Message from the Director

Ir Professor K.F. Chung

Director,
Chinese National Engineering Research Centre
for Steel Construction (Hong Kong Branch)

Associate Head,
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, 
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Strategically located at the gateway of China to the world, Hong Kong is well known as the International Financial Centre in Asia for many years, with its international trading volumes next to New York and London. Owing to its well established and proven professional communities in many disciplines, Hong Kong is also the international hub for infrastructure developments, having hundreds of international companies and tens of thousands of professionals in capital financing, infrastructure planning, project management, architectural design, engineering design and construction, surveying, supply of building products and systems as well as quality control and accredited laboratories, etc.. 

Through applied engineering research on steel construction, the Chinese National Engineering Research Centre for Steel Construction (Hong Kong Branch) aims to capitalize huge potentials offered by construction professionals in Hong Kong to further enhance socio-economic development through technological advancement in sustainable infrastructure development. The CNERC receives strong support from the Development Bureau of the Government of Hong Kong SAR and also from the Construction Industry Council. Moreover, the CNERC has close collaboration with world leading researchers in famous universities such as Imperial College London, Tsinghua University and Tongji University, and various research and professional institutions in many parts of the world. More importantly, the CNERC has established working relationships with various industrial associations in China, such as Chinese Iron and Steel Association 中國鋼鐵工業協會, Chinese Metallurgical Construction Research Institute 中冶建築研究總院, Chinese Steel Construction Society 中國鋼結構協會, and Chinese Constructional Metal Structures Association 中國建築金屬結構協會. 

The CNERC will act as a technological platform for development in engineering research and exchange between Hong Kong Construction Industry and Chinese Steel Construction Industry. We will strive for excellence in structural engineering and steel construction in Hong Kong and beyond!

About Us

CNERCEstablishment of the Chinese National Engineering Research Centre for Steel Construction (Hong Kong Branch) at The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU) was approved by the State Ministry of Science and Technology (MOST), People’s Republic of China on 12th October 2015.

Contact Information

Address:
Chinese National Engineering Research Center for Steel Construction (Hong Kong Branch)
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Phase 8,
Hung Hom, Kowloon, Hong Kong.

Phone: (852) 3400-8451

Email: cnerc.steel@polyu.edu.hk

主任致辞

锺国辉教授

国家钢结构工程技术研究中心
香港分中心主任

香港理工大学
土木及环境工程学系教授

香港在战略上位于中国的世界门槛,多年来一直被誉为亚洲国际金融中心,其国际贸易量与纽约和伦敦相近。由于香港在许多专业领域都拥有超卓成绩和经验,香港也是基础设施发展的国际枢纽,拥有数百间国际公司、数以千计的资本融汇、基建计划、项目管理、建筑设计、工程设计、专业人士建筑、测量、建筑产品和系统的供应以及质量控制和检测实验室等。 

通过对钢结构的应用工程研究,国家钢结构工程技术研究中心香港分中心旨在利用香港建筑业专业人士的巨大潜力,通过可持续基建发展的技术进步,进一步加强社会经济发展。 香港分中心得到香港特别行政区政府发展局和建造业议会的大力支持。此外,香港分中心与英国伦敦帝国学院、清华大学、同济大学、北京科技大学等知名大学的世界领先研究人员,与及世界各地的研究所和专业机构都保持紧密合作。更重要的是,香港分中心与多个国內協会组织展开工作,当中包括中国钢铁工业协会、中冶建筑研究总院、中国钢结构协会及中国建筑金属结构协会。 

香港分中心将作为香港建造业与中国钢铁工业工程研究和交流发展的技术平台。我们将在香港及其他地区争取在结构工程和钢结构方面的卓越表现!

關於我們

CNERC国家钢结构工程技术研究中心香港分中心(以下简称「香港分中心」)于2015年10月12日,获中华人民共和国国家科技部批准在香港理工大学成立。

联系方法

地址:
九龙 红磡
国家钢结构工程技术研究中心香港分中心
香港理工大学 第八期 Z106室

电话: (852) 3400-8451

电邮: cnerc.steel@polyu.edu.hk