B7. Research Committee

研究委員會

Terms of Reference

- 1. To be responsible to Senate for matters pertaining to research.
- 2. To develop research policies, regulations and procedures for approval by Senate and to oversee their implementation.
- 3. To allocate research funding to Departments and Faculties.
- 4. To monitor the progress and quality of research activities, with the support of Faculty/School/Departmental Research Committees.
- 5. To monitor support services provided for academic and research staff.
- 6. To make decisions on special cases pertaining to research that are not in line with the rules/regulations.
- 7. To submit an annual report to Senate covering the Committee's activities for the previous 12 months from 1st July to 30th June.

Composition

Chairman : Senior Management Executive overseeing research, appointed by the Chairman of

Senate

Prof. Christopher CHAO, VP(RI)

Members : The Chairmen of all Faculty/School Research Committees

FB : Prof. Chi-Nien CHUNG, Assoc. Dean(FB)

FCE: Prof. Meng NI, Assoc. Dean(CE) FENG: Ir Prof. H.C. MAN, Dean(ENG)

FH : Prof. Guangwei HU, Assoc. Dean(FH)

FHSS : Prof. David SHUM, Dean(HSS)

FS: Prof. Raymond Wai-yeung WONG, Dean(FS)
SD: Dr Yan Tina LUXIMON, Assoc. Prof.(SD)
SFT: Prof. KAN Chi-wai, Assoc. Dean(SFT)
SHTM: Prof. Haiyan SONG, Assoc. Dean(SHTM)

Dean of Graduate School

Prof. Jiannong CAO

Director of Research and Innovation

Prof. Christina WONG

Two senior academic staff members, appointed by the Chairman of Senate

Prof. Cheng DONG, AVP(MRA) (1 July 2023 – 30 June 2025) Prof. Zuankai WANG, AVP(RI) (2 Nov 2022 – 1 Nov 2024)

Secretary : A member of staff from the Research and Innovation Office, appointed by the Director of Research and Innovation

Ms Tina YEUNG, Assistant Director

1 January 2024