## B6. Learning and Teaching Committee 教學委員會

## **Terms of Reference**

- 1. To be responsible to Senate for matters pertaining to learning and teaching quality enhancement and development, inclusive of the development, implementation and review of the University's learning and teaching policies/strategies.
- 2. To review and revise policies relating to the promotion and evaluation of learning and teaching, and, where necessary, to formulate new policies for approval by Senate.
- 3. To consider and approve plans, procedures and guidelines pertaining to the implementation of the existing learning and teaching policies, and to adjudicate on matters related to the implementation of such plans, procedures and guidelines.
- 4. To promote and facilitate new and innovative learning and teaching methodology, and to disseminate good practices in teaching and learning for sharing purpose.
- 5. To allocate grants which have been earmarked for the improvement of learning and teaching, to monitor the progress and quality teaching development activities with the support of Faculty/School/College/Departmental Learning and Teaching Committees, and submit reports to the external funding authorities as required on behalf of the University.
- 6. To submit an annual report to Senate covering the Committee's activities for the previous 12 months from 1<sup>st</sup> July to 30<sup>th</sup> June.

## **Composition**

Chairman : A senior member of academic staff appointed by the Chairman of Senate

Prof. K.Y. WONG, VP(EDU) (1 Jul 2023 - 30 Jun 2026)

Members : Two academic staff members appointed by the Chairman of Learning and

**Teaching Committee** 

Dr Rodney CHU, Senior Teaching Fellow(APSS) Ir Prof. Horace MUI, Assoc. Head and Prof.(BEEE)

Chairmen of Faculty/School/College Learning and Teaching Committee

FB : Prof. Mike FUNG, Asst Dean and Assoc. Prof.(AF)

FCMS: Prof. Raymond SZE, Assoc. Dean and Assoc. Prof.(AMA)
FCE: Prof. Charles M.S. WONG, Assoc. Dean and Prof.(LSGI)
FENG: Ir Prof. K. C. CHAN, Assoc. Dean and Chair Prof.(ISE)

FUND STATES ASSOC. Prof. (CPS)

FH : Dr Yao YAO, Assoc. Dean and Assoc. Prof.(CBS)FHSS : Prof. Shamay NG, Assoc. Dean and Prof.(RS)

FS : Prof. WONG Man-kin, Assoc. Dean and Prof.(FSN)

SD : Dr Jeffrey HO, Assoc. Prof.(SD)
SFT : Prof. Kit-lun YICK, Prof.(SFT)
SHTM : Prof. Mimi LI, Prof.(SHTM)

CPCE : Prof. Ricky CHAN, Assoc. Dean and Prof.(BHM)

Dean of Students

Ir Prof. Horace MUI Kwok-wai (Interim)

Director of Institute for Higher Education Research and Development

Prof. Xiangen HU

Director of Educational Development

Dr Julia CHEN

The two elected undergraduate/sub-degree\* student members of the Senate

Mr CHAN Chak Shun (ENGL) (1 Nov 2024 - 31 Oct 2025) Miss CHAN Hei Tung Manis (SHTM) (1 Nov 2024 - 31 Oct 2025)

The elected postgraduate student member of the Senate

Vacant

Secretary

A member of staff from the Educational Development Centre, appointed by the Director of Educational Development

Mr Kenneth TAM, Senior Educational Development Officer (EDC)

20 March 2025

<sup>\*</sup> Reference to "sub-degree" will be removed upon the phasing-out of all sub-degree programmes.