FB
| Language
Font

programmes

 

Compulsory

CC5001 Introduction to the Study of Chinese Culture

This course covers the basic knowledge and skills expected of M.A. students of Chinese culture, and is required for all first year students. The course will be divided into four learning units: methodology, format and style of essay writing, introduction of reference materials, traditional bibliography as well as classic works of Chinese culture in the East and the West. In addition to strengthening basic academic training, this course aims in a concise and systematic way to introduce, analyze as well as evaluate the key concepts that will aid graduate students on their road to becoming professional scholars.

 

CC5002 Studying Chinese Culture through Fieldtrips

This course is required for all M.A. first year students. As the old Chinese saying goes: the gain from travel and experience is greater than that from books. The Grand Historian, Sima Qian, is able to write so well because he travelled extensively. Likewise, abstract learning and concrete experience will become one when students learn to combine book learning with on-site visits.  Hence, direct observation of cultural heritage sites is essential for graduate students in the humanities. This course will focus on four topics: Clans and Rituals, Historical Figures and Sites, Revolution and Social Movement as well as Folk Belief and Religion. Organized into four study tours, students will have the opportunity to visit cultural and historical sites of Hong Kong and the Pearl River Delta. Before each field trip, the teacher responsible will introduce the relevant research and reading materials.  During the field trip, the teacher will provide on-site explanations and respond to students’ queries. After each field trip, the teacher in charge will guide the students to give presentations on their experience of the tour. Finally, the teacher will provide a summation of the field trip. 

 

Core Area 1: Society and Culture

CC5101 Chinese Dietary Culture

The subject aims at introducing students to the study of Chinese dietary culture or food culture. Students will consider questions such as how tea, wine, salt and sugar become the indispensable elements in the Chinese people’s daily lives, and how food and drinks interact with politics, economics, society and even literature. The subject also examines how and where good food and drinks are produced and prepared and the contributions of the Chinese minority ethnic groups to the development of Chinese dietary culture.  Students will also be encouraged to explore new horizons of the study of Chinese dietary culture with references to modern food industry, catering service, tourism and food therapy.

 

CC5102 Chinese Customs and Etiquettes

The course introduces social customs such as the rites of passage in major regions and major dialect communities in China. It explores the reasons for differences in customs and rites across space and time and relates them to the characteristics and essence of Chinese culture.

 

CC5103 Underground Societies in China

Underground societies, otherwise known as secret societies, refer to organizations of underprivileged groups that are formed initially for self-preservation and mutual help.  As they operate in secrecy, they often develop in opposition to mainstream society and may even pose threats to it.  This subject aims to unveil the mystique that shrouds the operation of underground societies in China, and to evaluate their social and political functions at various points of Chinese history.

 

CC5104 Folk Beliefs and Occult Science

Chinese folk beliefs are one of the most important cultural components in the daily lives of the commoners. While worship in gods and spirits and their related ceremonies constitute the basic characteristics of beliefs in folk religions, these activities are also metaphoric expressions of their social outlook. Traditional occult science refers to the practices of professional diviners and magicians, which reveal their understanding of the relationship between the macrocosm and microcosm. From the perspectives of history, cultural anthropology, folklore and religious studies, this subject aims at introducing the basic concepts of Chinese folk beliefs and occult science. The subject also examines their origins and developments. Students will accordingly be inspired to explore the significance of these practices in Chinese society, and to grasp the hidden internal order and social norms of the Chinese society.

 

CC5105 Gender and Sexuality in Modern China

Gender issues are essential to the analysis of society and culture. In the wake of the rise of the feminist movement in the West in the late 19th century, the clamour for emancipation among Chinese women rocked and almost overturned the gender stereotypes and the traditional values that were imposed on the female sex.  This course examines various prominent gender issues in modern China such as the women emancipation movement, women education, the economic independence and careers of women, the socializing practices between men and women, morality and chastity, the abolition of prostitution and the image of women as projected in the mass media.

 

CC5106 Chinese Films and Society

Film is the most influential art medium in the 20th century, where Chinese films resemble a clear mirror which reflects the ups and downs of contemporary Chinese history. Chinese films first captured people’s attention in 20s and then flourished in 30s. However, the War of Resistance against the Japanese invasion that broke out in 1937 hindered the development of its creativity. The Civil War that broke out in 1946 and the post-1949 political instability further slowed down the pace of development of Chinese films. The subject aims at exploring the very close relationship between Chinese films and contemporary Chinese history through the examination of films.

