 2009, in La Rioja (Spain). The fact that the both encounters almost coincide, provides a great opportunity for all interested parties to attend.