Congratulations to two outstanding academics at the Faculty of Engineering being honoured with prestigious fellowships!

Prof. Tam Hwa-yaw, Chair Professor of Photonics and Head of the Department of Electrical Engineering and Director of the Photonics Research Centre, was elected Fellow Member of The Optical Society (OSA), a leading professional association in optics and photonics based in US. The honour was indeed fitting recognition of his remarkable contributions to the advancement of optics, in particular the development of diagnostic and prognostic systems based on fibre Bragg grating-based sensing networks which have been used for railways in different parts of the world. Fellow membership in OSA is limited to no more than ten percent of the membership and is reserved for members who have served with distinction in the advancement of optics.

Dr Chan Tat-leung, Associate Professor of the Department of Mechanical Engineering, was one of the first individuals from Hong Kong academia being named SAE International Fellow, in recognition of his outstanding basic and applied research contributions and achievements in the mobility-related areas of environmental science and technology, multiphase flow as well as energy and fuels. This year, 18 engineers and scientists from industry and academia have the prestigious SAE Fellowship status, the highest grade of membership bestowed by SAE International, a global association of more than 128,000 engineers and related technical experts in the aerospace, automotive and commercial-vehicle industries. Currently, Dr Chan is one of the 397 active SAE Fellows in the SAE International.