 

CC5107 Special Topic on Society and Culture

The instructor will select a topic from the “Society and Culture” cluster for in-depth analysis.  Students will be guided to investigate the purposes of current researches, their strengths and weaknesses and other issues such as methodology and avenues for future research.

 

CC5115 Modern China’s Intra-Asian Political and Cultural Relations

This subject surveys the interactions between China and other Asian societies–independent states, colonies and puppet states–in the modern period. Material is discussed taking into account both thematic diversity and chronological order. We explore the ways in which political activists, intellectuals and state actors have engaged “Asia” as a transnational concept, constructed cultural identities, and understood and even remade the international order in which they operated. Taking as its departure point the multiple and contested meanings of Asia, this subject encourages students to critically examine the historical evolution of power relations in the region and beyond. They will also have the opportunity to assess the promises and challenges of intra-Asian integration and reconciliation in the present century.

 

Core Area 2 : Religions and Thought

CC5201 Government and Education in Confucianism

The course introduces the gist of Confucian canons and classic commentaries and the important ideas therein, the life and scholarship of eminent Confucians, and the evolution of doctrinal interpretations of the Classics over times, whereby their bearing on the development of Chinese government and education will become clear. It discusses the impact of Confucian thought on the political ideas as well as the political and social institutions in Chinese history. It also studies the Confucian proposals for moral self-cultivation and for the maintenance of the social order, in addition to considering the practice of selected Confucian social programs.

 

CC5202 Buddhism and Chinese Culture

This course aims at examining the fundamental differences between Chinese and Indian cultures, alongside with Buddhist doctrinal issues, and dissemination of the religion from India to China. Incorporating a historical perspective, this course focuses on the formation of indigenous Chinese Buddhism in the process of acculturation. This will be achieved by exploring Buddhist influence on various dimensions of Chinese culture such as folk-custom, philosophy, politics, literature, language and art. Through topical studies demonstrating continuous interactions between Buddhism and Chinese thoughts, students are expected to acquire a clear and overall picture of Chinese culture in ancient and modern times. Selection of topics is geared at scholarship, interest and diversity.

 

CC5203 Daoism and Chinese Culture

This course aims at exploring Daoism and Chinese culture with lectures and research fieldtrips.  Daoist beliefs in deities, Daoist conceptions of immortality, Daoist festivals and rituals, Daoist temples and architecture, Daoist practice of spirit-writing, Daoist morality books and ethics, etc., are among the topics that the course will cover.

 

CC5204 Islam, Christianity and Chinese Culture

In the early Tang dynasty (681-907), Christianity and Islam entered China.  Since then, the two religions have co-existed side by side with the Chinese culture. This course examines the encounter and interaction between Christianity and Islam on the one hand, and the Chinese culture on the other, their respective paths of development in Chinese history, as well as the long process of their assimilation and integration into Chinese culture.

 

CC5205 Special Topic on Religions and Thought

The instructor will select a topic from the “Religions and Thought” cluster for in-depth analysis.  Students will be guided to investigate the purposes of current researches, their strengths and weaknesses and other issues such as methodology and avenues for future research.

 

Core Area 3 : Literature and Arts

CC5301 The Expression and Application of Chinese Writing

This course discusses the characteristics of Chinese writings, and through the analysis of celebrated pieces of writings of different literary forms over time as well as problem pieces in newspapers and magazines, guides students to master the theory and basic techniques of practical writings.

 

CC5302 Appreciation of Chinese Classical Rhymed Writings

This course introduces the various forms of rhymed writings in Chinese literature. It seeks to uncover the mind and sensibilities of the writers through analytical appreciation of the artistry in their works. It also discusses the role classical rhymed writings in the shaping of Chinese culture.

 

CC5303 Appreciation of Chinese Calligraphy and Paintings

The main purpose of this course is to teach students how to appreciate and analyze Chinese art in general, and calligraphy and paintings in particular. Contrary to the common sense that considers art appreciation an inborn quality of human beings, it takes art-historical knowledge to understand art. This course will place Chinese calligraphy and paintings in their own contexts of production and consumption and make the appreciation of them relevant to our daily life.

