B1. Academic Appeals Committee

教務申訴委員會

Terms of Reference

- 1. To adjudicate and make decisions on behalf of Senate on student appeals against decisions in respect of academic progress and awards, these decisions being final within the University.
- 2. To submit an annual report to Senate covering the Committee's activities for the previous 12 months from 1st July to 30th June.

Composition

Chairman : A senior member of academic staff, appointed by the Chairman of Senate

Ir Prof. K.C. CHAN, Assoc. Dean(ENG) and Chair Prof.(ISE) (1 Jul 2023 - 30 Jun 2027)

Members : Three academic staff members, appointed by the Chairman of Senate

Prof. Sylvia CHEN, Assoc. Dean(HSS) and Chair Prof.(APSS) (1 Jul 2023 - 30 Jun 2025)

Prof. ZHAO Yanxiang, Assoc. Head and Prof.(ABCT) (1 Jul 2023 - 30 Jun 2025)

Prof. LI Dechao, Assoc. Head and Prof.(CBS) (1 Jul 2023 - 30 Jun 2025)

(Alternate members)

Ir Prof. Michael C.H. YAM, Head and Prof.(BRE) (1 Feb 2025 - 30 Jun 2027) Prof. Michael YING Tin Cheung, Assoc. Head and Prof.(HTI) (22 Jul 2023 - 30 Jun 2026)

Prof. Andy YEUNG, Chair Prof.(LMS) (22 Jul 2023 - 30 Jun 2026)

Registrar or nominee

Mr Edward SHEN, Registrar

Interim Dean of Students

Ir Prof. MUI Kwok-wai Horace

Secretary : A member of staff from the Academic Registry, appointed by the Registrar

Ms Isabella HO, Academic Services Manager