2 alumni from the Department of Building and Real Estate (BRE) have been chosen for its Outstanding Alumni Award 2018. They are Mr Alex Lui, Project Director of Green Deck and Court member of PolyU, and Mr Augustine Wong, Executive Director and General Manager of the Property Development Department in Henderson Land Development Co. Ltd., respectively.

Mr Alex Lui graduated from the Hong Kong Technical College, a predecessor of PolyU, in 1964 with a Higher Certificate in Building before continuing his studies in architecture at the University of Hong Kong and city planning at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He worked in the US for 12 years before engaging in private practice in Hong Kong. Involved in many development projects, he was a professor at the Chinese University of Hong Kong from 1998 to 2002. A member of the Hong Kong Institute of Planners and the Hong Kong Institute of Architects, he has long been active in public and community services. He was awarded the title of University Fellow by the Hong Kong Polytechnic University in 2017.

Mr Augustine Wong graduated from the then Hong Kong Polytechnic with a Diploma in Building Studies in 1980, a Higher Diploma in Surveying in 1982, and an Advanced Higher Diploma in General Practice Surveying in 1983. He has acquired a wealth of experience in land administration, town planning, valuation and marketing. A member of various advisory boards, he was appointed to serve as Justice of Peace in 2008.

20181031 1    20181031 2
Mr Lui                          Mr Wong


The Department of Building Services Engineering (BSE) has chosen Ir Dr Anthony Lo for its Outstanding Alumni Award 2018. Ir Dr Anthony Lo is a registered professional engineer in the Building Services, Energy, Environmental and Fire disciplines of the Hong Kong Institution of Engineers. He started his career in an international consulting firm, Parsons Brinckerhoff (Asia) Limited, where he gained extensive experience in building services, environment system design and project management in various buildings and infrastructural developments.

Ir Dr Lo is currently Acting Director of Corporate Customer Experience of CLP Power. He is actively involved in formulating digital transformation business strategies, exploring new and innovative technology to develop value-added services for customers, and promoting energy conservation and renewable energy to combat climate change.

20181031 3
Ir Dr Lo


The recipient of the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE) Outstanding Alumni Award 2018 is Ir Wing Chuen Francis Kung, who graduated from the Hong Kong Polytechnic in 1977 and has been a fellow of ICE, IStructE and HKIE since 1997. He has over 40 years of experience in planning and implementation of multi-disciplinary infrastructure projects in Hong Kong and the UK, including project management, feasibility study, design and construction supervision of major railway, highway and road improvement schemes in Hong Kong since the early 1980’s. He has been Project Director/Manager for many major infrastructural projects. An expert in design and assessment of railway and highway bridges in precast segments, Ir Kung is currently Managing Director of Meinhardt Infrastructure and Environment Ltd. and Meinhardt Global Board Director.

20181031 4
Ir Kung


The awardee of the Department of Land Surveying and Geo-Informatics (LSGI) Outstanding Alumni Award 2018 is Mr Ray Leung, JP, who was one of the first graduates to complete the 1-year certificate course in land surveying and the 2-year part-time higher certificate course in the same field at the then Hong Kong Polytechnic in 1981 and 1984 respectively. He received an MSc in Geo-Information Systems from PolyU in 1998.

Mr Leung has served in various government departments, including the Civil Engineering and Development Department, the Highways Department, and the Lands Department. He has been the Assistant Director of the Survey and Mapping Office in the Lands Department since December 2015. He has also served on the Land Surveyors Registration Committee since 2015 and was appointed Justice of the Peace in 2017.

20181031 5
Mr Leung


The Faculty Congregation and Prize Presentation Ceremony will honour all of them in November.