 

CC5304 Chinese Traditional Theatre and Performing Arts

The subject aims at introducing students to the basic concept of “theatre” through  a series of thematic studies of Kun opera, Peking opera, Sichuan opera, Cantonese opera, as well as the study of storytelling in Suzhou dialect with string instruments, storytelling in Shantung dialect with drum, twist talk and blind’s song in the Southern melody. The subject also examines the role of the performers from various performing arts including actors, musicians, play writers, singers etc., in traditional Chinese society. It further explores the beauty of Chinese theatre from an aesthetic perspective, with the hope of identifying the uniqueness of Chinese performing arts.

 

CC5305 Special Topic on Literature and Arts

The instructor will select a topic from the “Literature and Arts” cluster for in-depth analysis.  Students will be guided to investigate the purposes of current researches, their strengths and weaknesses and other issues such as methodology and avenues for future research.

 

CC5311 Classical Chinese Fiction

This course introduces students to the development of classical Chinese fiction through representative literary works from different periods before the collapse of the dynastic system.

 

CC5312 Modern Chinese Literature

This course introduces students to the development of modern Chinese literature through representative literary works published since the late Qing.

 

Other Free Electives & MA Thesis

CC5401 Businessmen and Business Culture in China

This course adopts a historical approach in describing the origins and development of Chinese commerce, introducing and analyzing from different angles the status and function and influence of the merchant in traditional and modern Chinese society. It also introduces the forms and transformation of merchant organizations and explores their regional and cultural characteristics.

 

CC5402 Cultural Tourism and Chinese Culture

This course examines the relationship between culture and tourism. It aims to explore various cultural aspects pertaining to Chinese literature, philosophy, history, religion, art and ethnology and their interactions with resources related to tourism. Apart from understanding the scope and dimension of tourism from the cultural perspective, it also attempts to demonstrate the exuberance of Chinese culture and its re-creation through the development of tourism.

 

CC5405 Special Topic on Business, Tourism and Cultural Management

The instructor will select a topic from the “Tourism and Business Culture” cluster for in-depth analysis.  Students will be guided to investigate the purposes of current researches, their strengths and weaknesses and other issues such as methodology and avenues for future research.

 

CC5406 Great Works of Chinese Geography and Travel

This course examines selected masterpieces of Chinese geography and travel literature to explore the history of Chinese geographic thought, changes in China’s political geography, and the transformation of the social environment that shaped geography over time. It aims to foster a better understanding of Chinese cultural characteristics in the appreciation of the land and travel.

 

CC5407 Writings for Chinese Merchants and Encyclopedias

This course provides a short history of Chinese traditional business literature and encyclopedias, examining the prefaces, contents and organization of selected masterpieces to explore the process of their editing and printing, the classification and spread of knowledge, the concept and practice of business and the ordinary life of literati and merchants in imperial China. It aims to foster a better understanding of Chinese traditional book culture and commercial culture.

 

CC5408 Chinese Regional Culture

This course aims to develop students’ understanding of the unity and diversity of Chinese culture by studying a particular region.

 

CC5501 Teaching Chinese History and Culture

This course introduces methodological concepts and practices in the learning and teaching of subjects in Chinese history and culture. To make the course practical, it explores remedial measures for problems arising from hard-to-teach topics in the Chinese history and culture syllabi in Hong Kong secondary schools. Through discussing syllabi, sample teaching plans and ways of classroom and extracurricular delivery, the course aims at enhancing the ability of secondary school teachers teaching these subjects, who will in turn heighten the interest of the secondary school students.

 

CC5502 Selected Topics and Readings in Chinese Culture

This course may be conducted in two ways. The first will focus on a selected text in the study of Chinese culture. According to her/his field of expertise, each professor may select one from the four traditional categories of learning: the classics, the histories, the philosophies or the miscellanies. Each professor may analyze the text thoroughly from a theoretical, rhetoric or evidential perspective and evaluate research findings pertinent to the chosen text.  The second way may be compared to the study of a selected topic, where a professor may introduce strategies, methodologies and analytical skills in relation to her/his research in literature, history or philosophy. She/ He may bring to bear the experiences and insights of her/his own research as well as other related research outcomes.

 

CC5503 / CC5504 MA Dissertation (9-credit)

This course is designed for M.A. students who are interested in continuing their learning by applying for M.Phil. or Ph.D programs. An experienced professor of the Department will be assigned to the student as the thesis supervisor. By providing the student one-to-one guidance on matters related to the writing of a thesis, the course aims to enable the student to conceive and conduct advanced level research independently. The thesis, not including footnotes and bibliography, may not be less than 25,000 words.

FB
| Language
Font

programmes

 

必修

CC5001 中國文化研究入門

本科為中國文化文學碩士一年級新生的必修課,講授學生所必須具備的基礎知識,包括方法學、論文規範、傳統書目以及中外學者研究國學之代表著作。課程分成四個學習單元,由本系專任教員據其從事教學與研究之所得予以講授。務求既有提綱挈領的歸納和綜合,更有深入淺出的分析與演繹,在以簡馭繁的系統性教學中,為由業餘邁向專業的學員們強化其知識津樑。

 

CC5002 中華文化考察

本科為中國文化文學碩士一年級新生的必修課。所謂「讀萬卷書,不如行萬里路」,太史公因遊遍名山大川,故下筆如有神助。學者由閱讀所得之知識,印證以親臨其境之所見物象,學問可期達到抽象與具體統一的嶄新境界。本科以文化遺產的實地考察,深化和提升學員之學識。課程包括「宗族與禮俗」、「文化名人與名勝」、「革命與社會變遷」以及「民間信仰與宗教」四個專題,每專題各一次組織學生在香港或珠三角地區進行史跡的實地參訪與調查。每次訪查之前,先由領隊的老師,結合相關的文獻和研究成果,就其考察的專題作導論性之系統闡述;訪查途中,再由老師作現場介紹和解答;訪查之後,又由老師引導學生報告其所見、所得和所感,最後由老師作綜合性的結論。

回頁頂

 

核心範圍一:社會與文化

CC5101 中國飲食文化

本科目旨在引領學生進入中國飲食文化研究的領域,並透過專題論述,展示中國飲食文化研究的多元視角。專題論述包括了茶、酒、鹽、糖如何與國人生活息息相關,平常飲食又怎樣與政治、社會、經濟、文學發生互動,以及美食佳釀的來源,少數民族對飲食文化的貢獻等課題。此外,本科重在啟發學生的思考,探索飲食文化研究的新方向,包括近代以來,中國享有盛名的飲食文化與現代食品工業、飲食服務業、旅遊業,以及食療學的關係。

 

CC5102 中國風俗與禮儀

本科介紹中國各主要地區及方言社群的社會風俗和生命過程中諸如冠婚喪祭等各種主要禮儀,探討風俗與禮儀的時空差異之故,並藉此了解中國文化的特色及其精神所在。

 

CC5103 中國地下社會

地下社會,又稱秘密會社,泛指歷史上一些由弱勢群體,為謀自保互助而成立的組織,以秘密形式進行活動,因而往往變成與主流社會對立,甚至威脅其安全秩序的特殊群體。 此科旨在揭開中國地下社會的神秘面紗,展示其真實面貌,並評價其在中國歷史過程中所扮演的政治,社會及文化角色。

 

CC5104 民間信仰與術數方技

民間信仰是中國老百姓日常生活的一部分。神靈信仰及其儀式,構成了民間文化的基本特質,也成為社會形貌的象徵性展示方式。術數方技則是指各種帶有可操作性的占卜和方術,其範圍包括了對大宇宙(macrocosm) 及小宇宙(microcosm),亦即「天道」和「人道」的認識。本科旨在運用歷史學、文化人類學、民俗學及宗教學等不同視角,藉以剖析和探討民間信仰與術數方技的基本意涵,讓學生認識中國民間信仰與術數方技的源流與發展,了解其在中國社會文化中的意義,以及掌握中國社會的內在秩序與運行法則。

 

CC5105 性別與近現代中國

性別議題是分析社會文化不可或缺的元素,隨著十九世紀末西方女權主義運動的興起,要求解放中國婦女的吶喊和行動,衝擊甚至顛覆了中國傳統文化中的女性觀,以及男女角色定位。本科探討近現代中國社會的性別議題,尤其是婦女解放運動、女子教育、女子經濟獨立與職業、男女公開社交、婚姻與家庭、道德與貞操、娼妓的存廢,以及大眾傳媒下的女性形象。

 

CC5106 中國電影與社會

電影是二十世紀最有影響力的藝術媒介,中國電影就如一面澄澈的鏡子,映照出當代中國歷史的曲折。中國電影於二十世紀二十年代初現風華,三十年代活潑多姿,而抗日戰爭的全面爆發,卻窒礙了本來創新開放的創作局面。戰後的國共內戰,以及四九年後政治氛圍的反複無常,令中國電影的發展步履蹣跚。本科嘗試經由具體作品,初探中國電影與當代歷史千絲萬縷的關係。

 

CC5107 社會與文化專題研究

授課教師從社會與文化範圍內,選取特定課題作深入論析,並引領學生探討已有研究的旨趣與得失,進一步研究的途徑與方法等問題。

 

CC5115 近代中國與亞洲鄰國的政治及文化關係

本科講題兼顧主題多元及時間順序,介紹近代中國與亞洲各地(獨立國家、殖民地和傀儡政權)的互動,探討政治人物、知識份子及政府組織如何思辨「亞洲」這個跨國概念,從而確立文化身份認同和詮釋、改變身處的國際秩序。本科以「亞洲」多元且時而衝突的意義為出發點,引導學員認識地區內外權力關係的歷史變化,進而思索二十一世紀區域融合和解的挑戰和可能。

 

核心範圍二:宗教與思想

CC5201 儒家思想與中國政教

本科探討儒家思想與中國政治及教育發展的關係,介紹重要的儒家經典及義理、重要儒者的學行、儒學闡釋的歷史變遷,並探討儒家思想對歷代政治理念和政治、社會制度的影響,以及對個人修養及社會秩序的主張與實踐情形。

 

CC5202 佛教與中國文化

本科旨在系統地介紹中印文化的基本面貌差異、佛教的義理、其傳入中國的過程和流變,並會結合歷史的向度,介紹佛教在中國民俗、語言、政治、哲學、文學、藝術等層面,如何與中國文化產生相互影響,因而發展出富有中國道地色彩的佛教文化。課程期於讓學生對中國佛教和中國文化之互動有深入而透徹的理解,從而對中國文化獲得一個更清晰和全面的圖像。講授課題著重學術性、趣味性和多樣性。

 

CC5203 道教與中國文化

本科目旨在引領學生進入道教與中國文化研究的領域,並通過專題講課和實地考察,探討道教義理信仰在日常生活上的實踐。專題講述包括神仙信仰與長生觀念、道教與社會節令習俗、宮觀建築、呂祖道壇與扶乩、善書與道教倫理等。

 

CC5204 伊斯蘭教、基督教與中國文化

唐代初年,基督教與伊斯蘭教先後傳入中國。自此,兩教即伴隨中國文化長期共處於中華大地。本科探討基督教和伊斯蘭教與中國文化的相交、兩教分別在中國歷史長河中的遭遇,及其與中國文化磨合的過程。

 

CC5205 宗教與思想專題研究

授課教師從宗教與思想範圍內,選取特定課題作深入論析,並引領學生探討已有研究的旨趣與得失,進一步研究的途徑與方法等問題。

回頁頂

 

核心範圍三:文學與藝術

CC5301 中國文字的表達與應用

本科旨在使學員認識中國文字的特點,並從介紹古今各種文體的名篇之應用性與成功之處,分析報刊雜誌同類文字所見的問題,讓學員掌握應用文字之基本寫作技巧,以期能夠付諸實用。

 

CC5302 中國韻文欣賞

本科介紹我國各種韻文之體裁,賞析歷代名家作品,分析其內容與寫作技巧,了解作者之思想感情,並探討其與中華文化形塑的關係。

 

CC5303 中國書畫藝術欣賞

本課程旨在指導學生如何欣賞及分析中國的藝術,尤其是書法與繪畫。藝術欣賞並非不學而得的知能,本課程則著重於教導學生如何通過藝術史的知識去欣賞中國書畫,並從書畫作品的生產和消費的關連中,明了書畫欣賞在我們日常生活中的意義。

 

CC5304 中國傳統舞臺及說唱藝術

本科目旨在引領對中國舞台及說唱藝術有興趣的學員,以專題研究的取向,作較深入的學術探索。從舞台的涵義的闡述,到以崑劇、京劇、川劇、粵劇為代表的傳統地方戲曲,及對蘇州評彈、山東鼓書、相聲、瞽師南音等說唱藝術的賞析,以至傳統中國社會裡優伶、歌者、藝人的身份探討,均是本科目研習的內容。透過以上這些舞台藝術的賞析,我們當會從美學的角度,領會其背後的中國文化特質、美感與精神。

 

CC5305 文學及藝術專題研究

授課教師從文學與藝術範圍內,選取特定課題作深入論析,並引領學生探討已有研究的旨趣與得失,進一步研究的途徑與方法等問題。

 

CC5311 中國古典小說

本課程講授中國古典小說的發展歷程,當中介紹重要時期的代表作家及作品。

 

CC5312 中國近現代文學

本課程講授晚清以降中國近現代文學的發展歷程,當中介紹重要的文學現象和代表作家及作品。

回頁頂

 

其他自由選修課及論文

CC5401 中國商人與商業文化

本科將以歷史發展的眼光敘述中國商業的起源及其發展,特別注重從不同的角度分析和介紹中國商人在傳統與近代社會中的地位、作用及影響,商人組織形態的演變及其地域文化的特點,藉以幫助同學深入了解中國商人與商業文化的歷史與現實。

 

CC5402 文化旅遊與中國文化

文化是旅遊的靈魂,旅遊是文化的踐履。本科旨在探討中國文學、哲學、歷史、宗教、藝術和民俗等文化領域與旅遊資源的互動關係,從文化角度去理解旅遊的內涵,並從旅遊中揭示文化的多元表現和再創造。

 

CC5405 商業、旅遊與文化管理專題研究

授課教師從歷史、旅遊及商業文化範圍內,選取特定課題作深入論析,並引領學生探討已有研究的旨趣與得失,進一步研究的途徑與方法等問題。

 

CC5406 中國地理及旅遊名著

本課程選介中國歷代地理和旅遊名著,通過名著的內容、特點及學術價值探尋地理學思想史,從中瞭解中國政治地理之沿革與社會環境之變遷,領略中國古代地理知識的文化特質及古人豐富的旅遊意涵。

 

CC5407 中國商書及類書研讀

本課程旨在通過講述中國古代商書與類書的源流類別,分專題研讀其中代表性作品的序文目錄、章節內容,引導學生瞭解中國古代書籍的編刻出版、知識的分類傳播、商業的理念運作以及士商的日常生活,領略中國傳統書籍文化與商業文化的豐富內涵。

 

CC5408 中國著名地區文化

本課程通過對某一地區文化的學習來加深學生對於中國文化統一性與多樣性的理解。

 

CC5501 中國歷史與文化敎學

本科講論中國歷史和文化教學上的方法與實踐問題,為使學員所學臻於實用,課程並以現行香港中學的中國歷史和中國文化課程為據,探討增加教師教學能力和提升學生學習興趣的方法與教學方案。通過講解知識層面上的教學難題和介紹相關輔助知識,期使教師能抵勝任愉快的境地,學生能從其所學之中獲得愉悅。

 

CC5502 中國名著與文化專題研究

本科可分為兩大類別。第一類即文史學系常見之專書選讀,教師從傳統的經、史、子、集各種名著之中選取一本,從義理、詞章、考據等角度切入,作深入的文本分析,並對古今中外的相關研究成果,加以剖析和衡斷。第二類等同於學術專題研究,教師就他人或其個人對文、史、哲某一課題所作的研究,引領學生從選題、研析、論述等方面作深入探討,指示已有研究的旨趣與得失以及進一步研究的途徑。

 

CC5503 / CC5504 文學碩士論文(9學分)

本課程專門為在取得碩士學位之後,有志繼續深造,申請攻讀哲學碩士(M.Phil.)或哲學博士(Ph.D)的學生而設。課程由本系的資深教授,針對跟隨其撰寫論文的學生之研究問題及訓練程度,實行一對一的講解和輔導,期使學生因而具備獨立從事高階學術研究之能力。論文正文不得少於 25,000字。

回頁頂